We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing room experience, great bar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing room experience, great bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had noted this hotel on another Venice trip year's ago. Because of it's very convenient location to St. Mark's Sq and the vaporetto stop St. Maria Giglio, I made a mental note to think about booking the next time in Venice. Well, that next time was early Sept 2012. I was surprised there was no elevator--so I had to haul my 2 suitcases up a flight of stairs. The room looked serviceable, but there turned out to be some major flaws:
1) The beds and pillows are foam. With all the up & down walking over the bridges of Venice, a good matress is essential for the back. Asprin came in handy for relieving that middle-of-the night back ache.
2) In my room, the medicine chest was placed directly in front of the loo in this very narrow bathroom. Can you picture what happened? I hit my head. The cut was deep and small, at my hair line. I did not complain at the time, since I found the front desk staff to be fairly disengaged.
3) The inroom hair dryer barely had heat or blowing power. I asked the front desk if they had any loaners and they said, "no, they were concerned about electrical safety."

I was traveling solo as a woman on this trip, so I would end my night at the bar attached to the hotel. That was lovely. Friendly service. Relaxing. Good wifi. A great way to download after a day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlyonelife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    801
    187
    46
    28
See reviews for
340
1,120
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect location, only a short walk from water taxi drop-off. A 10 min walk, to San Marco Square with many sidewalk cafes and shops along the way. Our room was on the canal and we enjoyed the evening parade of gondolas and being serenaded by the vocalists. Comfortable beds and lovely linens. Modernized bathrooms equipped with hairdryers. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Housekeeping did a very nice job. The front desk will arrange your return water taxi service to the airport. We will definitely return to Hotel Ala.

Room Tip: One section of the hotel was equipped with an elevator... We wish we had known that prior to arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Picked this hotel for its location, and ratings, however the rooms we got let it down. Asked for triples and got a small dark and dingy double with a small sofa bed, not very comfortable for my 17 year old son! Also requested for rooms with views and got rooms facing a massive building in a very dark and busy alley way, you could not even see daylight. The ally is very busy, in the morning it is used by locals to reach the near by vaporetto stop and hotel staff have the service entrance so you can imagine how many people and doors slams you can hear in the early hours of the morning! Shame cause there is no car noise in Venice but this spoilt it!

Room Tip: Reject rooms facing the alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel has the best of both worlds: modern amenities coupled with the granduer of Venice's august past. It is clean, comfortable, and has some rooms with access to canals--there is nothing better than hearing a gondola singer and getting to watch the boat go by. The staff is highly professional yet friendly and helpful. The location is great--just a short walk to Saint Mark's square, with lots of shops and lunch spots along the way. The included breakfast was more than ample and nicely served. The "American" bar on the first floor made for some very comfortable and enjoyable evenings. Venice is a magical place, and the Hotel Ala has everything the modern travelor could want or need for a simply wonderful stay in Venice.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a canal view. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A five night break in October. Hotel Ala provided everything we wanted - friendly, courteous and helpful staff, room cleaned every time we left it, excellent breakfast with good service and a great location which was easy to find with vaperetto linea 1 almost on the doorstep.
We had a room overlooking the canal and were frequently serenaded by passing gondoliers. The Hotel was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast staff seemed surprised when we said good morning and thank you - come on visitors - speak to people as you go it makes everyone's experience more enjoyable - even yours.
A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in the2008 and had no hesitation in booking for our return trip. Perfect location, quaint rooms (I like the fact it is an adventure to get to them) and have always found the staff on the front desk to be helpful and extremely patient at our poor attempts at Italian. Great bar downstairs too.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers for a room with view of side canal and be serenaded by the gondoliers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Ala Hotel four days in October. It exceeded our expectations for a 3 star hotel. It has a very good front desk staff. Ala's location was two minutes walk to the water taxi stop, ten minutes to St. Marks square. The room we had #275 was large, well appointed and very quiet overlooking the canal. The hotel has a bar and very good breakfast buffet. Actually the hotel was memorable where the rest of Venice is a tourist trap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side..it will be quieter except for an occasional gondolier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing