We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice during off season”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marconi
Ranked #178 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice during off season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here in January, the location is great, you can see the hotel from the Rialto bridge. The rooms are typical to Europe, efficient but clean with Venetian decor. Nice breakfast with warm rolls, cheeses, meats and an assortment of cereals and freshly scrambled eggs. There are 2 rooms that are located past the breakfast room and on the ground floor. Not sure how noisy they would be "in season" but during our visit I could hear the morning deliveries and the staff preparing for the start of the day. The laundry room is located in this area as well, great to see staff ironing the sheets and spreads. The bathroom of room # 2 is located at the head of the bed in room #1 so not good for light sleepers. Do not follow the Google directions, get off at the # 2 Rialto Bridge stop, as you are crossing the bridge you will be able to see the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJZ_pals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    267
    111
    38
    57
See reviews for
170
265
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the 2nd time staying at this hotel - great location, friendly and helpful staff on reception.
The rooms are basic and small but are clean and warm and who's in their rooms for long in Venice. Shower rooms are nice clean warm and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is good typical continental which you would expect.

Down side the wi-fi was quite expensive - I think 5 euros for 30 mins but apart from this I had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can I say but ... Wow!

But when we were taking the water taxi in and saw the Hotel my first thought was "hmmm, I hope we get a room with a view, or else this will be disappointing. We made it to the Hotel before the check-in time so the clerk held our luggage while we went for a bite to eat. We came back after a quick lunch and our room was ready. We stayed at the Hotel Marconi for three nights in room 102. A beautiful little room with its own single private balcony overlooking the canal and the Rialto Bridge. Absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed our room so much. We stayed in until 2 pm the first two days enjoying the views, while sipping on some good Italian wine on the balcony. At night we roamed the streets, finding all the stores and restaurants open and alive! Found a great wine and cheese store and created a picnic in one of the piazza's on our last full day there.
A great staff and a great location in my book!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've paid 480 Euros for 3 nights, to get their special Executive Rialto Dream room, but when i arrived i found the room is very small & even no space for our bags, i tried to shift to the next room 101, which is similar in rate to mine as per their rates on the wep site, but the ugly young lady in the reception said i've to pay extra 30 euros per night to shift!!!!
They've no lift & nobody to help for transferring the baggage....they're some thieves taking lot of money & giving you peanuts....it is not recommended, & it would be better to go for Rialto hotel on the other side of the canal...it is more cheap & close to the water boat stop...you don't need to take those 102 steps with your bags.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ASaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Venice
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Pros: location, reasonable buffet b'fast, courteous staff.
Cons: wifi against payt, wafer-thin walls (heard next door couple quarreling and love making as if they were in our room! Embarrassing when with kids), staff unable to make pay-tv service work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank SPSP234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYTHAM STANNES
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to Venice from Sunday 2ND Dec to Tues 4TH Dec, only a short break but it was different stayed at the Hotel Marconi, it was an old fashioned Hotel, the reception personnel were very polite and helped you a lot, the rooms were ok but need updating, twin beds, nice bathroom but there was a step just as you entered and a slope into the main, so if you forgot about these you would end up diving onto your bed, the mirror in the room was old fashioned and was black with wear you could not see yourself in it, there was a terrible smell when you entered the hotel and also when you walked up to the first floor just like rotten eggs the staff must be used to this as they did not mention it at all, the breakfast was continental very basic but ok.

Room Tip: don't stay in rooms 106 107 or 108 as on this floor the smell is unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just stayed there last two nights...the room was simple, clean, but the bathroom! Loved the nice touch of heated floors and heated towel rack. Can't complain about the location either. Room 111 was good, with two windows and thermostat. Venice is magical; it's hard to have an unpleasant experience. Oh, they have really hefty, delicious, self-serve breakfast -- not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#196 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#124 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#206 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Locanda Leon Bianco
#205 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#153 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Property: Hotel Marconi
Address: San Polo 729 | Fondamenta del Vin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing