We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a favour and stay at Hotel Ala Venice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra , Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and stay at Hotel Ala Venice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon after catching the vaporetto to the stop 50 meters from the hotel. I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and asked if possible for a room with a view, as it was our 25th wedding anniversary and first trip to Venice.
To our surprise we were upgraded to a suite in the hotel on the very top floor and what a beautiful room it was ( I have attached pictures of the suite).The hotel is spotlessly clean and oozes quality, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and I can vouch for the good comments about this hotel on Tripadvisor (they are all true).Breakfast buffet was excellent and had a wide variety of food, possibly the nicest we had on our entire 4 week trip. The hotel itself is in an unbeatable position and close to everything; we asked to make a reservation at the family run restaurant a short walk from the hotel. It sits directly on a canal and as you eat gondolas pass by with singing gondoliers and create the ultimate dining experience, the food and service where excellent. I really couldn't fault this hotel and only wish that we could have stayed longer. I could keep going on and on about how great this place is but I would only be repeating what others have already written .If you want the real Venice experience DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR and stay at the Hotel Ala.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickyboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    820
    190
    47
    29
See reviews for
351
1,152
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

It was our fourth time in Venice: we are in love with the Serenissima since we met there in the '80.
This time we discovered what we consider to be a rare preciousness, an hotel were love for details is breathble everywhere: Hotel Ala. This time we were travelling with our two children. The staff made us feeling home. We already know that there will be a next time and we are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangaroo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

The trip from the train station (came from Florence) to the hotel by boat was easy and worth the trip on the canal. We got off at #13 right before Saint Marks Square and was surprised because when we got off the boat we walked through a small alley way into a square where the hotel was. The hotel was fine and one side of the hotel was on a small canal. We were close to everything but be careful you can lost quickly but again if you carry a map you will find your way. The food was not as good as Florence or Rome and was more $$>
Nothing to buy that is worth while and we tried. Take the same boat back to the airport or there is another boat that only stops 3 or 4 times that leaves starting 3:40am by Saint Marks place. Do not take a private Taxi or it will cost you 100 euros or more.
The hotel was fine and what you would expect in Venice for the price but it was comfortable and clean.

The breakfast was very good
I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

My Wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Ala and found it to be a great hotel in a perfect location in Venice. It is extremely close to the Santa Maria del Giglio vaporetto stop (50 meters) so there was no hauling our luggage around the city.

The location is about a 5 minute walk to San Marco square and we easily walked around from the location to Dorsoduro and San Polo. The rooms are lovely with huge and modern bathrooms. We had a canal view which was great. The hotel was also very quiet and clean and the breakfast had a few more options than others.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

For the third year in succession the "Dutch comitato privato for the safeguarding of Venice " choose Hotel Ala for their annual visit to Venice. We are so well pleased, not only with the excellent location of the hotel but also with the friendliness and expertise of the staff, that we already made a reservation for 2010. The location is at short distance of San Marco and the Accademia as well as the vaporetti stop on the Grand Canal. Hotel Ala can offer many good single rooms which makes it quit attractive for groups. The breakfast is superb with a big variety of food and to top it Hotel Ala has a well provided bar.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel was nicely located - when you got off the vaporetti at Giglio you walked through a narrow alley in to a Campo/Piazza where the hotel is located. Short walk to San Marco square and about 25 minute walk to the Rialto shopping area where you can find a lot of great deals on Murano Glass. The breakfast buffet limited, but a nice luxury to have available. A water taxi can pick you up right off the side of the hotel which was very convenient heading back to the train station. Bringing luggage on the vaporetti can be challenging as the boat/ferry gets crowded. The rooms were clean, but the mattress was nicknamed by my husband and I as "Uncle Fester's torture mattress"! If was very uncomfortable (twins pushed together) with the springs poking us in our backs all night long (and we paid for an upgraded room at 330 euros). Other than the mattress, the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJLMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Silvia - Customer Care at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear Guest thank you for leaving your impressions on TripAdvisor. Sorry that did not appreciate our mattresses: we change them every year but may be their characteristics are not the most fittable for your "habits".
We hold in high regard your comments and appreciate the time that you spent for us.
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We found this hotel after reviewing TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel was great; terrific location (short walk to San Marco Square), nice breakfast, quaint rooms and friendly/helpful staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationBug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Silvia - Customer Care at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
Here the community TripAdvisor has struck again! Thanks to all those who dedicate their time to leave comments and notes about our Hotel Ala: we are happy that your expectations were not disappointed.
We wait for you once more in Venice
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing