We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time”
Review of Palazzo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Priuli
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in a good location. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly especially Giovanni. All spoke very good english. Our room was upgraded to a suite on arrival so that saved me the embarrassment of asking for an upgrade as it was my birthday!! We were offered a bottle of prosecco to celebrate that was brought up to the room nicely chilled!! Good start to our holiday!! We had a lovely room accessed by the slanted staircase off the breakfast area. (No lifts so not a suitable hotel if you need to use one). Room large with an uneven floor in parts adding to the character of the place. Brilliant olde worlde furniture with comfortable bed even though a bit harder than I normally prefer. Plenty of clothes space in the walk in wardrobe/dressing room. Modern bathroom but dodgy shower as it wouldnt move up and down pole (stayed down but not a problem). Lovely smiling breakfast lady every morning. I would have prefered a bit more choice of meats/cheeses at breakfast but still came away satisfied. Afternoon snacks/soft drinks/prosecco left out to help yourselves. FREE WI-FI which is unusual in lots of hotels. Plenty of bars/restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Venice seems to "close" around 10 pm so were never bothered by noisy revellers!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denroy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    134
    49
    26
    15
See reviews for
97
207
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on a side canal near St Mark's square within walking distance of most majot attractions. Despite it's central location, it is lovely and peaceful inside. Our room was upgraded to a suite when we arrived, although we had previously booked a room with a canal view and this didn't have one. Nevertheless it was a lovely room with a huge walk in wardrobe (not really required) and a spacious bathroom. The only negative was that the bed was 2 singles pushed together, rather than a king size bed

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Palazzo Priuli is on a side canal within easy walking distance of many beautiful and historic locations in Venice. It is a former palace with crooked historic stairs to the breakfast area. It is a lovely romantic hotel with helpful staff and beautiful rooms. The breakfast were great (lots of sweet rolls with yummy fillings) artisan breads, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, cereal, hard-cooked eggs... The bed was terrific and the room had high beamed ceilings and a modern bath. We were very comfortable the 2 nights we had there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A beautiful former palace, situated on 2 smaller canals with soaring ceilings and period furnishings. The staff was extremely helpful, even upgrading our room when we arrived! We had a very spacious corner room right off the breakfast area, overlooking 2 canals, with a roomy, modern washroom. The view from the large windows was lovely and the sounds of the gondoliers' baritone voices & accordions were truly magical. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and that room is stocked with cold drinks, fruit & nuts later in the day. The very kind lady in the breakfast room greeted us with the warmest smile every morning.
The location is fantastic - so close to St. Mark's and the boat station. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view. We also heard there is a rooftop patio for a romantic nightcap ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A 4 star hotel close to the canal. The closest boat stn is San Zacharriah.
The place is easily reachable and the staff on duty was really helpful. our luggage was sent to the room without request. The staff was easily communicative and led to a friendly environment with the hotel guests. The room was great with comfy beds and good linen. The breakfast was really great and the lady serving eat was friendly and helpful to the children. She planned to make the Bday of my son special. There are good bars and restaurants close by and the other tourist attractions are not very far from the hotel. Will like to stay again in this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chawlasushil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took a 3 night break in Venice and chose the Palazzo Priuli primarily as we required a minimum 4* rating and a central location. We booked through Expedia and having set this criteria, booked using their 'Secret Saver' option. We were offered the three nights at reduced rack rates but would not be told the hotel name until the bookings as made. At a cost of £420 - which I think was enough to pay - we booked, and we were pleased to see that we had been allocated the Priuli. The reviews looked ok and the location perfect.

We arrived late on the Saturday evening and were told that - although our Expedia booking suggested we receive a complimentary breakfast - the hotel did not honour this as they could not afford to do this for the Expedia rate! We agreed to pay for breakfast, at €8 per head and was shown to our room.

The room we were presented with was tired, small and dark. The solid metal shutters on the window looked out onto a small alley, which was no more than 8 feet wide and looked straight into the window opposite. Annoyingly, a section of the marble floor had broken up and loose debris made walking on this very painful. Early the following morning we complained and, after some discussion as to the potential dangers of a broken floor, we were offered another room. The difference was amazing..clearly this wasn't an 'Expedia' room, and looked just like the ones advertised on the website. I was clean and roomy with a nice bathroom. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antique or reproduction furniture, although as a consequence they did lack coat hangers and general storage for clothing.

Most of the rooms in the Priuli are not actually in the hotel, but scattered around in the adjoining buildings. Our room was directly off the breakfast room. The breakfast room is light and airy and - although the bistro style tables are quite small - the continental syle breakfast was more than adequate.

After our intial concerns, we found the staff very pleasant and attentive. The location is perfect; right on one of the smaller canals with bars and restaurants on the doorstep and less than a 5 minute walk to St Mark's.

We have since recovered the cost of the breakfasts from Expedia, who were most helpful. We have always used them for bookings before, and will continue to do so. Obviously the hotel management don't understand the concept of offering a small percentage of quality rooms at special rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Palazzo Priuli was decent enough. The location is excellent, and the rooms were very nice. The staff was not particularly friendly, or helpful about the city; especially for these prices. I was satisfied, but I felt that I had overpaid by a significant amount; perhaps that is the norm in Venice?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#293 of 385 in Venice
94 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 385 in Venice
995 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#119 of 385 in Venice
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#253 of 385 in Venice
214 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#205 of 385 in Venice
1,051 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Priuli

Property: Palazzo Priuli
Address: Castello 4979/b Fondamenta de l'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Family Hotel in Venice
#137 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Priuli 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing