We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in late august 2013”
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Orseolo
Ranked #4 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
ct
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in late august 2013”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews on tripadvisor. The b and b was beautiful with a wonderful view of the canal. While you eat a gourmet breakfest with omlets and crepes you can watch the canal. The staff speaks english and are wonderful. We stayed in the isabella room which had a view of the canal. We spent alot of time at st marks squate which is steps from this b andb. We would have wine in st marks square and return in the late evening to watch the different bands and singers. I would love to return to this beautiful establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbegan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    59
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
260
911
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews offered on trip advisor and on the location. Neither disappointed. The staff (Lorenzo especially) were helpful, pleasant and professional, the location, a few steps from St. Marks square is perfect and the room itself was lovely, clean, quiet and decorated the way I would have imagined a Venitian room to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcm645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a wonderful way to start our tour of Italy. We've traveled domestically and internationally and this is by far one of the most customer focused establishments. Cannot write enough about the staff and owners--they are incredible! They are always looking for ways to make your stay more enjoyable. Location was ideal. Close to St. Mark's Square but set back so you get away from all the activity. Also, their breakfasts were wonderful. Will certainly recommend to others and hope we can return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel ever!
Locanda Orseolo is an amazing place to stay! There's no pool, spa or restaurant but everything else is fantastic! I booked it over the internet and from the start I felt the staff was very professional. Venice can be difficult to navigate but their directions were spot on. Gigi, Lorenzo, Barbara and Igor were wonderful - such an amazingly helpful, informative, charming staff. Igor even bought my train ticket to Milan, what a service! The rooms are very comfortable and it was superb watching the gondolas floating by my window. A really yummy breakfast is served in the small dining room where gondolas stream by the open windows and where you can sip extremely tasty cocktails! The location was superb - about 2 mins from St Marks Square, 5 from the Rialto Bridge and close to nearly all sights. It doesn't have a lift but if able bodied, would never stay anywhere else in Venice - 5 star!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Beanmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Aubin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Locanda Orseolo is a wonderful, niche hotel, situated in a quite, little courtyard just a few steps from St Mark's Square. The location is incredibly convenient, therefore. But the real charm of the place lies in the people who run it. They operate as a sort of partnership and have a fantastic, collegiate ethic. A lot of businesses could learn from a model like this. Nothing is too much trouble and one can only rate the overall service experience as something well north of excellent.

There is no restaurant, but the breakfasts are delightful and there are many fine restaurants nearby, mostly within 7 to 15 minutes' walking distance. The staff are only too happy to make recommendations and for the most part they are spot-on.

It is a small hotel - only some nine rooms, I think - but it has enormous grace, character and charm. Overall, a wonderful experience. We shall most definitely be back.

Two hints: first, we think that it could be very difficult, if not impossible, for wheelchair users or anyone with a significant mobility problem. There are three storeys and no lifts. That said, Venice must be a nightmare for anyone in a wheelchair anyway. Secondly, leaving to go to the airport, by getting out of a window and boarding a water-taxi, then going through the canals and arriving at Marco Polo some 25 minutes later is not only an unbelievable romantic experience, but also an extremely efficient way of getting back to Marco Polo airport. It's not cheap (might have been cheaper if we could have found someone to share, I suppose) but it was one of the experiences of a lifetime. Do it.

Room Tip: Sorry about the mention of the swimming pool and room service - neither is available but I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

1st class in every aspect from staff and a fantastic bed and breakfast in great location. The staff and owners can't do enough for you if you ask for a nice place to eat they will tell you and book it for you can't wait to return Neil & Sharon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a fab time here.Stayed 3 nights in early Sept. Location was perfect,right off St.Marks sq.yet was just a short walk to the Rialto bridge. The Lacanda Orseolo,was tucked away in a quite alley way.It was wonderful,after our busy days touring the sites,to come back to the square at night and listen to the orchestras playing while sipping aperitifs. But what really stood out above the others,is the staff at The Orseolo! After working in service industry for years,THEY GOT IT RIGHT! Each staff member knew our names,even before we had met them.They had us feeling like we were part of their family. Their recommendation for dinning were superb. We wanted to enjoy true Venetian cuisine . The places were not overly priced,and had incredible food. They only sent us to places which they would eat at,themselves. No tourist traps.Very comfortable room,with a large full bathroom .Exceptional staff! WHEN we go back to Venice,we will be looking forward to our stay at The Locanda Orseolo,and seeing the staff, (our friends) Gigi,Igor,Barbara and all! Martha and Ken

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Property: Locanda Orseolo
Address: Corte San Zorzi San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing