We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on the Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on the Grand Canal”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Palazzo Sant'Angelo in Venice is perfectly situated right on the Grand Canal, steps from a Vaporetto stop. Rooms are spectacular in typical Venetian style. The staff are friendly, all speak English and offer quality service. A small breakfast room serves a large buffet for guests; the bar is intimate and a great way to end an evening. Off the Canal, down a small street, visitors can walk to most tourist destinations. There are shops and restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and you'll have a walk in dressing room. Unlike many European hotels, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    151
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
482
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo for three nights in late October prior to getting on ship to Rio de Janeiro. The Palazzo Sant'Angelo was just excellent. Wonderful service, fine rooms, very good breakfasts and a location that can't be beat in Venice. We were quite surprised by the daily flooding - - never heard of it before. The hotel staff, at our request, obtained knee high rubber boots to use for our entire visit. A very nice service touch, we thought. We'll go back to Venice, flooding or no flooding, and we'll definitely return to the Palazzo Sant'Angelo.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking a lovely square to the right side of the hotel. Very quiet in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I and two of our twenty something daughters stayed at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo in early November, prior to the terrible flooding that has recently occurred. I am extremely grateful to have picked this property as we were given the suite on the canal that we had requested and which is pictured on all of there PR materials. The view was unbelievable. It is located on the Grand Canal about a half mile from the Rialto Bridge. It is located right at a Vaporetto stop as well as a Airport stop. Further, water taxi's routinely come by the private dock of the hotel. The hotel also has a very upscale, totally different decor sister hotel across and down the river towards the Lagoon. I cannot stress enough how important it was that the hotel provided boots for all of us during the tide rise. Otherwise, we would have been bound to our rooms for the three or four hours that the flooding of the streets occurs.
while I cannot say enough good things about the hotel, the room, the breakfast buffet, the front desk or the bar staff; I have very mixed emotions about Venice itself. While it is stunning visually, it is probably the most incovenient place I have ever travelled to. Also, we have travelled all through italy, and for whatever reason, the general rudeness of the people who live there, but not the service personnel, was like the elephant in the room. Perhaps, they are tired of the inconvenience as well combined witht the Tourists.
Believe all the reviews on this property, it is 100% an outstanding property.

Room Tip: if you go to venice, you have to have a water view at least one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fbpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When you go to Venice, the star classification is not a criterion of real quality.
Palazzo Sant'Angelo is an incredible value. Triple rooms are very large with a high quality linen. All services are excellent and the staff very friendly.
I recommend it: it is directly on the Grand Canal and just 10 minutes from St. Mark's Square: Its location is very convenient with kids!
No restrictions!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

By chance with a British Airways Fly and Hotel package we came across the Hotel Palazzo St Angelo which turns out to be almost in the geographical centre of Venice, with it's own Vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal route. We found that you can get to almost anywhere in Venice either on foot or on the Vaporetto from St Angelo. Great Small Luxury Hotel of the World hotel with charming helpful staff and clean spacious rooms decorated in the Venetian style. The hotel also had a very nice bar right on the canal. Would definitely go there again and will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you want a coveted room overlooking the Grand Canal, book early and ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great hotel! The room was excellent, though I personally might have preferred a bed not quite so firm. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and the location was fantastic. It is less than 50 yards to the vaparetto and Alilaguna stop, a quick walk to several non-touristy restaurants in Campiello Morisini. Like so many places, it is a short walk to so many great places. Loved this place, and wished that we could stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely hotel, well placed, a very warm welcome. Extremely clean, rooms are lovely, large and lots of facilities, including a twice daily maid service (and a choccy on the bed!) Breakfast very good. On the canal right by a water bus stop, so very convenient. Alos, free internet access.

They offer a free trip to Murano, where the glass factories and shops are, However, beware, - you are taken to one factory only, and do not have the chance to look any any others, unless you decide to make your own way back.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are like ours, any would do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#24 of 385 in Venice
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#8 of 385 in Venice
647 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Property: Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Address: San Marco 3878/b, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the Grand Canal, the Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo is the first hotel to have a pedestrian entrance to the Grand Canal, in addition to direct access by boat. "Casa Tito", occupied in part by Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo, was rebuilt in 1954 by architect Angel Scattolin with columns, Corinthian capitals, door mouldings, corbels and pillars and a large number of original paintings illustrating the joyous Venetian life of the late nineteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing