We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yes, it's that good!! Must-do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mela Verde

La Mela Verde
Ranked #5 of 78 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: My GELATO is made daily with fresh high-quality ingredients like milk, fresh fruit, pistachios from Sicily, Piedmont hazelnuts IGP, vanilla bourbon and the best cocoa blends for a fantastic dark chocolate. Every single product is choose and selected to offer the best high-quality GELATO, this is my prerogative and the secret of my success. Enjoy it ;)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes, it's that good!! Must-do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The gelato here is superb and I'm only sorry we just discovered it on our last night here. I had the amaretto cherry and vanilla flavours and I'm difficult to impress with gelato but this was one of the best I've EVER had! Need I say more? Excellent value too.

We walked from san marco area but It wasn't too difficult to find although I used a map. Look it up before you go on the map so you don't miss it. We've retired for the night but I seriously feel like going back there now for more gelato. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelItAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    165
    58
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sensational...should remain a secret but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

When gelato is that good and inexpensive in Venice, you need to share it with the TA community, especially when we have benefitted from the feedback of others. Although I had bookmarked La Mela Verde as a place for gelato, little dud I realise we would stumble upon it when we did. Do try it for yourself - cup or cone, the price is the same and service is friendly and welcoming. The tiramisu and amarena cherry flavours were outstanding - we're going back tonight for dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In a town with a lot of options, this is a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lemon mint basil gelato. Let that sink in. A crepe coated on the inside with Nutella, rolled into a cone and filled with your favorite flavors. This place was so good we had to stop twice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tnm_vac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Down a little back street but peaceful location to enjoy your gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Managed to find this after seeing it on here, didn't want to leave without having a gelato. We opted for 2 scoops each and it was lovely. Nice that you can sit out by the canal and enjoy a peaceful bit of venice while you enjoy your ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best ice cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

... and I've had a loooooot of ice cream.

The Giotto is almost literally to die for. The hazelnut is extraordinary. They do a crepe thing that is indecently tasty. Just great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mela Verde also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Mela Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing