We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Incredible price and location in Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #347 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible price and location in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

When staying in a 2 star or less or a hostel you expect 2 things.
1. is it clean
2. are there bugs

Hotel Airone was Clean and there were no Bugs The location was FANTASTIC in the beautiful Santa Croce Neighbourhood.

Breakfast looked decent but I didn't have it so I can't say much else about that.

The staff was pretty great and they let us leave our luggage for 9 hours after checkout while we waited for our ship and wandered Venice.

Coffee Machine had good coffee for 1 Euro too

Room Tip: see what you can do about getting a room that faces the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sketch213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    75
    86
    45
    66
See reviews for
36
163
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel located on the canal, just 3min walk from Piazzale Roma (transportation hub in Venice) and you have to cross only one bridge (rarity in Venice). From there you can get airport shuttle, people mover to cruise port and taxis. Continental breakfast are just juice/coffee/tea and couple of pastries. Tiny bathroom. No internet in the room. You have to carry all your luggage 15-20 steep stairs to the room (no elevator). We didn't expect much and booked it only because of location. We stayed one night after the cruise and left next morning for the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 73duster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

OK... This is a 2 star hotel. Luxury you do not get. But... the location is fantastic. If you turn up late at night - as we did - on the bus from Treviso airport, you arrive at Place de la Roma & Airone is 3 minutes walk & right on The Grand Canal. Marble floors, all nice & clean; there is no reception which makes it feel a bit bleak but you check in at the Canal Hotel a few doors down - all very friendly & pleasant. The best bit was that we booked a twin bedded room with no en-suite bathroom & we were given a BIG room with a double bed (& 2 singles) + a shower (VG) & loo - & the bed was REALLY comfy... & there's aircon. Breakfast is... well... not great but hey, there's something to eat & drink & you have the whole of Venice on your doorstep; 2 minutes from 2 vaporetto stops. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the canal which would be the ones to ask for I should think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artyfarty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Airone was overall very cleanly. It was in a very good location (straight across from the train station). You had to get the key from the neighbouring hotel which was odd and no elevator. Not somewhere to stay if you want luxury but if it's just a place to keep your ports and lay your head at night....it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were really disappointed with this place. The only good thing I can say about it, is a good location.

We were unhappy because of:
- small and very neglected room
- the room also wasn't clean
- small breakfast
- not nice staff
- we were bitten by some flies every night

It does it jobs if you look for something cheap in a good location. However, after active day we did not feel like coming back there for a night. I am attaching the picture of our double room. I have compared it to the pictures of the same room taken one year ago. There is no improvements, for example broken blinds...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAska89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a "triple room with private bath" - Basically this was 3 twin beds in a room and a small bathroom. No elevators, and we had to pick up the room key from a neighboring hotel. The shower's spray was on a broken down pole-like apparatus. There was soap by the sink, but we brought some bars from home as another website had people complaining about a lack of soap, but we didn't have this situation. The beds were pushed together, and not the most comfortable, but then again this isn't a 5 star hotel.

The air conditioning was quite different then what we have at home. We took the A/C remote control with us to the nearby hotel where we retrieved the key for some help. The room did cool off nicely.

We chose this location as it was fairly close to where we needed to be to board a cruise ship, and we stayed in the city for 2 nights. There was a challenge with luggage as the hotel is past 2 bridges - which are ALL steps.

Aside from the location of the cruise ships, this hotel was right beside the Grand Canal, which made travel around the town a breeze. Just pick up the Vaporetto (canal boat/bus) and travel around the city. There are many restaurants nearby too. If you cross the next bridge past the hotel you can find a restaurant that actually makes omelets for breakfast, because most places are focused strictly on pastries and breads.

Be prepared to pay high prices for canned sodas in Venice...And make sure to go to the Rialto Market to see all the offerings from Fish to Fruit and stores with pretty treasures to bring home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldknurse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We paid 75 euro for one night (no breakfast). Don't book this hotel if you want luxury. But the location was perfect for us, 5 minutes walking to the train station. Room 24 was clean, with a private bathroom, and we had a view of the Grand Canal! Hotel Airone is a good budgethotel for persons who don't spend much time in hotelrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#334 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#252 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#217 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#261 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#199 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#327 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Property: Hotel Airone
Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing