We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #73 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights in August. The hotel is very conveniently located next to a Vaporetto stop called Santa Maria del Giglio (2 minute walk) and also a 10-minute walk from St Mark's square. We had a double room overlooking a canal. It is a very romantic view when the gondolas pass by under the window. The room and bathroom are very clean. Wifi costs 1 euro per day but the signal is excellent in the room and outside. Breakfast is nice but try to catch the buffet early, we went at 10 and almost all the good was finished. All in all, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaledmarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 2,415 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were lucky to choose this Hotel as we had no idea where it was placed. Reception we received was extremely friendly and to our surprise we had been upgraded to very good and large room. Very near to all places of interest and out to a lovely square,many restaurants near by, only 5 minutes to St. Marks which we visited at night, not so busy.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, have no comparisons though, so cannot advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyNewboldVerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ala for just two nights but we could still see what a great hotel it is. The breakfast was great,with something for everyone. Our room was large in the length and were provided with an ensuite. The location without a doubt was absolutely brilliant and the main point of the hotel. It is just a five minute walk in either direction to reach busy bustling shops or calm peaceful waves. Our room wad fully equipped with air conditioning and all staff were friendly and served with a smile. Thank you hotel ala!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very small w/ no view. The staff at the front desk promised us a room with canal view. What we got was a room back of the hotel where the cleaning lady stores her stuff. We paid $200/night due to the location and reviews and its star rating. The star category is far from the truth be aware this would be a one star in the US. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The front desk staff are dismissive and rude when asked about things to do. No free wifi in the lobby its 1 euro for 24 hours for sub par connection speed. No coffee marker in the room as asvertised

2  Thank Traveljunkie7880
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned from Venice, where we stayed for a week at the Hotel Ala. It is a lovely hotel. The rooms are on the small side, but spotless and are very comfortable. The air conditioning was fantastic. Breakfast was inclusive and was buffet style, with fresh fruit daily, as well as a wide array of other choices from eggs to cakes and cheeses. The staff was always pleasant and courteous. It is in an excellent location, only a 10 minute walk to St. Mark's and very near to a vaparetto stop. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre, but with all the walking you do in Venice, no need of these things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnsie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The key thing about the Ala is its location which is great as is close to St Mark's and the Accademia area and crucially, Giglio waterbus station from where you can get the transfer to the airport. The staff were efficient and friendly and had good knowledge of the area. Air conditioning in our room and the hotel was such a lifesaver as Venice was baking hot during our stay. The breakfast was good I thought, although the breakfast area a little cramped for the number of guests in the hotel at the time. What was irritating was that when things like milk and juice ran out the staff had to be asked to replace stuff and did not keep an eye such things. We stayed only the 3 nights and one of considerations when choosing the Ala was interconnecting rooms as we have two young daughters. They were able to meet this requirement with both rooms of a decent size amd standard. Overall I think this hotel is great for a short stay but if we were planning a longer trip I would definitely splash out for a hotel with a pool because Venice is so hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulietteS934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location and the breakfasts are both excellent. However, the room we stayed in during our visit was way too hot and the air conditioning was inadequate.We did complain but there was told there nothing that could be done. For the rate we paid, we expected to have a comfortable stay. Instead, we were hot and sweaty during the night, and I would not go back to this hotel. Additionally, the room included "free Internet." You have to ask the front desk for a code that is only good for 24 hours, and since we were three people, we needed three codes every 24 hours. The front desk implied that we should pay extra in the form of a tip, which made me feel uncomfortable since the rate we agreed to included free Internet service. They do over a "free" boat ride to the Murano Glass Factory but we were told by others not to go since the demo takes only a few minutes and the reminder of the time you are on the island you get pitched to make a purchase much like the time share pitches hotels give.

Room Tip: We were in room 466, which is the top floor. The air conditioning was very poor, which is the reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LoveOFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
786 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#56 of 387 in Venice
1,312 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,933 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#58 Family Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $92 - $899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House with its ideal location, in the middle of the action, just few steps from St. Mark's Square. Easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Leisure UPPER MID-SCALE Hotel, particularly indicated to couples, couples of friends, couples of every gender, single travelers and small family party. Don’t miss an evening toast to our Tarnowska's American Bar where you will meet our Bartender Rey and his awesome Italian-soundy tongue. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing