We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location uncomfortable room and bathroom”
Review of Locanda Silva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda Silva
Ranked #130 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location uncomfortable room and bathroom”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location of this place it's really good , your in the center and near the action of Venice , just steps from San Mark square but the room it's depressing , dirty , dark, sad , the bathroom which you have to share it's more depressing than the room .... But location it's wonderful hands down and prizes are good considering your in Venize

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    153
    99
    23
    13
See reviews for
66
162
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my husband expecting a very basic but clean room. When we checked in we found a room that looked worn and uncomfortable. Very dim lighting. Hard lumpy mattress. The kind of bathroom you would expect to find on a boat or a plane. Stains on the floor of the shower. Linoleum floors that looked stained with age, if not current dirt. No fridge, no TV. WiFi only if you paid for it. No air conditioning which we could handled except for the window shutters had no stays, so they would constantly bang shut. All night we were woken up by shutters banging and the sounds of people in the next room or people walking along the canal (and we were on the 4th floor). Since we had the windows open due to stifling heat we also had mosquitoes buzzing around our heads all night. The lobby and some of the common areas seemed to have been redone more recently so maybe some of the other rooms are nicer. But we were miserable. The staff was nice. When we checked out early (after the first night) they were very concerned about why we wanted to leave and were decent enough not to charge us for early check out. The hotel is in a great location, close to a lot of tourist attractions. Most hotels in Venice are much more expensive so if cost if a factor this may be ok for you. One other weird thing is they want you to leave your key at the front desk when you go out. We ended up switching to a hotel on Murano which is an island less filled with tourists and still has the beauty of Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everchase182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fine location - in the center of Venice. To San Marko Square you will go only three minutes. To a stop vaporetto - 5 minutes. Set of restaurants and trattorias nearby, for example on the area near church Santa Maria Formoza.
Rooms are a little shabby, but everything is very clean, towels is ideal, and beds is convenient.
Lets you close windows and turn on the conditioner - so you will escape from mosquitoes.
Wi-Fi is not include (3 euros for an hour), but on the second floor is the computer which guests can use.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sola248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 and the hotel was OK. Although expensive (paid about $165 USD a night), what you're paying for is the location really. Got completely lost when we got to Venice trying to locate the small hotel, but when we found it, it was easy to remember its location. Room had no toilet paper upon arrival, and towels were not replaced with clean ones the following day. We did have a good view of the canal, and the hotel is quiet too. Internet is expensive, but when you buy the 24 hour, it's not continuous, so that's a good thing (timing counts upon log-in and log-off). Restrooms (in the rooms) are quite small, and there is no iron, they'll "show" you to the ironing room after 9am only. You must leave the room key when you leave, which can be both a good and bad thing, but since it's a big heavy key, it's better that you leave it, although they close at 11pm or so. Overall, good hotel but will likely choose another next time even if I pay extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Serviceable. I'd say we stayed here because it was "cheap," but nothing is cheap in Venice . . . it was just less expensive than other hotels, and seemed ideally located. Breakfast is fine -- was nice to have that included -- and this place is indeed right where you want to be, close to San Marco and an easy stroll to the Rialto Bridge.

It's pretty lame that they don't have wi-fi for guests (or, they do actually have it, but they charge you a ridiculous fee to use it and we were unwilling to pay). But overall, this worked fine for our three days in Venice, and if you keep your expectations low this is a clean, decent option that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MplsSEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. While it is not the place if you want five-star luxury, it is ideal if you want somewhere clean, cheap and ideally located. Rooms are basic with good air con and the breakfast is tasty and plentiful. The location is great but we found it very difficult to find in Venice's streets so it is worth having a map well-prepared. The canal outside is beautiful and it is very close to St. Mark's square. Worth it if you want something cheap and no frills.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a 2 week travelling adventure through Europe. Location was ideal right beside St Marjs Square which is sign posted from the train station. Hotel was clean and basic and air con availabke in rooms. Bathrooms were shared which we had no oroblem with. Enjoyed Venice, woukd stay again,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#102 of 385 in Venice
395 reviews
Castello
Albergo Doni
Albergo Doni
#231 of 385 in Venice
295 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#111 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#91 of 385 in Venice
819 reviews
Castello
Locanda al Leon
Locanda al Leon
#46 of 457 in Venice
638 reviews
Castello
Locanda Casa Querini
Locanda Casa Querini
#49 of 457 in Venice
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Silva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Silva

Property: Locanda Silva
Address: Castello 4423 | Fondamenta Remedio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Silva 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Locanda Silva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Silva Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing