We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jewel in the crown of venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Priuli
Ranked #181 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little jewel in the crown of venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner took me to venice as a surprise for my 50th birthday. Was totally blown away with the hotel,as they were very friendly and helpful and a double bonus we were upgraded to a junior suite with a terrace and over looking the canal. The room was out of this world. Very clean and spacious with the most devine decor. Breakfast was amazing with lots of variety too. It is literally only a stones throw from St Marks square, what more could we ask for!
Would highly recommend to anyone going there. Will defiantly go back again, and soon i hope.
Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimdage63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    129
    46
    25
    15
See reviews for
92
198
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Ive followed the instruction accordingly in their website for the way to the hotel but still got lost after taking the boat to the destined port as the road (without taxi around) in Venice is quite confusing. Getting lost in Venice is a magical experience if we hasn't got 2 big luggages to carry up the bridge and pushing through the back alley. I'm gald to have download the tripadvisor offline version and able to find the hotel within 5mins after getting lost for 20minutes. For the rest of my trip in venice, I enjoyed getting lost since the hotel is in the shopping/attraction area and turn on the tripadvisor to find my way back to this hotel only when it's time for rest!

Had a very warm welcome from the reception even i grumble on the difficulties on finding the hotel with them. Knowing its our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a junior suite at 1st floor with a very nice canal view. Free sparking wine was sent to us too. The room is clean, very romantic, unique in its own way and has a different feel from other 4 star hotels we had stayed during our Europe trip, never regret booking this hotel. It has add a little uniqueness to our honeymoon. Feels like living in a royalty english room. Very prompt and friendly room service too.

Remember to ask the hotel for food recommendation, they will recommend a very good restaurant just down the road which served very good seafoods, spaghetti at very reasonable price!! Took the water taxi arranged by the hotel, and we enjoyed the last ride viewing venice to the train terminal.

But just a little side note, there's no disposable slippers in their room and their marble floor are rather cold during winter. The shower is abit crazy, sometime turns back to hot/cold water while bathing but we're ok with it and didn't complain.

Overall, it's a magical experience staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

When researching this hotel we found it to be well regarded, however when our very experienced and reputable travel agent attempted to book the hotel she was told that it was heavily booked, however we could get one of their "annexe" rooms (same very high price).

This is where the problem began as the annexe is not an annexe it is a separate building around the corner, down a dingy alleyway. This is apparently the Ca Priuli property. The rooms were reasonable but in no way reflected the grandeur of the Palazzo Priuli and at no time did we feel a part of the 4 star Palazzo Priuli Hotel. Even the breakfast was served in what seemed to be a converted store room, well away from the stylish dining room in the Palazzo Priuli.
To top it off, the reception staff at the Palazzo Priuli were most unhelpful and deeply defensive when we aired our concerns.

If you have any concerns, do a web search under Ca Priuli, Venice and you will see that a great many of the major hotel booking sites (Hotels Combined, Hotel Club, Travel Pod) display images of the Palazzo Priuli building and facilities. This is a great shame and a very misleading situation that you would expect the people at both Palazzo Priuli, and Ca Priuli would be very keen to rectify.
Ca Priuli should not be confused with Palazzo Priuli. It should not be marketed as an annexe or dependant structure to Palazzo Priuli. It is nowhere near a 4 star experience and therefore hugely overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't get put in an annexe or dependant structure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sandchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Priuli Family Palace (Palazzo Priuli) was a 4 star hotel by European standards, probably a 3 star by US standards due to the bed, but you can't find a hotel like this in the US. It's 14th Century decorations and perfect setting right next to Saint Mark's Square was truly unique and worth the visit. The fact that this is a true 14th century palace was cool but also added some unexplainable mystery: The walls were vertical, but the stairs and some parts of floors were tilted at a good 10-20 degrees; I don't understand the physics of how concrete floors could be that disconnected from the walls and not cave in. Our bed caught the worst of it. the "Queen" bed was two twins pushed together. Not only were the mattresses old and hard and lumpy, but try sleeping at a 20 degree downhill slant; I constantly felt like I was going to literally roll off the bed--it was comical.

Breakfast nook was beautiful, breakfast was excellent with eggs and bacon/ham, fruits, cereals, sweet breads, etc.

Hotel instructions said to take the Alilaguna Blue Line and get off at San Marco, but I found getting off at the San Zaccariah stop was closer, right in front of the Emmanuel Monument. Be sure to take close note of which of the half dozen docks you get off at, because that is the precise spot you will need to be at for the return trip to the airport.

One annoying feature was some sort of sump pump motor sound running either from the basement of this hotel or one outside our bathroom window, because it ran 24 hrs a day and was quite loud, especially at night. It was distracting enough to make sleeping even more difficult than the 20 degree floor slope would have been alone. But I still would have picked this uniquely decorated hotel as our Venice hotel choice.

If you only get one visit to Venice, I definitely recommend staying near St Mark's Square since most of Venice's tourist museums and such are in that area. Definitely buy a Chorus Pass for free entry into all the churches (most of which charge for entry). We went during the week before Thanksgiving and had perfect weather and crowd levels, though we got lucky. There was 3' flood waters in St Mark's Square a few days before we arrived, but we didn't even notice it until we saw pictures on the internet--I guess the city stores and churches know how to deal with such things. We wore a jacket every day, but no hats or gloves. We did carry an umbrella, but only had to use it once or twice for an hour or so. Also, while I have heard of sewage smells in other reviews, we never smelled anything disagreeable, so maybe that is a summer phenomenon.

For Venice, just like Rome, if you're going to eat anything each night other than take out pizza, budget a lot for dinner. Throughout Italy's big cities, we ate as much breakfast as we could pack down, grabbed a sandwich from the numerous sandwich trucks located outside tourist spots, and then got takeout pizza to bring back to the hotel room in the evenings. When we did pay about $50 each for dinner (not including wine) I was never "filled up" by what was served, and I'm a normal sized guy that doesn't overeat (I guess by US standards anyway).

We were able to "see" the entire town in 3 evenings/nights and two days. One day we walked the entire city visiting every major church. One day we did Saint Mark's Square and did museums and shopping around that part of the city. So obviously, this was part of a whirlwind trip of Italy, so you should probably schedule more than 3 days if you really want to "do" the city and not just "see everything once".

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner exterior room #103 that was huge by European standards, had a huge bathroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DINK_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

we are a mature italian american gay couple from northern california and were visiting Italy for the first time. Venice had long been a favored destination. The Priuli location was perfect, as this ended up being our favorite district in the city. We were able to find and visit all the museums and other venues we were seeking and usually did so on foot without any difficulties. The accommodations were perfect and the service was nothing short of amazing--the staff even facilitated a very prompt visit from a local physician when one of us fell ill. we recommend the hotel to all our friends and very much look forward to staying there on our next trip to Italy and to Venice. The staff made every effort to make us feel welcome and we were consistently treated with friendly respect and kindness. the breakfasts were delightful and satisfying. Though there were many food venues within easy walking distance, an afternoon or evening wine bar service in the hotel would have been great.

Room Tip: part of our stay was in the main building, and part was in the annex a few steps away, along the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned after a 2 night stay at Palazzo Priuli and had a fabulous time. The staff were incredibly courteous and friendly, and the hotel itself is perfect- very clean, well kept and very Renaissance Venice! I loved the style of our room and the little extras like free prosecco and snacks in the afternoons (along with soft drinks, fruit etc) to help ourselves to. The bed was pretty comfy, although I would recommend requesting another couple of pillows like we did, as they are pretty flat! Lovely bathroom with a really deep bath- perfect to sip prosecco in and enjoy the sound of the gondoliers floating past on the canal outside. It is in an ideal location- about a 10min walk to the Rialto and 5mins to San Marco, and the directions from the airport to the hotel that are given on the hotel website are perfect- we didn't get lost at all. Overall, easily one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, and so good for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canalside view- we had 103 which was on the first floor, right up from the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyrannosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in December. This hotel was great, the room was very cosy great for the winter months. The hotel is very well decorated and nothing looks cheap or out of place, I loved the medieval type theme. In comparison to this theme was the bathroom which was lovely and modern. The breakfast was good plenty of choice. I was originally worried that the room would be cold as thought with it being an old building the window would be single glazed but it was double glazed and heating on all the time so nice and warm. The staff were very friendly and always greeted us and smiled. They helped us carry our luggage over the bridge when we left which was nice. Apparently they serve snacks in the afternoon but we were always out in afternoon so couldn't comment in this. I would strongly suggest taking a map if you are not familiar with the area because we got lost trying to find the hotel best way to find it to walk along lagoon front away from St Marks then turn up side streets as easier to recognise it from front rather than side where you won't see it until you walk past the entrance. Also remember to leave enough money for room tax as we paid about €20 for both of us for the 4 nights. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Only booked a standard room but still got a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie-Harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#135 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#120 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#294 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#59 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#56 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Priuli

Property: Palazzo Priuli
Address: Castello 4979/b Fondamenta de l'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Family Hotel in Venice
#137 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Priuli 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing