We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Guerrini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Guerrini
Ranked #207 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Where do I start?

Upon arrival, it was a 200m walk from the Train Station, loved the location, especially as we were hauling large bags over the cobble stones of Venice.

Our check-in was easy and effortless, and they also catered for our early check in (11am).

As we were showed to our room, which was located on the other side of the entrance, the stench of cleaning products down what looked to be a hospital ward came down.

Our room on arrival was below average. A tiny room on the bottom floor, two individual single beds both tucked in, and that smell of detergents overpowered the room. I guess that the room was freshly cleaned. For 72 Euro for the night I expected a lot better. Description is identical to review from MamaJoyeuse July 22nd 2012.

We traveled the amazing Venice Island and realised how lucky we were that our hotel was so close to the station as they were so many stairs and bridges. It would be a nightmare to get around carrying luggage.

I asked for our WiFi password which instead of connecting with one simple password, instead they print you out user names, passwords and the WiFi is a timed session which only allows you to connect one device at a time. The speed of the internet is like dial up. Trying to search nearby restaurants or things to do was ridiculous. As we spent only one night here I didn't bother complaining.

The included breakfast is pretty average, and few select cereals, brioches and some bread rolls. They had a coffee machine, but at a cost to you.

While the reception was friendly and the location was perfect, the room, breakfast and WiFi really let it down.

Would I stay here again? No- I would look for a better hotel down the road.

Room Tip: Request a higher leveled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    167
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
148
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not the fancies place, but great value. We had a very nice clean room for 4. A queen bed and two singles. Room much larger than typical American hotel and nice/large bathroom. Cost us only 120E/night plus E10 (E2.5/person) for breakfast that included yogurt, all types of coffee/expresso, cereal, bread, fruit, bread, cheese, same type of ham, boiled eggs, etc.

A couple of blocks from the train station, on a short side street, just off a busy street.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Spoke good English.

Alan from Georgia, USA

Room Tip: There are hundreds and hundreds of hotels on Venice. Most did not show up in our searches using dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

On arrival, we were up-graded (for a small extra price) from 3rd floor to 1st floor, which was most welcome arriving after dark in 1 of Venice's splendid thunder-storms. In a quiet side-street, it has good access to vaporetti (water bus-substitutes), cafes & restaurants. 3 nights here gave us just enough time to visit the popular islands & principal places of traveller interest. The breakfast room is rather small, so sometimes it is necessary to wait a little. Breakfast is of average value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ended up staying in a part of the hotel that didn't have hot water for half the price of the room, we took it but the room was very bare and was not decorated at all. Kind of reminded me of hostels. You had a shared bathroom but that wasn't bad, they were clean. The AC was nice and for the price in Venice we couldn't beat it. It's right off the main tourist street in Venice but bad in a nice alleyway so you are quickly away from it. You don't have to walk far to get our of the tourist stuff to in Venice. Friendly staff, good price, nice location. Would recommend if you are trying to save some money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Tarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good place and cheap near the main train station at Venice. If you dont wanna stay at the hotel all the day hotel Guerrini is the right choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Guerrini for an extra night in Venice after a cruise. We chose it as it was very reasonable compared to other hotels and was about a 10 minute walk from Piazza de Roma. Check in was from 1pm, but we arrived with our bags after leaving the ship at 9am, and asked if we could leave our bags there. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and without asking checked and found a room which was already made up so we could put our bags in there and have a bit of a rest before exploring Venice.

The location is very good, as I said close to Piazza de Roma (bus stops to airport) and it's just round the corner from the train station and water bus stop. It's a very pleasant 30 minute walk from St Marks Square.

Room was spacious and clean, slight noise from the street outside when the window was open, but also had good air conditioning so wouldn't have to have the window open. It had a decent on suite bathroom with a good shower.

The next day we were able to leave our bags with the hotel while we explored Venice and Murano and the staff gave us very helpful and clear directions for how to get to the airport.

Definitely very happy with our stay and would look to stay again at Guerrini if we were to come back to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#98 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#221 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Adriatico
Hotel Adriatico
#202 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#251 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#215 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guerrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guerrini

Property: Hotel Guerrini
Address: Cannaregio, 265, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Guerrini 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Star hotel in Venice, near the train station on the main street to St. Mark Square; rooms with private facilities, air conditioning, TV, internet corner, breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Guerrini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing