We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”
Review of Hotel San Giuliano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giuliano
Ranked #346 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel offers good service for the money. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. They even have a bar next to the reception desk. The rooms are very small, but we managed because we only stayed for a couple of days. There isn't much to choose from at the breakfast and the coffee is not as good as italian coffee usually is. The location is fine, there are restaurants nearby and the bus stop to Venice is very close. The buses go frequently.

I probably wouldn't go there again, it was an ok experience. I definately would not recommend to someone with higher standards, you will be dissapointed, as I was.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaterinaPetrankova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We've looked into various budget accommodation in Venice; most of them look dodgy and so we decided to look in Mestre, a town just outside Venice. San Giuliano is value for your money. The reception staff are very helpful and speak english. Rooms are very clean and presentable. Bus stop to Venice is just behind the hotel. Venice is only 15mins away. Bus stop to Mestre train station is right in front of the hotel.

Brekky is good, and is included in the room rate. Also nearby is a mini-mart, a fruit stand, at least 2 restaurants and a tabacchi (news agent).

The only thing I didn't like in this place is that wifi's not free.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boogierobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

“San Giuliano” is not one of the best hotels I’ve been in, but still I would say it’s OK if you plan to visit Venice and you don’t want/can’t stay within the city itself. It’s located in Mestre, but actually the location is very good. It’s near the bus stop – something like two blocks (the busses to Venice are on the next big parallel street “San Marco”). Using bus No 12 you’re just about 4 short stops away from Venice (15-20 mins). The public transport is working 24/7 so it’s quite useful. There is a grocery store near the bus stop (one block away). Also big plus for me (especially in Italy) – the hotel really has a parking and we didn’t have any issues with the parking spots. There is no extra charge for the parking.

The hotel is clean. Don’t expect big rooms – they’re quite small, as well as the bathrooms. Actually taking a shower might be a challenge if you’re not a tiny person. Anyway at the end of the day – you have comfortable bed and a place to take a shower and my guess is that nobody goes to Venice to stay into the hotel room. It can get noisy if your room is facing the street or you’re on lower floors. There was an issue with the air conditioning; it was out of order for two days. During the summer situations like this is not pleasant for sure. The breakfast is very simple – mainly cakes and sweets, I wouldn’t call it typical continental breakfast.

Hotel’s staff is friendly, helpful and is speaking English. They can help you if you need any directions or information. You can buy from the reception a card for the public transport (it’s valid also for the vaporreto-s) which I highly recommend. We bought 72 hour cards for 33 euro each and used them a lot!

To summarize – if you need a hotel on a good price, with a place to park your car safely and enjoy Venice, “San Giuliano” will work for you. Of course do not expect more than a clean, small place to sleep and take a shower.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have stayed in Venice for 3days at the end of November and i found the hotel clean and quiet. the rooms are clean and have nice bathrooms. the breakfast is quite good and its till 10:00. The stuff are very helpful and try to do their best for you. The BAD thing is the internet is not free as compared to the surrounding hotels of the same star and the heating system was not working at all in my room and i was freezing and they couldn't even fix it. the decorations are nice but the hotel is old. the downtown is 10-15minutes walking from the hotel and the old city center of Venice can be reached by taking the bus from station behind the hotel and it will take you like 15minutes to reach there. for the arrival from airport, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel directly so you don't have to walk alot. overall its a nice place to save money and be in the middle position between downtown and Venice island.

Room Tip: room 21 has a very bad A/C unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is in Mestre, near Venice. The location is very good for visiting Venice: the bus station is very close to the hotel, in 10 minutes you are in Venice.
The rooms are big and nice. They also have a parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel isn't exactly in Venice. It's in Mestre nearby Venice. However, it's the best choice 'cause every hotel in Venice is too expensive, no matter the season. The hotel is located near to a bus stop where you can get a ride to Venice (about 15-20 min) and the cost is low (€ 1,20).
The neighborhood is quite and clean as well as the hotel. Although the breakfast is included, maybe you'd rather eat a little more... Good news, there are some grocery stores next to the bus stop so you could get some provisions before arriving to Venice... it's up to you!

By the other hand, this hotel has flaws: There is not elevators, so you must go upstairs carrying with your heavy luggages.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IPERHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Cleanliness & rooms - The hotel is very clean and quiet. The rooms are a good size and are cleaned every day. Towels are changed every day as well. Room decor is outdated but room was very cozy with heating which you can control. Unfortunately there were only 2 electric plugs one for the fridge and one in the bathroom.

Service - Very good. Staff spoke English and were helpful when we asked for information. They also gave us an electrical adapter to use for our whole stay. The breakfast was between 7 and 10 and it was very good and abundant. Everything was freshly made. We checked out early at around 8 am on the last day and went back for the luggages at around 1pm

Location - There is a bus stop just outside the hotel where you can get a bus to Mestre centre and the train station. Behind the hotel there is another bus stop where you can get a bus to Venice Piazzale Roma every 10 mins. Buses are less frequent at night and if you're staying for Carnival it would be ideal to book early and find a central hotel in Venice and not in Mestre, as it will take you about an hour to reach Mestre (get a water bus from Piazza San Marco or Rialto to Piazzale Roma and then a bus to Mestre). On the other hand, Mestre is ideal if you want to do some shopping (H&M, Benetton, Clarks etc) and if you want to travel to other cities such as Verona.

In terms of value, we paid 360 euros for 4 nights for 2 persons. Considering that it was Carnival, it was quite cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#231 of 384 in Venice
80 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#349 of 384 in Venice
329 reviews
Russott Hotel
#341 of 384 in Venice
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 384 in Venice
365 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#208 of 384 in Venice
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giuliano

Address: Via Forte Marghera 193/A, 30172 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $64 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giuliano 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Giuliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing