We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Ranked #108 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Venice is a magical place anyway but it was great having such a great place to come back to! Firstly the fact they supply a map that got me there with no issues was a result in itself, as this was one of the rare times I didn’t get lost, following their little print out map.

Arrived early, so staff took our bags and told us some places we could go and a general heads up for what to do or avoid on our stay. Very informative and super friendly. Place is well staffed as we spoke to so many folk, all of which showed the same level of service. When we came back to get in our rooms, all our things were already waiting for us which is a nice touch.

Location is not ‘central’ per say, but we didn’t really want this and the size of Venice means your never that far of a walk form the main drag, plus by staying here we had our own central location to rival San Marco Square, not in terms of tourist attractions but certainly for bars & restaurants. Staff will keep you right with regards to these places.

Simple breakfast, consisting of sweet pastries, yogurt and such to see you through till lunch. One morning one of the fruit juices was off, bit of a shock to the taste pallet, but will look past this one since everything else was perfect.

Only mark down for slee quality was firstly due to odd scratching noises from the thermostat meaning it had to be adjusted to stop, and the bed was a bit hard, and was 2 singles put together which created that gap during the night rolling us into the middle, sometimes you just want that space from your other half :)

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a view of the little street hotel is on, perhaps another room will overlook the square &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 909 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Locanda Sant'Agostin Hotel is good value for money given its central location and standard of lodging. You can walk to the Rialto Bridge in about 15 minutes and to the Piazza di San Marco in about 30 minutes The room we were given was a large triple room facing onto the alleyway, but this still remained quiet due to excellent double glazing. The beds were firm but fairly comfortable.

The service was very good, and the staff very polite, although we found it strange that we couldn't borrow an iron due to the potential fire risk! There was free Wifi provided but this worked intermittently and only in the main eating area/lobby, which was frustrating. The bathroom was satisfactory, although some thicker and softer towels would be welcomed. The flatscreen TV was set to demo mode so advertisements kept flashing up on the screen - I was able to turn this off after informing the staff.

The breakfast provided was basic (no hot food) but reasonably filling.

Overall, this hotel is definitely worth considering although one should expect some quirks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCR776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My son and I stayed in this hotel in November 2012. I love everything about this hotel and will definitely stay here again when I return. The hotel is a easy walk from the train station. It is pretty quiet but still near to most places.
The room I got was very spacious by Europe standard and is very clean. We were greeted with a very friendly reception on arrival. They speak good English and gave us a lot of good recommendations on places for food and visits. Breakfast was pretty good and I love the cappucino in the hotel. It was execellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hi,
We were in Venice during November last year. It was not easy to make a choice for the Hotel. Venice is full of hotel ... Question was : which one ? for which price ... We found this accomodation which was really nice. We had a really good welcome and you are quiet close to the city center. You can find some nice place to eat for all budget.
No worries with the water, we never had the feet wet. I invit you to have a walk in the quarter just side to the hotel if you want to feel the popular venice side.
Enjoy your journey and feel confident with this hotel. No worries at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank NormandyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved this place,the man that checked us in was really helpful gave us directions on a map that he gave us,suggested places to eat and advised us on the best way to get around on the water bus's.we did buy a 24hr ticket for €20 each but no one every asked us or anyone else to see a ticket and we went on alot of them.next time i go will not be getting a ticket.

The lady at breakfast was very pleasent and looked after us every morning.all the staff are a credit to the hotel.

The room was pretty,clean and quite.

Will definitely return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I had a booking at a different hotel, and at the last minute they tried to move us due to renovations. The reviews for this new hotel were absolutely awful, so we did some research and decided to book in at the Loconda Sant'Agostin. Good move. The rooms were very spacious; ours had a veiw of a nearby canal. Bathroom was nice, with good water pressure and a heated towel rail.
What made the hotel extra special though, was the service. Each morning we were greeted warmly and asked if everything was ok. The lady in charge of breakfast was lovely, and although she couldn't speak a word of English, she did her best to make sure we were satisfied. Her service was better than some cafés I've been to!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d0risdelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in Venice at the Locanda Sant'Agostin for 2 nights in September 2012 (just now getting around to doing my reviews). The hotel is set in a quiet area in the center of the island away from the crowds of San Marco and the Rialto Bridge, but each can be reached on foot fairly easily. It's also an easy walk to/from the train station which is nice. The service and staff were good and the room was dated but nice and was by far the largest we had on our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#100 of 385 in Venice
529 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
759 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#168 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
#153 of 385 in Venice
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agostin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agostin

Address: S Polo 2344 | Campo Sant'Agostin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#71 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $84 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Agostin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the geographical center of the city at just 5-10 minutes walk from every interest point; from here it is not necesary to take the expensive waterbus: an easy walk bring you everywhere. The Locanda is situated in an authentic, lively district that is home totypical trattorias, traditional "bacari", well-known restaurants, goldsmiths' workshops, wine bars and artisan's workshops.This district is flanked by several cafes and typical "bacari", which serve the traditional "Spritz" aperitif. The elegant Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the rooms of the Piano Nobile of a Sixteenth Century patrician palazzo, and is the result of careful restoration work. Finesse and intimacy can be seen in every detail: the parquet flooring with its warm colours, the Murano glass, the stucco cornices and the leaded glass.Staying in one of Venice's Locanda means choosing an intimate and friendly ambience, without compromising on style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agostin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant Agostin Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing