We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Comfortable Room, Friendly/Helpful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viva Venezia
Ranked #42 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable Room, Friendly/Helpful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Franco is great fun and had us laughing all the time. He was very helpful and approachable.

The room we stayed in was a double bed, really spacious and clean. The bathroom is also clean.

It's about a 10 minute slow walk to St Marks Square and 3 minutes from the Main Train Station.

All in all would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Franco is hilarious! Total prankster. He had my wife hide my shoes within moments of meeting him, then proceeded to mock me for not being able to find my shoes. He came up with nicknames based on our real names and never once called us anything else. He gave us insider tips and directions (almost a necessity in Venice) and generally made us feel so welcome and at home.

Due to a scheduling snafu (the only negative experience) we had the opportunity to experience both locations. Both were very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you'd want and expect from a guest house. Franco actually asked us if we wanted him to get any specific foods for breakfast.

No question we would stay with Franco again if we ever go back to Venezia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

its near the santa lucia train station so we found ourself there by foot on first day reaching venice with the direction given. Its also near the vaporette station where we bought day pass to travel around venice. Just like Venice, the hostel is as nice and clean. Spacious room with Venetian deco, Franco showed us the extra blankets for the cold night. nice big shared bathroom, very clean. i would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneL5116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days around Easter. Arriving late at night (around 11ish), we were pleasantly surprised to find Franco (who runs the place) waiting for us at the corner of one of the small streets to take us to the house. After walking there once, it is very easy to find so no problems there!

The guesthouse is up a flight of stairs and opens onto a small living area with PC. There are three rooms off of this central area and also a kitchen and bathroom. The room itself was basic but perfect for us - a comfortable bed and two large windows providing plenty of light. The kitchen allowed us to cook at home one night which was perfect as well.

Wifi was available and worked without problems. There was also no problem when we asked to leave our luggage on our final day - Franco had a small, lockable room where we could safely store our stuff until we came to pick it up.

The place is a 2 minute walk from the nearest Vaparetto (watertaxi) station, and a 5 minute walk from the train station (also another vaparetto station if you want to take the quicker line to San Marco). But we loved walking through Venice, and it is not a difficult walk to San Marco from the guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed with friends in this guest-house for several days, and we had a great time here! The location was nice, only a short walk from a vaporetto stop along the Grand Canal as well as the main train station in Venice.
The owner, Franco, was very friendly and helpful. He kept some pastries, milk, juice, bread, jam/nutella, cereal, tea, and coffee in the fridge and pantry for breakfast. The house also had some basic oils/spices for cooking, and plenty of dishes, pots/pans, and kitchen utensils. When we arrived, Franco gave us directions to a local grocery store, as well as the fish market and outdoor produce market, so we were able to cook some meals for ourselves.
The room we stayed in had one single bed and one double bed and was very large. Linens and towels were provided and were clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a large modern shower and a bidet. The house also had a computer and wifi access.
This property was a lovely place to stay in Venice, and I would definitely stay here again on future trips to the city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The room is nice and big, the bed is very comfortable, we were there during winter time, and the whole apartment heat up very well. The bathroom is big and clean. You have a nice kitchen, a dinning table, and washing machine. The atmosphere is very Venice and the owner Franco is super nice! We had a great time staying there, it's just 10 minutes walk from the train station!

Also there are 2 restaurants just right at the corner. A supermarket nearby if you like to cook!

Please Notice:
The owner doesn't live there, so please write him emails ahead when you change your arriving time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#119 of 210 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Cannaregio
Veniceluxury
Veniceluxury
#97 of 210 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#251 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'Imbarcadero
#43 of 210 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
San Polo
Haven Hostel San Toma
Haven Hostel San Toma
#49 of 210 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Santa Croce
Rio Marin
Rio Marin
#156 of 210 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Venezia

Property: Viva Venezia
Address: Santa Croce 1149 Ramo Quinto Gallion, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Viva Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing