We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Ranked #28 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for a two days en route back to Australia. The location at a vaporetto stop makes the trip from the airport easy if you don't want to spend E110 on a water taxi.
You are close to San Marco but far enough away not to feel caught up in the swirl of tourists.
Room was bigger than I had expected at the price and breakfast buffet would match those in most Italian hotels.you could spend a lot more and not get a great deal more.

Room Tip: Definitely worth checking how much more a room onto the Grand Canal will cost . Our room didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 770 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande in Novemeber 2012 in a Canal Suite. The room was lovely. The online pictures are a very good representation with the exception of the bistro table and chairs on the balcony. I could be wrong, but I can't see how they would fit. The suite has separate bedroom and living room area but there is no door between the two which we usually prefer. That said, the room is in excellent repair and decorated beautifully. When the windows are closed, you cannot hear the vaporettos or any noise from the hall or other rooms. The only "complaint" I would have about the room was that there was no room in the bathroom to set toiletries. the edge of the sink is slanted toward the inside of the sink and the wire shelving under the sink was also tilted. Nothing would stand up so everything had to be put back into the toiletry bags after usage.

We thought the buffet breakfast was very good, especially considering it was included in the price of the room. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cuts and cheeses, several kinds of fruits and juices, as well as a good selection of breads and pastries. All were very fresh. The seating in the breakfast room was a little tight but most of the other guests were with a small tour group from the UK and they were usually finishing breakfast by the time we were starting.

The bar, of which there are so many pictures, is beautiful. Everyday, upon our return, there was a "happy hour" just starting and they put out a small selection of canapes and cheese. There was a charge for this but it included a drink and was minimal. It's just a pleasant place to sit and unwind before getting ready for dinner. There are also a few tables outside, right on the canal, which I'm sure would be lovely in the summer.

As many have said, the vaporetto stop is only a few steps from the front door and the hotel also has it's own private dock. We took the vaporetto from the train station with large spinner suitcases and found it to be fine. Maybe a little more trouble in August as opposed to November but the vaporettos were still fairly crowded. The location for walking is also very good. Several good restaurants with a 5-minute walk and many more within a 10 to 15-minute walk.

Although this is not the most elaborate hotel in the world, it is definitely the best 4-star I've seen. The thing that would keep me coming back is the staff. They are definitely 5-star. They are very friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive. There was a bottle of wine and some snacks in our room upon arrival. They arranged a complimentary private shuttle to Murano when we expressed interest in going. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent. And they always took the time to expalin directions and mark our tourist map for us. I just can't say enough about the staff!!! If I were lucky enough to visit Venice again, I would not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not much to add to the many reviews here. They are accurate. This is a very fine choice if you are staying in Venice. Transportation from the Railway station via boat is easily arranged and brings you directly to the front door. Nothing could be easier. The public water taxi (vaporetto) is 20 steps away from the entrance. You can take this service all around Venice on the Number 1 line. One night when we had some trouble walking back from the opera, we simply went to plan B and found the San Marco stop and boarded for Sant' Angelo. Simple and Done!

The rooms are very nice, though the beds are somewhat firm. The bathrooms are clean, just know you are likely to get the floors a little wet due to the half enclosure for showers. However, not a big problem.

The breakfast and bar are very nice as well.

I can't imagine a better experience.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sjfotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. You'll arrive by boat and step directly on to the hotel's dock...ah the wonders of Venice.

Located right on the Grand Canal (splurge on a canal front room...it's worth it). We were upgraded to canal front and loved sitting on our small balcony watching the boats and gazing at the Rialto Bridge.

Beautiful and spacious room...so well decorated it felt luxurious. Staff was very helpful with all our questions about directions and using the nearby Vaporetto service (their English is excellent). Also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogaWithMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sant' Angelo is located adjacent to a vaporetto stop, and can be found hidden in the streets of Venice. It is reasonably priced, with excellent service and lovely rooms. I have stayed at Ca'Segrada in the past. A very expensive and fine hotel. I was just as comfortable and well treated for less than half the price at Sant'Angelo.

Room Tip: The WALK to and from the hotel from the sites and streets of the city was a really fun adventure - d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank res5137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This small boutique hotel is right on the grand canal. As mentioned in earlier reviews it's literally steps away a Vaporetto stop (which also serves as a stop for the Aliluguna transportation to and from Marco Polo Airport). It's close to Saint Marks, The Rialto, and the Academia Bridge, but peacefully tucked away from the crowds. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast service (7 to 10 every morning) includes a hot breakfast with lots of options. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. It also has a quiet bar with a lovely view of the grand canal in which delicious Venetian spritz drinks along with the usual staples are served.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Palazzo Sant'Angelo in Venice is perfectly situated right on the Grand Canal, steps from a Vaporetto stop. Rooms are spectacular in typical Venetian style. The staff are friendly, all speak English and offer quality service. A small breakfast room serves a large buffet for guests; the bar is intimate and a great way to end an evening. Off the Canal, down a small street, visitors can walk to most tourist destinations. There are shops and restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and you'll have a walk in dressing room. Unlike many European hotels, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,072 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 385 in Venice
805 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Address: San Marco 3878/b, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $205 - $1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the Grand Canal, the Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo is the first hotel to have a pedestrian entrance to the Grand Canal, in addition to direct access by boat. "Casa Tito", occupied in part by Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo, was rebuilt in 1954 by architect Angel Scattolin with columns, Corinthian capitals, door mouldings, corbels and pillars and a large number of original paintings illustrating the joyous Venetian life of the late nineteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing