We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Nearby Hotels
$368
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$336
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$381
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
$205
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$318
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$352
$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,321
$1,186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,529)
Filter reviews
2,529 results
Traveler rating
1,263
960
218
52
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,263
960
218
52
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican bargiglio stopgreat locationsanta maria del gigliowater taximark's squareshort walksinging gondolierssmall canalgrand canalorange linecanal viewrooftop terracequiet squaregondolas passinghotel barpastries
Filter
Updating list...
1,123 - 1,128 of 2,529 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location within an easy 50m walk from the Giglio vaparetto stop. If you arrive by water taxi, the hotel has an entry right on the small canal behind the hotel. We had booked two deluxe rooms but as we arrived late (7pm) , we were frst given two superior rooms and after complaining the reception staff insisted that they were deluxe rooms.. but luckily before we unpacked, they "found" one deluxe room so one of us could move.The next day, they gave us our second deluxe room and the management sent us a bottle of prosecco. There is definate difference in deluxe rooms and superior rooms so be aware when you check in, if you have paid for a deluxe room. We had deluxe rooms 301 and 314, both facing the square. They were both nice size double rooms with classic antique furnishings. The only problem with the rooms was the limited storage space for clothing (no drawer space as drawer stuffed with extra pillows) . The hotel has a very nice breakfast room and the continental breakfast buffet was very good. It included everything from scrambeled eggs to cerealsa and cold cuts etc.. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful after they the resolved room problem. The location of the hotel is also superb for La Fenice opera house. An easy 5 minute stroll. Considering the hotel prices in Venice, this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe room and make sure you get one
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explore-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After the Academia priced themselves out of our market, we decided this is the place to stay in Venice at a reasonable price. It is well located, just off the path between San Marco and the path to the Accademia bridge. Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony (which overlooks the adjacent canal). A lot of the shops to visit are along the street back to San Marco. We really recommend the shop directly across from the hotel for a good selection of reasonable glass or if you really want some really nice glasses try the Morretti (serious designs, no trips to the islands) shop about ½ back to the way to San Marco. Back to the Ana, it is a nice pleasant place to stay, nice staff, and they will arrange for a watertaxi to pick you up at the hotel to take you to your final destination. Some water taxis from the airport will also drop you off at their door, others at the vaporettio stop. The breakfast is hectic, the lounge is great place for a drink (assuming you have already visited Harry's) after walking around all day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we stayed here for only one night in Sept of 2012 but wish i could have been more. the location is perfect, not far once you get off the water taxi. easy walking distance. we had a view of the canal right out our window. the staff is wonderful and very helpful. the breakfast was very good. we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice!

Room Tip: we stayed in a corner room. great view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieR456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We picked this hotel for location, especially on arrival after a long flight. And, it was easy to get to (their directions) via the Alilaguna to St. Marks and then the Water Taxi (2 stops). After that, you just walk through the alley to the square & there's the hotel.

That being said, it is not cheap, the rooms are small-ish, but it is clean, and quiet. Venice is quite expensive compared to the rest of Italy (and we have been there!), but it is unique and who knows how long it wil be there!

The staff was very available to any kind of questions and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seetheworldb4Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here October 2012. The rooms are tiny, and the bathroom a tiny square with a curtain over the floor! The rooms are so noisy, you can hear everything outside, and in next rooms.
The breakfast is average, but good luck getting a table.
I would never stay here again. Been away 6 weeks, and this is the worst hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews