We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A diamond in the rough and 3 stars isn't enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #81 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“A diamond in the rough and 3 stars isn't enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I took a risk and booked the Hotel Ala after doing a little research online and my wife and I just felt right at home from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We booked the Ala for a couple of days prior to a Transatlantic cruise and afterwards we wished we had arrived days earlier.

We had a very comfortable room with a nice bathroom and a window that overlooked the canal. We enjoyed being serenaded by the Gondoliers as they rowed their passengers by below us! The Ala also had an unbelievable buffet breakfast with too many edible options to list here and the breakfast easily kept us going for a full day of exploring Venice. As for the location; it's in the middle of every tourist point of interest that you could want. The staff were amazing and it has it's own dock that is great if you can afford to hire a ''private boat'' that will take you and your luggage right to the hotel.

The Ala also has internet access for free in the lobby and ''Wi-Fi'' in your room for a nominal fee. If you don't like to take risks on where you rest while on vacation, this is your place. It's not cheap, but it's reasonable for the excellent location, the room and the breakfast. By the way it's literally only five minutes walk to ''St.Mark's Square. We will return to Venice and the Ala will be our choice to stay for an extended visit to this beautiful city in the very near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room with a window overlooking the canal and after your visit you will realize it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgingAquarian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    724
    172
    42
    26
See reviews for
301
987
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Convenient location to St. Mark's Sq and the vaporetto stop St. Maria Giglio, this hotel is perfect if you want the feel of Venice without working too hard. The rooms are not huge, but hey...this is Venice! Everything from rooms and bathrooms to the restaurant - is very clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. Don't miss the breakfast - good choice and very tasty!
WIFI in the room it is a good bonus for this hotel!

Room Tip: The bathroom on standard rooms on the second floor are really small!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dont reserve a delux room, reserve a standard and than on site check what kind of deluxe room they have. I reserved well in advance, told them we are coming for a romantic weekend and want a deluxe room like in the pictures, but got a lousy standard room, well its a delux room in their opinion. Delux means 2 sqm more, eventhough the room is lousy equipped. We did not get close to the delux standard you see on their webpage. The bathroom " luxury" was a joke.
One of the hotels I am not going back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Did the pensione thing in my 20's. Hotel Ala is perfect if you want the feel of Venice without working too hard. Room on a canal with music floating by. Lovely church bells. Great location. Amazing breakfast. Very comfortable room. Bath Italian small, but no water from shower pouring into the room. Staff a little "Venician" stuff. Rae at bar is wonderful. Smart, funny, better wine than in the restaurants and at a better price. Very pleased. WiFi and computer access.

Room Tip: #427. View of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijou554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had noted this hotel on another Venice trip year's ago. Because of it's very convenient location to St. Mark's Sq and the vaporetto stop St. Maria Giglio, I made a mental note to think about booking the next time in Venice. Well, that next time was early Sept 2012. I was surprised there was no elevator--so I had to haul my 2 suitcases up a flight of stairs. The room looked serviceable, but there turned out to be some major flaws:
1) The beds and pillows are foam. With all the up & down walking over the bridges of Venice, a good matress is essential for the back. Asprin came in handy for relieving that middle-of-the night back ache.
2) In my room, the medicine chest was placed directly in front of the loo in this very narrow bathroom. Can you picture what happened? I hit my head. The cut was deep and small, at my hair line. I did not complain at the time, since I found the front desk staff to be fairly disengaged.
3) The inroom hair dryer barely had heat or blowing power. I asked the front desk if they had any loaners and they said, "no, they were concerned about electrical safety."

I was traveling solo as a woman on this trip, so I would end my night at the bar attached to the hotel. That was lovely. Friendly service. Relaxing. Good wifi. A great way to download after a day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlyonelife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect location, only a short walk from water taxi drop-off. A 10 min walk, to San Marco Square with many sidewalk cafes and shops along the way. Our room was on the canal and we enjoyed the evening parade of gondolas and being serenaded by the vocalists. Comfortable beds and lovely linens. Modernized bathrooms equipped with hairdryers. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Housekeeping did a very nice job. The front desk will arrange your return water taxi service to the airport. We will definitely return to Hotel Ala.

Room Tip: One section of the hotel was equipped with an elevator... We wish we had known that prior to arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Picked this hotel for its location, and ratings, however the rooms we got let it down. Asked for triples and got a small dark and dingy double with a small sofa bed, not very comfortable for my 17 year old son! Also requested for rooms with views and got rooms facing a massive building in a very dark and busy alley way, you could not even see daylight. The ally is very busy, in the morning it is used by locals to reach the near by vaporetto stop and hotel staff have the service entrance so you can imagine how many people and doors slams you can hear in the early hours of the morning! Shame cause there is no car noise in Venice but this spoilt it!

Room Tip: Reject rooms facing the alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#54 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo del Giglio
Palazzo del Giglio
#82 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing