We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for this location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Ranked #115 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

If you're a tourist in Venice, there's a great advantage to staying in the city center -- but that puts you into some of the highest hotel prices in Italy. Locanda Sant'Agostin is a great compromise - you're a 15-20 minute walk (once you know your way!) from the major tourist area of Piazza San Marco, and you pay a reasonable price. The hotel itself is enough off the beaten path that it's relatively quiet. It's not easy to find, but what is easy to find in Venice? Use the map provided electronically by the hotel when you reserve, supplemented by a good map that you can buy for a few Euro. The service at Sant-Agostin is really good, and the breakfast is quite good as well. If you need it, they will willingly help you get your bags up the flight of stairs to reception. Hint: take the hotel's recommendation about restaurants - we did much better with them than with our guidebooks.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandGWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 912 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a wonderful room. Spacious and individually furnished at great expense and in good taste.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. They booked tickets for us to see the opera and were always on hand to answer any questions.

There are one or two little restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
My one and only tiny complaint would be the breakfast, which would have benefitted from some cold meat, boiled eggs or fruit. We stayed 3 nights

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our son and wife who live in New Jersey booked 2 rooms for themselfs and my husband and me on the internet.
We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and quiet with a very venezian decor.
The staff was very helpful and the lady serving breakfast was especially friendly and made us feel so welcome.
I would recommend Locanda Sant'Agostin to my friends and have already.
The hotel is centrally located and ideal to explore this fantastic city

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoelzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My favorite place that we stayed on our recent trip to Italy. And for Venice, the rates were shockingly reasonable. I only wish we had more than two nights to stay at Locanda Sant' Agostin -- oh well, next trip to Venice. When we checked in, our host immediately let us know that if we were amenable, they would move us to a canal-view room on our second night, were we okay with this? But of course!

The photos of the hotel on the web site are very accurate -- the rooms are decorated in a very attractive and typical Venetian decor. Both rooms that we stayed in had double-paned windows and Venetian shutters -- great for opening up to the street scene, but also for blocking out noise at night. The bathrooms were up to date and immaculate.

The hotel provided great detailed instructions for getting to the hotel from the closest vaporetto stop in advance of our arrival. And once we checked in, the staff was extremely helpful, orienting us with maps, providing dining recommendations and booking dinner reservations for us.

I love the location of this hotel, as it is a five to ten minute walk from all of the major tourist sites, but it is much quieter than the area around Piazza San Marco. Would definitely try to stay here the next time we visit Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLgirlinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was our first time to Venice and we booked this hotel via Trip Advisor based upon location and availability. It's a small property with 5 bedrooms located in a quiet street. However it is within walking distance to some of the best sights outside of San Marco (San Roco & Museum of Modern Art). The room was clean and well decorated in a renaisance style. Breakfast is a small continental buffet with fresh pastries and lots of coffee thanks to the Waitress (who doubles up as the room maid).

The receptionists were excellent and booked us the Opera and also checked our restaurant booking when my Italian failed me. They held our luggage until the room was ready and also on our last day until we eventually left this beautiful city.

The downsides? Well this isn't a 'hotel' as such. It is more a set of serviced rooms with a reception. However, this suits many travellers as you spend all day visiting the sites and the evening at the opera, or eating at a restaurant on the main canal. Just don't expect an evening dinner menu or vast lounges or a bar which are all within 2 minutes walk of the property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September 2010. It was our first trip to Venice and we took the vaporetto and got off at the St. Toma stop. We had clear directions from the hotel, so it was fairly easy to find the hotel. The staff was very friendly and since we reached before our check in time, we were told that we could leave our bags there and go sightseeing. We got a map and directions on how to get to the Rialto and St. Marks square, and other things to do. When we finally returned, we realized that our luggage was already transferred to our room, which was very nice of them to do! The room itself was very nice and comfortable and the bathroom was clean. There was free wireless internet available which was a plus. The hotel is located in central Venice, so it's only about a 15 min walk to get to St. Marks square. The closest vaporetti stop is St. Toma (which is one of the express line stops). Or you can just as easily walk anywhere. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby, and the staff was helpful in providing recommendations. We had to leave early in the morning, before breakfast was scheduled to start, so weren't expecting to eat anything. However, we were still given breakfast and hot coffee, which I thought was very nice of them.
Overall, we had a very nice stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend to anyone going to Venice!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starlite05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent two nights here and had a deluxe room with a balcony overloving small piazza. Room was nice, clean and quiet with generous bath. Location was the best. Easy to get all around Venice and yet in a quiet neighborhood in the evening/mornings. Staff was so helpful and gave great recommendations for eating and navigating. Always pleasant and interested in seeing we saw the best of Venice. Really excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#156 of 387 in Venice
310 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#172 of 387 in Venice
437 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#63 of 387 in Venice
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#105 of 387 in Venice
908 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#103 of 387 in Venice
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agostin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agostin

Address: S Polo 2344 | Campo Sant'Agostin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Agostin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the geographical center of the city at just 5-10 minutes walk from every interest point; from here it is not necesary to take the expensive waterbus: an easy walk bring you everywhere. The Locanda is situated in an authentic, lively district that is home totypical trattorias, traditional "bacari", well-known restaurants, goldsmiths' workshops, wine bars and artisan's workshops.This district is flanked by several cafes and typical "bacari", which serve the traditional "Spritz" aperitif. The elegant Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the rooms of the Piano Nobile of a Sixteenth Century patrician palazzo, and is the result of careful restoration work. Finesse and intimacy can be seen in every detail: the parquet flooring with its warm colours, the Murano glass, the stucco cornices and the leaded glass.Staying in one of Venice's Locanda means choosing an intimate and friendly ambience, without compromising on style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agostin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant Agostin Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing