We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Leon Bianco
Ranked #201 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We started our Honeymoon in Venice, and stayed here at the Locanda Leon Bianco (white lion inn) for 3 nights. Initially, we were planning to stay at the Hotel Rialto, but they didnt have any canal front rooms available at booking time. We were able to get a canal front junior suite, which was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was brought on a tray to our room every morning - excellent apricot-filled croissants, juice and some other breads and fruit spreads.

Waking up every morning to the view of the hustle and bustle of the canal was amazing. At first, I was worried we would be too far from everything, but once we got out and explored, I found we were in the heart of it all! Shops, restaurants, bars all within a 5 minute walk, the Rialto bridge an ca d oro equally closeby, easy access to the water taxi, etc.

The room itself was big and spacious, and has the standard amenities, plus free wifi access. The first picture in the professional photos above was he room we stayed in, Room 4, probably the best view of them all, as it is a corner, canal front room that has full body windows. The bathroom looks recently renovated, while the main room had an older feel, but comfortable. If you're a hotel snob, you might be disappointed for the lack of lavish features, but for canal front at 450 euros for 3 nights, this place cannot be beat! The only thing that was a little odd for us, which seems to be normal in Italy, is that double bed really means double bed - its 2 smaller beds attached together by the sheets. :)

We absolutely loved Venice, and the Locanda Leon Bianco helped make it a magical experience. If you've heard stories or rumors about the smell of the canal, I can tell you that it was never an issue in our room, even with windows open, day or night. (We found Florence to stink a lot worse!)

We will definitely be back to Venice, and definitely will be back to the Locando Leon Bianco!
Randy & Juli Wilson

Room Tip: Room 4 is the junior suite on the corner, 3 windows, pictured in the pro photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bardicverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    149
    46
    15
    22
See reviews for
80
255
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel provided a great base for our first visit to Venice in June. We were very pleased with the location and we were able to find it easily with the directions provided by the hotel via email in advance. The room was very big and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was a little disappointing but it was nice to be brought to our room at the time we requested every morning. Overall, a very nice stay and would recommend Locando Leon Bianco.

Room Tip: As others have said, try to request a Canal View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelandDom637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we found the hotel quite easily when we followed the directions the hotel sent us when we booked which, as we had been to venice twice before were very welcome as we know how hard it can be to find anywhere in venice!! when we arrived we weren't surprised as some people are that the hotel is down a little ally and up some stairs (most hotels start on the first floor in venice as the ground floor floods regularly in winter) the guy behind the desk was very pleasant and helpful we were a bit disappointed that we didn't get a room with a balcony on the canal but we knew it wasn't guaranteed, the room was quite big, it was a little sparse but had a fridge,free safe and a nice clean bathroom and good air con, the man at the desk informed us that the staff left around 3-4pm everyday and i know some people have complained about this on trip advisor but we didn't really find this a problem, the breakfast is standard italian fayre served in your room at a time of your choosing, the location of the hotel was perfect for us as we really like the canneregio area of venice, the room was quiet at night even tho it was near the grande canal, i would stop here again but only if i could be guaranteed a room on the grand canal. overall a nice stay with no major complaints at all.

Room Tip: try to make sure of a room on the canal if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Upon booking the reservation, Stefano-the owner, immediately emailed to firm up our travel details and arrival. His attention to our needs was first rate. Make certain to communicate with the hotel about your arrival. I almost want to liken this to staying at a bed-and-breakfast, insomuch that is the way the staff treats your stay.

We stayed in a large apartment. It was very comfortable and spacious. Wifi was available at the reception area. Breakfast was simple but personally served at the time of our request. Check out worked very quickly. As others have pointed out, this hotel is well located to many attractions. We felt for the space we had with two adults and two grown sons, that the price was very budget friendly. There is no lift/elevator, and one does need to climb stairs to get to the hotel proper. Not a problem for our family, but worth noting if that's an issue for others. We would book again if we ever get to return to Venezia. Grazie di tutto, Stefano!

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the Grande Canal...other rooms may be isolated to side canal views-or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Locanda Leon Bianco for two nights in Venice and had a fabulous time. It was right off the Ca D'Oro water taxi stop and convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Stefan was super nice and accommodating. He showed us a map of where everything was located, and answered any questions that came up and brought a delicious breakfast to our room every morning. Croissants! Yum! The WiFi worked great, and the bathroom was very clean. It overlooked a canal which was a neat feature as well.

The hotel itself is not easy to find -- it's on a side street and doesn't look like a hotel from the outside, but inside it was just what we needed. I would tell anyone going to Venice to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga,Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect. We arrived at eleven at night and the entrance to the hotel was dark and lonesome. We were expected,,so after ringing the bell, we were let in, climbed the three sets of stairs and were met at reception by the front desk attendant.. Our room was a gift from the owner(or so we were told).
The set up of the room was nice, spacious, and we had a view of the canal (although there was scaffolding on the right side of the window) it was pleasant to have coffee overlooking the Grand Canal. The only thing is that there was no television or radio. so it is very quiet and serene,BUT luckily we spent so much time sightseeing by the time we returned we were tired and ready to sleep.
All-inall the hotel wasn't bad and the location was amazing. Once you get of the waterbus at Ca d' Oro.and reach Strada Nuova the hotel is not even ten minutes away,On Strada Nuova there are a variety of shops, a McDonalds,plenty of coffee shops , we even found a grocery store.You are also close to the Rialto Bridge.which is a must see. Personally, I would stay at this hotel again specifically because of the location.
The only suggestion that I would make is install a television in the lobby (at least) if you can't supply one in each room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank madfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I must say that our stay was probably coloured by the by the fact that our night in this hotel followed a twelve night cruise . The room cost euro 150 and even by Venetian standards I thought that this was expensive for a very basic room at the side of the building so no views to soften the blow of a large, dim room. Basic furniture and a bed which I found uncomfortable . There was a fridge which worked but was actually warm. A floor standing air conditioner which was very efficient but was extremely noisey so was useless at night. The windows had to be kept shut to keep out the Mosquitos. The owner supplied the rooms with a plug in to help combat the nuisance. There was blood on the walls from earlier Mozzie kills!!!
The building is fifteenth Century and is in the process of being renovated. The rooms are up three flights of steep stone stairs and the owner kindly helped to carry up some of our suitcases. The hotel is down in the corner of a courtyard down a scruffy alleyway and is not easy to find. Luckily as we had arrived in Venice the day before we found the way to the hotel before we trundled our cases there.this was our seventh stay in Venice and I would not recommend the hotel to my friends.
Breakfast is served in your room and is adequate. The bathroom was good.

Room Tip: Perhaps go for a grand canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#93 of 385 in Venice
1,082 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#62 of 385 in Venice
1,058 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
#128 of 385 in Venice
776 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Leon Bianco

Property: Locanda Leon Bianco
Address: Corte Leon Bianco 5629, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Venice
#156 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda Leon Bianco 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Leon Bianco Venice
Locanda Leon Bianco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing