We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“midieval magic on venice's lagoon!”

Walks Inside Italy-Private & Day Tours
Ranked #66 of 158 Tours in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Walks inside Italy is a tour company providing private and small group tours in Rome, Florence and Venice. For curious, discerning travelers.Priority entrance to all important museums and sites with professional insider guides.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“midieval magic on venice's lagoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

we had the great fortune of spending six hours with sara on a private boat, exploring murano, burano, torcello and, of course venice. mere words are not enough to describe the beauty, mystery and magic we found on these captivating islands. torcello has the beaufiful cathedral of st maria assunta,and it's stunning mosaics.and the fascinating hotel locanda cipriani with it's welcoming hearth and pictures of celebrities who have visited was just a delight to stop and visit. we had a light lunch, and visited with our guide, sara, about ernest hemingway's love of torcello. next we were off to burano, with it's giddily colored buildings, and beautiful lace. and, of course there was murano, where marco at mazzega glass kept us entertained and well informed about this magical art form. passing through venice's canals, and finally getting off very near the guggenheim exhibit, we had six hours of pure pleasure. sara was like an old friend, and kept a steady stream of easy conversation going throughout our day. my husband and i thoroghly enjoyed this tour, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to get a taste of the treasures in an around venice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    3
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best way to get your bearings in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We combined a half day tour with Fernando and a private water taxi ride since there were six of us. What a way to get acclimated in Venice! It's so beautiful, so different than any other city, it was nice to ride along and look in awe at the buildings and learn how people get around and live in Venice. We culminated in the Grand Canal and hopped off to tour St. Mark's. Wow......make sure you pay to go up and see the Trojan horses! Afterwards, we took a leisurely stroll back through the canal ways of the city, and Fernando pointed out hidden gems along he way including a GREAT gelato place and a pizza place for dinner later. Worth the money to see ALL the city, not just the tourist stops!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seeing Venice in one short day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Venice for a weekend in November, and were so fortunate to spend a day with Roberta Curiel, especially because the next day was Venice's great flood so we saw nothing but water that day! In one short day we managed to see both spectacular art and get a picture of daily life in Venice as we walked through Roberta's neighborhoods and visited the best fish market I've ever seen. My daughter is an art history major and my husband is an artist, so it was particularly wonderful to have Roberta's art knowledge and ability to tailor the tour to their knowledge and interest. I would agree with another reviewer that she probably is the best tour guide of our trip though they were all good. We can't wait to return to Venice, and I would book a tour with Roberta again and do a whole group of different things next time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Wow! Roberta Curiel is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I strongly recommend Roberta Curiel. She was extremely informative and amusing. She is a also a delightful person to spend time with on a tour. We were a group of 10 people and we all agreed she was easily the best tour guide of the trip. She probably is the best tour guide we've had in all of our travels. Thank you Roberta!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour of Venice With Wonderful Roberta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were a group of 4 adults who extended our cruise vacation by a day in order to take a tour with "Walks Inside Venice" and Roberta Curiel. We had the "Dorsoduro Discovery" tour, followed by the "Cicheti and Nizioleti" tour.

While the Cicheti tour was very good, the Dorsoduro Discovery tour was outstanding. Touring with Roberta is like touring with an old friend. She has tremendous knowledge of Venice and will change the flow of her tour based on what you show an interest in. Her relationships with friends and acquaintances in the city allowed us to gain spur-of-the-moment access to the shop of the gondola builder and the local sailing club. Roberta was very flexible, and put up with our desire to take a zillion pictures of her wonderful city.

Meeting Roberta was very simple, and she arrived at the meeting location precisely on time. There was a transit strike scheduled for the evening of our tour, and Roberta made sure we finished our tours with enough time to get to the train station and "get out of Dodge" to avoid being trapped overnight in the city.

Overall we were very pleased with our tour and would strongly recommend Roberta and "Walks Inside Venice" to anyone looking for a private tour with an exceptional guide.

Thank you, Roberta!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walks Inside Italy-Private & Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Walks Inside Italy-Private & Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing