We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #76 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and truly had a memorable and wonderful time. Our room was on the canal side which I would highly recommend. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range to choose from - definitely the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in. The hotel is located very close to all sights and couldn't have been better. We used the vaporettas a lot (the Giglio stop is right beside the hotel). Even used the vaporetta when we arrived in Venice after a 9-hour overnite flight from Toronto - it was was efficient and dropped us right by the hotel (we had 4-day passes which we bought on line - something like 23 Euros each).

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingorla049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Customer care at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests, thanks for time spent to leave your impressions through this big travellers community as Tripadvisor is.
Happy you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to welcome you in Venice, once again.
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    866
    201
    49
    33
See reviews for
395
1,231
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ala for 2 nights in September. The hotel was clean and our room and bathroom were decently sized. For travelers arriving from the Venice airport, I would strongly suggest a water taxi ride to the hotel over the public transportation service, Alilaguna. While more expensive, the water taxi drops you off right at the hotel's front door. You literally step off of the boat and into the hotel. The Alilaguna is slow, crowded, and makes multiple stops before arriving at the stop closest to the hotel located near St. Mark's square. This small splurge is well worth it, as my husband and I spent a frustrating hour on the Alilaguna before jumping off early and securing a water taxi for the rest of the journey to the hotel. If you have problems with motion sickness, you will not enjoy an Alilaguna ride.

Our room overlooked the canal, and it was enjoyable to hear the gondoliers singing as they rowed past. The room also had the added charm of a nice glass chandelier, which I assume was locally made. Hotel Ala is near many sites and restaurants, and it was nice to have a bar on-site for an after-dinner drink. The bartenders were very friendly and provided excellent service. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ala and wouldn't hesitate to re-book on a future trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pghproud412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, customer care at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Buongiorno Dear Guests,
We deeply thank you for all your kind words: we'll share your comments with all other Guys at Ala.
Your point of view is very important to us: we are trying growing professionally day by day to better understand Guests needs.
Hoping to welcome you once again in Venice,
Silvia, Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predazzo, Veneto, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a single room, which reminded me of an interior ship cabin but with a window. At first I was dismayed with its size, but it was actually quite comfortable and efficient. Window opened to the courtyard which I loved.

Front desk staff was wonderful to me. Breakfast was I impressive. Many choices, but average in taste. Buffet serving space is small with the number of guests here.

I walked all over the city from here, and it was great. Loved the location and it was easy to find after my wanderings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

First, we were able to take the water taxi right up to the hotel- which was great so we didn't have to drag luggage around at all. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were spacious for Europe. Our room overlooked the courtyard- which we really enjoyed, The concierges were very helpful and friendly. We were about a 10-minute walk from San Marco Square- so we would stroll there at night for the beautiful views. There were dozens of places to eat and small shops right around the hotel- which made everything convenient- and the Vaporetto stop was right alongside the hotel as well. All in all- I'd highly recommend Hotel Ala for your stay in Venice.

Room Tip: If you can- try for a room on 1st floor near the steps- easy access for going in and out. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful room, clean. Breakfast was very good. The staff not too nice, but it dindn't make a difference. Not Internet. It was quite, we got the attic with cute windows on the roof . It has a litlle terrace on the roof with a nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Venice Hotel was nice, we had a canal view. Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the front desk staff. They were simply horrible and for just stupid little stuff. For example, we booked through Priceline, which included internet. We had to show them the paper that internet was included. I had to ask for a new pass code daily and of course we were still charged for internet. I will say again that the hotel is very nice, but the front desk staff is just simply rude. I'm sure that they get tired of tourist, but Venice needs tourism to survive. We noticed that they treated most of the guest about the same… kind of #$@#$. My suggestion is to find another line of work if you don’t like want you are doing.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestgameondirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went for a 4 day holyday in Venice and we booked this hotel quite ahead (5 months ahed!). That way we got a nice price attending to prices in San Marco. However, we have been given an awful room (not even 1 star worthy...) with a window facing a wall of another building and therefore with a very bad smell, because air wouldn't circulate. We paid 200 euros per night, I'm sure for the price we could get a bettewr room! Even if it is a standard room!
The hotel is very cozy and very well located, near San Mark's square, Rialto bridge... you can walk practically everywhere. It has also a private Pier where you can catch the vaporetto or the water taxi to the airport. Breakfast is also great, with a wide variety of bread, cheese, pies, fruit... everything tasty.
Staff in reception are a bit snobish!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,845 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,110 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#70 of 385 in Venice
1,507 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing