We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As you walk into this oasis of old world Italian charm, you are greeted by friendly staff. The sit down breakfast is include, and our room opened up to a small canal with gondoliers singing. A beautiful place to be

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    866
    201
    49
    32
See reviews for
394
1,231
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good location, close to San Marco square.
Easy access, close to the Vaporto stop. also has a water access so a water taxi can be used.
Nice and convinent rooms, very spaciuos. Rooms has air-condition, which is important in augost.
Very good breakfast.
Wi-Fi available, but with small cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a tough review to write. We spent a week in Italy - Rome, Florence then Venice. At the first two hotels, the was over the top. At Hotel Ala, it was OK. The front desk was professional but not personal. For example, the first night was asked for a restaurant recommendation and the best they came up with was their restaurant. On Sunday they offer free "tours" of a glass blowing factory. Sounded like something fun. When we got there we saw a demonstration of glass bowling and the toured the showroom. Turns out is was a sales pitch. The factory's guide quickly sent us on our way when he realized we weren't going to spend several thousand dollars on a piece of glass.

To sum up, it is a good hotel but doesn't go the extra mile as other hotel's do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeInVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights in August. The hotel is very conveniently located next to a Vaporetto stop called Santa Maria del Giglio (2 minute walk) and also a 10-minute walk from St Mark's square. We had a double room overlooking a canal. It is a very romantic view when the gondolas pass by under the window. The room and bathroom are very clean. Wifi costs 1 euro per day but the signal is excellent in the room and outside. Breakfast is nice but try to catch the buffet early, we went at 10 and almost all the good was finished. All in all, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaledmarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbold Verdon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were lucky to choose this Hotel as we had no idea where it was placed. Reception we received was extremely friendly and to our surprise we had been upgraded to very good and large room. Very near to all places of interest and out to a lovely square,many restaurants near by, only 5 minutes to St. Marks which we visited at night, not so busy.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, have no comparisons though, so cannot advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyNewboldVerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ala for just two nights but we could still see what a great hotel it is. The breakfast was great,with something for everyone. Our room was large in the length and were provided with an ensuite. The location without a doubt was absolutely brilliant and the main point of the hotel. It is just a five minute walk in either direction to reach busy bustling shops or calm peaceful waves. Our room wad fully equipped with air conditioning and all staff were friendly and served with a smile. Thank you hotel ala!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very small w/ no view. The staff at the front desk promised us a room with canal view. What we got was a room back of the hotel where the cleaning lady stores her stuff. We paid $200/night due to the location and reviews and its star rating. The star category is far from the truth be aware this would be a one star in the US. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The front desk staff are dismissive and rude when asked about things to do. No free wifi in the lobby its 1 euro for 24 hours for sub par connection speed. No coffee marker in the room as asvertised

Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie7880
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,844 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,109 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,026 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing