We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“B&B Hard to Surpass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Orseolo
Ranked #3 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
477 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“B&B Hard to Surpass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here on our pre-cruise nights in Venice. The hotel was beyond our expectations with the staff providing perfect hospitality which is what sets it apart from many other places I have stayed.
The rooms are on the small side but that is typical for Venice. A hot breakfast cooked to order and a buffet get the day off to a great start. The location is 5 minutes to Saint Marks and the side canal location allows a water taxi to bring you right to the canal side door. The staff was very responsive to emails regarding all arrangements for transfer from the airport and all other questions. The only negative is the bedding which was on the firm side with stiff pillows. Read other reviews and don.t pass up the opportunity to stay at wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: A canal side room provided interesting views of the water way of life in Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    54
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
246
849
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Venice. Gigi and his staff could not have been better. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful. The location was ideal. We could explore the city in one direction, come back to freshen up and head out again to another area. They coordinated us sharing a water taxi with another couple to the dock to meet our cruise ships. This saved time and money. Plus, the water taxi ride to the dock was a beautiful experience. We recommended them to a couple from Georgia on our gondola ride. Since we have returned home, my husband has recommend them to a co-worker. I hope we get to come back to Venice and the Locanda Orseolo again. Amazing city!.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small courtyard and was very quiet. No water views but that was not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelia1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Sorry to have taken so long to write my review. We stayed in May for our wedding anniversary. We just love coming back to see our friends and still is the best place to stay in Venice even in Italy. Our best wishes to Gigi, Barbara, Igor and Lorenzo for making our stay so delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandsons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our first trip to venice and it was spectacular thanks to the Locanda Orseolo. The staff was amazing. They returned all my emails very promptly and answered all the questions thoroughly. The room was a great size and very quiet. Lorenzo and Davad? Had great suggestions for our dinners, which were great. Hot breakfast was delicious. (Especially the crepes and scrambled eggs) They also were a great help with figuring out the public water taxis and any other questions we had. The location was perfect and close to everything. We were sad to leave. Definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to venice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is truly a gem. Everyone at Locanda Orseolo seemed genuinely happy to meet us, talk with us, provide recommendations, and help us out in any way possible. I've never felt more welcome at a hotel/BnB. The location was absolutely perfect - once you walk through the gate separating the crowds of San Marco from the courtyard of Locanda Orseolo, the noise just disappears. We had a WONDERFUL stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UneChatteNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoyed everything about our stay at Locanda Orseolo, from stepping off from our water taxi straight into the property, to the moment we had to leave.
The staff greeted us warmly, and had organised our room to be ready early for us, which was much needed after a harrowing car ride from Villefrance-sur-Mer to Nice airport. Our room was sumptuous, in the style of local Venetian shops. There was a sitting room, then the main bedroom, and an ample sized bathroom. You could view the passing gondolas from the windows in both rooms.
After a brief rest we went exploring, armed with a map provided by Barbara, indicating lunch establishments that fitted our criteria (simple, local food).
The staff were helpful in all other requests too (including my half a lemon with breakfast!).
In the room was a dossier with a list of local highlights, which we took great advantage of. If you plan to do the "Secret Itineraries tour" of Doge's Palace, as recommended, make sure you book in advance.
It was a total delight staying here, it is so nice to feel "taken care of".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 213belindaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was like staying with an excellent family. The location was good, near San Marco, but in a private courtyard. My daughter loved looking out of our windows at the gondoliers. Breakfast was great as well. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Venice. Our only complaint was that the boats in the canal next to our room were quite loud in the mornings, but that is part of being in venice after all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Property: Locanda Orseolo
Address: Corte San Zorzi San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing