We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best kept secret in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Ranked #27 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have just returned from a brief visit to Venice with my wife and some friends. We stayed in the Palazzo Sant'Angelo and what a great decision that was!!

This is a great hotel, not just because of the nice rooms, the great location or the fantastic little bar - it is the staff! Although it rained throughout our visit the staff did everything they could to make the visit a good one, even lending us some umbrellas to battle the terrible weather.

This is a great place to stay - the views of the Grand Canal are great and you are not far from some really nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    134
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
109
422
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a three day stay. We chose this hotel because we were traveling with my husband's parents, one of which has a hard time getting around. Having a private dock (the water taxi picked us up and dropped us off right at the front door) and the vaparetto stop just outside made it easy for them to get around. The location is within a 10-15 minute walk of the Rialto bridge, St. Mark's square and the Accademia. Since the hotel is not right in the center of one specific attraction, we found the area restaurants to be less touristy (there are several within a 5-10 minute walk). The guest rooms are large and beautiful, you certainly felt like you were in Venice! We especially loved the large bathroom with the jacuzzi tub and dark green marble. The common areas downstairs are small but decorated nicely and we enjoyed the breakfast (was the same every day but had a variety of options). The hallways upstairs are in need of updating and we agree with the other reviewer that the quality of the mattress could be better, other than that-a great hotel.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our son and parents. We were booked in rooms 212 (an extra bed was added for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were only able to stay in this wonderful hotel for one night whilst waiting to board our cruise ship. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were wonderful. They did a terrific job of taking care of us during our stay. We managed to get a lovely room with a separate sleeping area for my husband and I while giving my daughter her own privacy. We were lucky enough to get a room overlooking the grand canal which was truly amazing. The room was large as was the bathroom and was very clean. Our room came with breakfast which was more than sufficient (love the coffee in Italy). The staff made some really great recommendations for restaurants on St Stephen Square. If I'm ever lucky enough to return to this fabulous city I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfergirlCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very easy access to water taxis. The canal view suites are pricey -- but well worth every penny. The suites are generously sized and the amenities are lovely. We hated to leave!

The only downside was the quality of the mattress -- thin and uncomfortable... but the view made it worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HartlandUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackrod
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lovely classical Venetian boutique hotel. Well situated. Perfect for family. The staff were helpful and rooms were organised to accomodate our family perfectly. I would highly recommend the canal facing suite and adjoining 3 bed room for a family. Avoid the room service - expensive and not great. Wonderful small cafes just behind the hotel in Campiello Morosini.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenfunk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my wife spent 3 nights at Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
in late feb 2013 and its a great hotel. With its typically italian decor you get a real feel for the place from the moment you walk in the door.

The hotel is located just 50 yards from the water taxi stop which makes life so easy when you have just arrived and don't know your way around.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and large and the breakfast is also a great start to the day. We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to be back at some point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the Palazzo Sant' Angelo twice a year since it opened so we are well into double figures on trips.
It is just a great hotel in the perfect location with excellent staff who go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and if the budget will stretch, book a Grand Canal view. When it isn't pouring with rain (hence why I am writing this review today after years of visits) the view is fantastic..
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjk55017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#23 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#24 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Property: Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing