We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location , location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #76 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location , location !”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is not your father's Best Western. Only had 1 1/2 days to explore Venice with my daughter and did not want to spend it on vaporettas or getting lost on foot hauling luggage around backstreets looking for a hotel. Hotel Ala is a 5 minute walk to the St. Mark's Square and Basillica and the Doge's Palace next door. All are must see sights in Venice. The hotel is also less than 5 minutes due north from a vaporetta stop which we used from the airport and then to go to the train station. Our room had a fresco on the ceiling, a glass chandelier and a direct view of an interior canal. Plenty of room, nice bathroom, friendly reception staff and an excellent breakfast ! Very nice nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkeith37373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guests, thanks for all your kidn words spent. Our point of view is important to us
Enjoy your great Summer
Silvia - Hotel Ala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    831
    193
    48
    30
See reviews for
359
1,173
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The room was a bit small but who cares when you're in Venice. The location is perfect .Our room had a canal view and we loved watching them go by especially when there was someone singing. We met a few different couples who paid three times as much for their rooms which didn't even have windows. We stayed for 3 days before leaving on a cruise and a water taxi picked us up on the canal in the lobby of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as family during first week of April.booked online.we had a quick check in and reception staff was very warm and checked us into room 496.a very cute and well designed room on the top floor.the problem started when we used the tub.soon the bathroom floor was flooded and we could hardly use it for the next day.we informed the reception and we were asked to move to room 308 .the staff helped with the bags and we settled in there .this room had a view of the canals and the gondolas.a view that anyone would want ! After a full day of site seeing we returned to 308.all tired and waiting for a good sleep.at 2.30 at night we got up with a sharp sound from the bathroom and realised it was from the jaccuzi switch.it was a nonstop sound and we switched off the connection at the entrance of the room.so now there was no power inside the room.next morning before leaving out we informed the reception.on our return they apologised regarding the problem.we were checking out that afternoon.staff was helpless or was it an old problem?few good points to note were the location.very convenient for giglio vaporetto stop,shops,close to San marcs,restaurants etc.rooms are good but not the bathrooms as per our experience.breakfast also good
enough and no complaints.would recommend for location and share our experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank spriters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just arrived back from three nights at hotel Ala with hubby. It is lovely and clean with friendly staff and well placed for all the sights. The bar is also great, again with friendly bar staff. I requested a canal view before I arrived which was granted and we had the welcome noise of the gondolas passing by, music, singing and all. My only gripe is the size of the room which was extremely small and more of a single than double. I wasn't expecting the earth after staying in various other cities across Europe but hubby had to climb over me to get out of bed as it was sideways on to the wall - very annoying and disappointing. We also had to take it in turns to get to the wardrobe :( Advice, try to avoid 347 unless you're travelling alone.
Wifi is for one device only and you have to request a new username and password every 24 hours which is a pain. Oh and shut the windows on a night, we've arrived home sporting several mosquito bites each (our own fault for leaving it open lol)

Room Tip: Not 347 if travelling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBlundell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Small room but as expected. Bathroom is same as the other reviewer described- just a curtain separating sink and shower. 24 hr wifi is one device per room only. (Maybe per guest!?) who travels with one device nowadays..(?!). Front desk was not particularly friendly or helpful... I am hoping the day staff will be different. Here for 7 nights, hope it gets better...

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest, will keep in mind your suggestion for future improvement

regards
andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've just come back from a week long trip to Venice. Having read the reviews, I was prepared for a small room, but when I walked in, it was pretty big. Double bed, mini-bar, wardrobe, couch, desk. I couldn't ask for more! Even better was the fact that the room had a canal view. Every day the gondola's passed the window.
For breakfast, there was wide variety of food and it was served from 7:00-10:45.
The hotel is in an ideal location, very close the the Giglio vaporetto stop and right beside the church Santa Maria della Giglio. It's only a 5 minute walk to St Mark's Square.
If I was coming back to Venice, I'd definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fergus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a lovely sunny weekend in March.
Friendly staff greeted us and kept on greeting at the welcome desk. We had a superior room with a lovely view on the canals and bridges next to the hotel. Enjoyable bed. The hotel location was perfect for our short stay in Venice, we got in everything we wanted without losing time due to the hotel.
Breakfast was good, only the orange juice was too chemical for our taste.

Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 220 is highly recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good morning Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comment we highly appreciated.
Enjoy your Springtime and warm regardss from Venice
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#41 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing