We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #352 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Only one night, very simple hotel. A good choice for a short stay at a conveniant price. Close to the mainn means of transport and mains attactions. Clean and easy to find... definetle come back again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Pros - good location near train station and bus, reasonable cost

Cons - a dump, no running water at sink in our room (we had a shared bath), carpet worn and filthy (afraid to remove shoes), TV didn't work

Fortunate that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is quite easy to find, as it is right across from the Santa Lucia train station, which is a huge plus for Venice, but the positive ends there for Hotel Airone. You check in to Hotel Airone via the reception at a different hotel, and you have no further assistance after that point. The reception staff was not very polite or helpful. There is an additional charge for a map and WIFI, services which are free at much cheaper hotels. When we inquired about transportation to the Marco Polo airport from Venice, we were told that the land bus was the only way; we later found out that there is also a water bus, which lead us to question what other false information we may have been provided. Rooms are small. We had stained carpet in our room and the bedsheets did not look or smell clean. Shower was disgusting with notable amounts of hair on the floor and drain. A dirty towel was left in the bathroom for the 2 days that we were there. Air conditioner appeared to have more than 1 setting but these settings didn't work - when the air conditioner was on, it was too cold and when it was off, the room was too hot. Combine this with the fact that you could feel every spring in the mattress and it equates to a very unpleasant sleeping experience. The breakfast consisted of stale croissants and stale buns, with a cappucino that we thought might have actually been just hot coloured water. Terrible value for money (we paid 70 Euro per night + tourism tax) - would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is opposite the Santa Lucia train station. In Venice, where it is very easy to get lost, this makes the hotel a huge positive - gaining one dot.

The view overlooking the grand canal from our room was superb, we were seranaded by gondolas throughout the night. - another dot.

The room was basic, and clean, and cheap, so that gains it another dot.

The loss of two dots was that we had to go to another hotel to check in, the communal shower was not the cleanest and the room was stiflingly hot.

I would stay here if I was on a budget and with friends. I would not go here for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnythetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

You check into this hotel via another - you are left to fend for yourself after that! Shared facilities should not necessarily mean mouldy, disgusting shower curtain, but in this place that is exactly what you got.

No air conditioning in July, in Italy = no sleep. Questionable linen on beds. No breakfast to speak of.

Very good if you are on a budget, and travelling to see the sights with friends, therefore will not be in the room much. DO NOT GO HERE ON A ROMANTIC BREAK.

Basic, but the view across the grand canal to the train station were breathtaking. A mere 5 minute walk from the train station, which is what makes it a 3/5.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First of all, if arriving in Venice by either train or plane, Hotel Airone has a very convenient location - opposite the train station and just a couple of minutes walk away from the bus station (with connections to Marco Polo airport).
On check-in, you must go to the Hotel Canal which is just a few metres away to check in and collect your key etc. The staff at Hotel Canal were friendly, however not particularly helpful, and we were left to work out for ourselves how to find our room and which of the keys to use for which door etc.
Rooms at Hotel Airone are very basic, but that is what we were expecting, given the relatively low price for a hotel in Venice. In general, the room and the hotel in general were generally clean, however the room in our floor always seemed to be dirty/dusty. The beds were also far too soft, feeling like they may break under body weight. The main problem with the room was its size - we had a twin room, but there was hardly enough space to have any sort of gap between the two beds, and there was not enough space to properly open out our suitcases. Also, we were expecting a canal view from our room, which we did not have.
The first time having breakfast at Hotel Airone may be a little confusing - you have to go to the breakfast area and wait for the maid to arrive, who will then go and bring your breakfast to you at one of the tables. The maid does not speak a single word of English, and asked questions that we were always unsure how to answer. The breakfast itself is not the best, a dry croissant and bread roll, a packet of melba toast, a coffee and a glass of orange juice - the croissants and bread rolls were not very appetising.
Be prepared to sometimes have to wait for the toilet or shower, as it seemed that there were too few toilets (and only one shower) between too many rooms.
Hotel Airone does have many flaws, but you will probably struggle to find much better for a similar price in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonlukeholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've stayed here for one night! Actually, it was a good two star hotel. The room was clean and you have a great view from the grand canal. It was not so far from the train station and If you think that you're spending too much money on restaurant, you could just take a 5 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket. COOP.

If you are in a budget, this is a good option. We've stayed in a room with a private bathroom. You can easily sleep there with three persons. We were just two person and we booked this hotel for 75 euro per night, but you have to pay also the tourist tax. (additional tax: 2 euro per person) so instead we've paid 79 euro for one night.

And if you are in a james bond evening, you could ask the hotel for a free invitation card for the oldest casino of Europe, Casino Divenizia and there is a free shuttle going there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Hotel Canal
#244 of 387 in Venice
1,364 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#292 of 387 in Venice
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Belvedere
#230 of 387 in Venice
81 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#350 of 387 in Venice
337 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#261 of 387 in Venice
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $38 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing