We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Ranked #233 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 14, 2013

+ location, very quiet, near arrivalstation in Venice
+ clean
+ breakfast is basic but good
- staff is very unfriendly
- room small but in Venice is every room small

No swimming pool, no restaurant for your information

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the ground floor. Noisy because off the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location is ideal, but that is about all I can mention as positive.
The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable, the service was very poor, the room was not cleaned appropriately and I was not getting the messages, which my family was leaving for me with the staff members.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location, in the district of Dorsoduro (2.5 Km far from Piazza San Marco).
The room was clean but too small. We found the service quite poor.
We had a nice breakfast on the terrace ! It's very nice when it's sunny.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missrimouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited for 3 nights in February.

Great value hotel. Rooms were small but clean, and no lack of hot water or pressure in shower. Great location for price - actually in Venice on the islands. Breakfast included, served in the room, was a nice way to start each day. Service was hit and miss - incorrect utensils provided with breakfast but quickly fixed, gave us extra blankets upon request, hotel manager is definitely in the grumpy old man category. Surprise of the city tax at checkout as well (not complete surprise since I read reviews prior, but still they should tell you this upon arrival). Overall it was a good experience, for the comparable price we could not find another hotel on the island for when we visited, so given this fact it was a great find and great value for the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMSC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice. Quiet, away from the main tourist area. Even had breakfast brought to me in my room every morning! Very comfortable beds too, which sometimes is hard to find in Europe!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank rachelae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of December, in room 101. The hotel is in a small courtyard with a gate and tiny garden where in summer I guess you could spend your time. The location of the hotel is great, 5 minutes from the piazalle Roma, where most the Airport transfer buses arrive. You are also 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions, and the whole area is quiet, away from the main tourist itinerary routes. The room was small but clean, had everything you needed. The bathroom was an ok size, no problems to think of. The room has wifi coverage which was great, and the TV, unfortunately had no english channels, but we managed to get entertained by the italian channels.
Room also has a minibar where prices are quite allright, considering they are lower than what you would pay in a restaurant, but higher than any of the grocery stores we found around in Venice.
Since we went in winter we relied on the room ai conditioning for heating, the windows are not thermal glazing, but the walls seemed to have some minimum insulation underneath the wall cloths. One small drawback of the their AC system, or maybe our inability to set it right is that when it works in heating mode the unit only has ON and OFF and a temperature control which didn't seem to work, so if you leave it overnight it might dry out the air in the room too much. It was a minor inconvenience and we got around it since we only stayed in the room to sleep and have breakfast.
Breakfast was ok for the price, in the weekends they serve breakfast in the rooms, during the week you can go to their small restaurant outside in another part of the building.
The staff was ok, they are either Moldavian or Romanian which worked out great for us since they speak our language. We had some depleted remote batteries which they replaced as soon as we brought it to their attention. The manager though speaks english and we had no problems to have to deal with.

Room Tip: Room 101 is not a bad choice, we were happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DyJohnnY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a lovely room with a balcony, excellent decoration and cleanliness.
Breakfast was simple but good, served in the room but at a fixed time so best to be aware of that, Italians haven't quite grasped customer service but they met our needs.
Very good value for Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 126lhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Vecellio
#175 of 385 in Venice
520 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel al Malcanton
Hotel al Malcanton
#235 of 385 in Venice
140 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#207 of 385 in Venice
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#186 of 385 in Venice
315 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#192 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Gaffaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Address: Corte del Gallo Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Gaffaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Gaffaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gaffaro Hotel
Locanda Gaffaro Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing