We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is just 5- 10'min walk from st marks square and a few yards from Giglio stop
Safe streets even late at night and early morning
Good breakfast
Room ok - nothing special but perfectly adequate as I was out most of the time
One of our group did have a mosquito infested room - if this occurs ask to move immedialty as she was covered in bites all over her face - In January

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest we deeply thanks you for sharing your experience and will take in high consideration any of your commets.
warm regards
andrea salmaso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    866
    201
    49
    32
See reviews for
394
1,231
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hi once you have worked out how to navigate your way around Venice, you will appreciate the central location of this Hotel, just off the main square (San Marco) also very close to water taxi. 1-2 minutes. Organized us a courtesy trip to the Murano Glass factories... Great breakfasts and very comfortable accommodation...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Ala for six nights in late September 2013. We really enjoyed the location, very close to all the sites and easy to get to when our water taxi dropped us off at the Giglio stop (just walk down the narrow laneway and you are there). We really enjoyed that our room had a small balcony overlooking a canal as we were serenaded by the gondola singers and musicians throughout the day. The front desk staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with dinner reservations. Our room was very clean and well maintained. The room was not overly large, but about what we would expect in the central area of Venice. We were happy to see there was a bathtub but then found it was really too narrow to enjoy, however the shower worked very well. Breakfast was very good, although the service was a tad brusque. We enjoyed drinks in the American Bar several times. We felt Hotel Ala offered us very good value and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the canal allow you to enjoy the sounds of the gondoliers throughout the day, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kskCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience at the Ala!

We hope to welcome you in Venice in other occasions!

Thanks and best regards
Hotel ALA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ala at the end of December. The best qualities about this hotel were the location and breakfast.

The location is really great as it is within easy walking distance of all the major sites you would want to see and can also be reached on the Vaporetto line 1 - Giglio stop. We easily reached the hotel from the train station by walking out of the train station, buying our tickets (7e each) and hopping on the Vaporetto (Lido direction) and then hopping off 30 minutes later at the Giglio stop.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted and brought to our room #112. When we were brought to our room, I was initially nervous about it being noisy as it is literally right off the central steps leading up to the rooms and overlooked a piazza. I asked Ardit, the bell hop, if it was noisy and he said no it wouldn't be. Sadly, the room was very noisy. It was easy to hear people walking up and down the stairs at night. I slept with earplugs instead of asking for another room... Maybe I should have. The room was very small - something we anticipated ahead of time.

Our last morning, we woke up and the electricity was not working in our room. This had not happened before this point. We assumed the entire hotel had lost power. When we opened our door we realized it was just our room. We called down to the front desk and Ardit once again helped us. They could not get our electricity back for roughly 45 minutes and could not figure out why it went out in the first place. Because this was our last morning and we needed to get ready, grab breakfast and then hop on the Vaporetto to catch our train, it was very stressful. Ardit gave us a flashlight to use as the room was pitch black. Packing up and getting ready in the dark never makes for a relaxing final morning. When we checked out, we somewhat assumed that we would be given an apology for the loss of power - or a discount - or something...anything. That not happening was disappointing and speaks a lot about the management of a hotel. An apology would have been appropriate given the circumstances.

On a positive note, the breakfast was great. There is a solid selection and it helps you leave the hotel each day feeling satiated and ready for a full day.

I think the 3 star rating is spot on. The location and breakfast were excellent. The room and management - not so much...

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #112. Noisy, tiny and the power went out for no reason!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelLovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest, we thank you for your review and are sorry for not exceeding your expectation. We will investigate further on what was not working properly in your room. We already talked with Ardit about this concern and hope to solve promptly.
Enjoy 2014. Andrea Salmaso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Weekend away, 2 mins from water taxi, private water taxi £180 return and definitely not worth it. General water taxi £52 return and takes twice as long so you get to see the sights but share with other public.
Hotel very informal, breakfast is lovely, rooms are clean and have fridge with view of canal, very romantic with singing and guitar on gondolas.
Hotel is central to everything. We really enjoyed
Hotel bar is superb and popular. Wine prices very reasonable compared to other.
Don't take suitcase
Would go again.

Room Tip: Get canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COYMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest, we deeply thank for sharing your experience at the Ala.
Enjoy 2014. Cheers.
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEQUESTA, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was a good value for Venice which tends to be expensive. The hotel was well managed, very clean and room was very comfortable. The staff was helpful and attentive. Breakfast was good and you can catch a boat direct to airport. Short walk to St Marks Square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience with the comunity of tripadvisor.
Merry Berry Cherry Christmas and Happy 2014.
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is the fifth time we have stayed at the Ala. The service is excellent, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the location is excellent for many of the main tourist spots.
If you like the same rooms and hotel layout wherever you stay, this is not for you. If you like a truly Italian feel, antique furniture and an excellently run hotel then this is definitely for you. The bathrooms are modern and the beds are very comfortable.The breakfasts are plentiful and served late, good if you had a late night the day before. The bar is small, comfortable and friendly. All staff are extremely courteous and professional and the reception team remember us each time no matter how much time has elapsed between visits.

Room Tip: You can book a room overlooking the canal which is lovely. Be aware that gondolas with music and sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoisLaneDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,844 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,108 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,026 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing