We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda de La Spada
Ranked #75 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very well located hotel, not for from St.Marco, but in calmer surrounding and very close to Vaporette. We were amazed by extremely helpfull personel. Ourl room and especially the bathroom were beautiful.
Only airco a bit noisy, and difficult to manage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    46
    13
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The view from this hotel is priceless! It is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
We loved the modern design of the rooms, with a spot for everything, and gorgeous bathroom.
Great breakfast, nice staff.
Lots of stairs, didn't bother us.
A little noisy early in the a.m. when breakfast was being prepared.
We couldn't get any restaurant recommendations from the staff except for their own restaurant a short distance away. (:

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooyoung4grandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was small, but very modern and clean. I loved that we could enjoy the views of the Grand Canal from the balcony in the breakfast area. The gondoliers singing as they passed by our room in the canal below was an added bonus... just made it magical! The hotel is conveniently located close to the Vaporetto stop and was easy to find when we arrived... a huge plus! You are walking distance to St. Mark's Square (and everywhere else in Venice), but out of the hustle and bustle. Rooms are on the fourth floor, so there are lots of stairs to climb... good way to work off the pasta and wine:) Hotel staff were nice, but the least helpful of the three hotels we stayed at in terms of recommendations. The only downside was the location of our room, which was directly across from the breakfast room ... we were woken every morning EARLY by the banging of pots and pans and dishes.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 503 and it was super loud in the morning starting around 6:30 when the kitchen sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCindyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there in August 2012. It was a wonderful romantic getaway. The view from the upper lobby on the 4th floor is amazing streching through Canal Grande to Santa Maria della Salute church.
We did not have the room with the balcony but enjoyed the view while having breakfast in the lobby. There are not so many rooms which is great as you don't have a feeling of a hotel.
On 4th floor where all the rooms are was complimentary choice of fruit and cold ice tea with nice looking murano glasses to drink from. Also there is a basket of book, travel advisors, maps which can be taken but of course have to be returned. So if you came without a guide these will come helpfull. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with wide selection of meat, salami, friut, cereals, yogurt, jams, nutella, brioche etc.
The rooms are spacious and clean and we didn't hear any neighbours. There are also free snacks in the room with tea and coffee facility.
The location is 10 minutes walk to San Marco square and waterboat station Griglio is just down the street 2 min walk which takes you back directly to railway station St. Lucia.
We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belochek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is located in an old palazzo. It was restored in a way that kept the essence of the original building, but still created a modern butique hotel in the heart of Venice. Main square of Venice, the St. Mark square is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and all the other major attractions can be easily reached by walk, as well, but there is also a vaporetto stop just in front of the hotel. We had a nice room, very clean and comfortable. We could enjoy the view of Canal Grande even if our room was on the other side of the building as there is a common area with a little french balcony overlooking the Canal. The breakfast was included and it was abundant (at least for us). Staff is very nice and helpful.
Note that there is no elevator and the rooms are on the 4th floor. However there is a little lift which helps with the lagguages so you do not have to carry them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeaTama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Can't believe we managed to find this little gem in Venice. The location is fantastic. Only 50M from the Waterbus stop so there is no nasty carting of luggage through the steps of Venice, and minutes from San Marco Square and its surroundings.

The Hotel is newly renovated and very modern. The standard Rooms are relatively small (but what isn't in Venice) however extremely well designed and functional, so it isn't a problem. Our room had a view of the canals.

Breakfast was included and was a small selection of meats, eggs, fruit and pastries - enough for our needs (particularly for free).

Staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the sights of Venice and were able to suggest some restaurants that were much more enjoyable than the local tourist traps.

The only caution I can offer is that the rooms are located on about the 4th floor of the building, so if you had mobility issues, this might not be suitable.

Otherwise this was a clean, modern Hotel that offered good value for money that I would recommend.

Room Tip: When booking request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j_debruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed April 4-8, 2012. Our stay was a complete delight. The location superb, only a leap to Plaza San Marcos, through beautiful narrow streets and bridges full of incredible gorgeous boutiques, near all major spots and surrounded by beauty all the time. The Sta. Maria del Giglio vaporetto stop at less than 50 mts is excellent, with this reference travellers on arrival will find the hotel with no problem because to find addresses in marvelous Venice is a little complicated. The hotel is clearly a boutique hotel. Exceptionally restored, design and good taste all over it, keeping all the ambiance and essence of a building of the XIV siecle with the comfort of today. Ample bedroom with marvelous views of the Grand Canal, very nice bathroom; spotlesss, the cleaning was super. The absence of elevator was of no importance for us, the staff uses a small elevator as a forklift for the lugagge, so we did not carry anything. Suggestion: if your budget allows, taking a water taxi (EU 110) on arrival and departure is a plus. Locanda De La Spada: recommended 100%.

Room Tip: Rooms with views to Grand Canal, a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#127 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo del Giglio
Palazzo del Giglio
#89 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#19 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda de La Spada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda de La Spada

Property: Locanda de La Spada
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2488 A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda de La Spada 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored home of the 14th century, the Locanda De La Spada overlooks Venice's Grand Canal. The guest house is set on the top floor of Palazzo Contarin-Marin, in the picturesque Campo Santa Maria del Giglio square. The spacious rooms of the Locanda are elegantly furnished in silk, and feature an LCD TV with satellite channels and floors in Terrazzo Veneziano marble or parquet. Some rooms offer a balcony with full views of the canal. A sweet and savoury buffet is served daily for breakfast, and includes pastries. This historic building, with no lift, is just behind the Fenice Theatre, and 400 metres from Saint Mark's Square. A gondola pier and the Santa Maria del Giglio stop of water-bus line 1 are right outside the main door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda de La Spada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing