We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for "la familia"”
Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Marconi
Ranked #188 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I went to Venice for 2 days, this hotel was located very well.We were 4 people in one medium sized room. The bathroom was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.If u don't want a hot room, the air conditioning works very well!The staff was very nice. Breakfast is good(ok for picky people).

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank sophiab113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marconi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 658 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here on a family holiday for 4 nights. Overall hotel was very clean and staff very polite. Had a triple room which was quite tight for 3 adults but then again its only somewhere to rest your head at night. Bathroom was spacious and noise level was minimal despite central location. Self regulating air con was in the room which was great for the intense humidity!. Good range of all you can eat continental breakfast foods to set you up for the day. The location of the hotel is its crowning glory, right on the Grand Canal beside Rialto Bridge. It could not be better with an array of shops and restaurants, gondolas and the water bus system right outside the hotel. Also within walking distance of St. Marks Square. I would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehead100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very nice quaint hotel right on the Grand Canal and very close to the Ponte Rialto and very central to the tourist areas like Piazza San Marco. Clean rooms serviced daily and an eat as much as you like buffet breakfast. The hotel staff were always polite and very helpful and spoke English. Otherwise no complaints except that we unfortunately had a room overlooking a side passage/walkway along which was the kitchen and store rooms to a waterfront restaurant. The restaurant staff were very noisy from early morning till late at night which disturbed us somewhat. There was the general crashing and banging of metal kitchen utensils, boxes being thrown down noisily, the trundling of trollies and the restaurant staff shouting to each other the whole time. Recommended provided a room at the rear, the right hand side or maybe even the front is selected.

Room Tip: I would imagine a room at the rear, the right hand side or maybe even the front would be quieter tha...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAH1975_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Venice is somewhere I have always dreamed of visiting. The reality was even better than I had hoped. A massively popular city, there seemed to be people everywhere at all times of the day and night. Despite the crowds though it is possible to find a quiet place to enjoy the romanticism of your surroundings. The Hotel Marconi is ideally located on the Grand Canal next to the Rialto bridge. An ideal place to stay with great staff only too willing to help. WiFi in our room was ok but not reliable enough. Works great in the lobby though and the staff are happy to print emails or tour tickets you have booked online. The Hotel does not have a lift but it's only a couple of flights of stairs and with all the walking we have done on our holiday so far, it a piece of cake.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower levels if you don't like climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Four of us stayed here the end of May. The location near the Rialto bridge simply could not be better. There are restaurants and gondolas right in front on the hotel on the Grand Canal. When we landed in Venice three of the four people did not receive their luggage. The hotel was kind about contacting the Venice airport trying to assist us in tracking the luggage. They were also very kind in that they located fans for both rooms upon request. The breakfast area and quality of selection was quite good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Love this hotel. No elevator would be the only negative, and it didn't matter!!
The location is 5 star...the cafe right in front sits on the canal and is lovely. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was included and was good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Marconi Hotel is a 3* hotel located right in the middle of Venice and just by the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal.

It is also ideally located if you travel from and to the airport via the Alilaguna boat-taxi (which I recommend) as you alight just opposite the hotel and have a 5mn walk via the Rialto Bridge.

This is absolutely brilliant!

The outside of the hotel is not really attractive as it looks a bit run down, as do so many buildings in Venice because of the humidity linked to the water.

You realize that the inside is absolutely fine when you push the door to the reception hall that is decorated in a very dark, obsolete and baroque style.
It is in fact quite attractive as it fits perfectly with the city.

The hotel’s common areas and rooms have all this obsolete style that gives them a lot of charm and character.
The rooms are of excellent standard and the bathroom not brand new but fairly recent, with new style appliances and tiles.

The whole hotel is immaculately clean.

As I had booked a package and therefore got a special rate, we were placed in a room that was not too far from the kitchen.
This means that it was a bit noisy as we could hear the staff getting the breakfast room ready early in the morning (not their fault, just the location of the room!)
This was not too much of a disturbance though as we set off early but it might be for other customers.

It also seems as if none of the rooms have view over the Grand Canal but on the lanes running on both sides of the hotel.
You therefore don’t have any view but the positive aspect of it is that you don’t have the noise from the traffic on the canal.

The entire hotel though was a bit noisy because of the age of the building and therefore the lack of modern sound insulation.
But I guess we could consider this as an extra charm!

The buffet breakfast is ok and good value for money and proposes a wide selection of food ranging from bread, croissants, fruits, cooked eggs, bacon and sausages, juices, coffee various teas etc…

I didn’t see any restaurant in the hotel but the restaurant located next door might be part of it (no idea just guessing).

The serving staff (mostly of Asian origin) is friendly.

The reception staff members (Italians) are professional but are certainly not going out their way to assist you or smile!
Someone told me that it is a common issue in Italy and I have to say that I could easily believe it: they make very obvious that you are neither Italian nor Venetian!
They are a bit abrupt and short when talking.
In fact they don’t really make you feel welcome in their city.

The only smile we got was from the night receptionist - he must have been very tired! ;)

The fact that the hotel was perfectly located in town and easily reached made us overlook this lack of warmth as we spent so little time in the hotel!

As a conclusion I would recommend the hotel if you don’t mind having to deal with ‘unfriendly’ staff and old fashion style equipment essentially because of its fantastic location and good value for money.

Would I go back there when returning to Venice? On a 2-day trip as we just did yes, on a longer stay may be not!

Room Tip: Most rooms (if not all) are facing the lanes running along side the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#193 of 384 in Venice
656 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#156 of 384 in Venice
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#210 of 384 in Venice
376 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 384 in Venice
2,158 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#114 of 384 in Venice
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Address: San Polo 729 | Fondamenta del Vin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $136 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing