We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we simply just sit there and enjoy!”

San Giorgio Maggiore
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.64*
and up
Venice Cruise by Luxury Motorboat: Grand Canal and Basilica of San Giorgio...
Ranked #10 of 612 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“we simply just sit there and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

here we just found it randomly because we walk around venice, when we get here we see the beautiful building just right intron of me! so we just sit there and enjoy the view! ah so relaxing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Febri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,961
    786
    112
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The quiet side of Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

San Giorgio Maggiore is located across San Marco and is a great short trip away from the busyness of San Marco. Beautiful church.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringinApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Superb church and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The church, designed by the great Palladio, is, in my humble opinion, a must see in Venice though because of its isolation on its own island at the eastern end of the Giudeca, it is not as often visited as it deserves to be. However it easy of access via the No 2 water bus.
It offers fine art and architecture plus from the campanile, lovely views towards the Doge's Palace and San Marco.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Take the vapouretto to this small island, climb up the campanile and watch the whole of Venice from a different viewpoint. Breathtaking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wonderful place to visit - use the Vaporetto to get across and enjoy a quieter look around one of Venice's bigger Churches. Offers spectacular views of both Venice's amazing architecture as well as the majesty of the canals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Giorgio Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to San Giorgio Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing