We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well......Its Venice”
Review of Hotel Caneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caneva
Ranked #329 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well......Its Venice”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night and well, it was a hotel room. The location was fantastic, just a few minute walk from both the Rialto Bridge and the San Marco Square. If you're not staying for a long visit this hotel is perfectly fine. Our room was right on the canal, which was awesome during the day, however, the canal can be a bit loud as night. (the rest of the hotel was quiet). Our room had a private bathroom, however, the shower wasn't very well thought out as the shower head only faces 1 direction - straight ahead, rather than down - and directly facing the shower door, which can be tricky if you want to warm the water before showering. Also the towels were terrible. The room was a bit tight, we had 1 suitcase and 1 travel bag and there wasn't a lot of room to have both open and still be able to move around the room. The breakfast was great though, and the front desk staff was nice and accommodating. Overall, you're paying for the location. If you aren't staying in Venice long and you aren't going to be in the hotel much this is a fine option, but I have to think there are more pleasant stays on the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    122
    100
    37
    61
See reviews for
65
181
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The old saying location is everything is true with this place located just off he grand canal a quick walk to all other attractions that is all this place has to offer. The hotel is dank and the people are rude. The room we stayed in was like a tomb it had plaster walls with large cracks running down the walls there was only one light fixture beside the bed and an overhead one with the bulbs burnt out the wardrobe was missing a door the bathroom was outdated with only a small handheld shower with horrible water pressure. The breakfast which was included in the room was sparse to say the lease. Wifi was available if you stood in a small hallway near the breakfast room and it was very slow. There are so many hotels in Venice recommend not trying this one yuck !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steepleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Not new but what is in Venice? Good value, had a private bathroom, clean, reasonable breakfasts, free wifi and most important close to everything. Staff were helpful and there were lots of places to eat close by. Very quiet at night, comfortable beds and good sized rooms, some with balcony overlooking the canal. Avery pleasant place to stay. We would definitely stay there again when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: private bathroom and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompeii, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was really run down very very noisy the towels were so hard like sand paper would not recommend anyone to stay their horrible place.location was good but that was the only thing good about the place.It was so noisy we could here everything the next room was saying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianehskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

£175 for two nights in the most basic hotel I've ever been too. The location was PERFECT, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was cheap at five euros, however the hotel itself was extremely basic. Two single beds, back to back, one shower shared with ten other rooms, a tiny TV that barely worked. I wasn't expecting luxury in a one star hotel, however for the money I feel it was unacceptable. I have paid much less to stay in beautiful hotels in other citites, however my general feeling is that Venice is an expensive place, especially considering this was the cheapest hotel we found. Our room had an amazing view of a side canal, however in the morning boats were so loud! Part of the culture of course and I liked it but don't head here for a lie in! Overall it's a basic hotel that does the job, but it is not good value for money whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Caneva this August for £200 for a double room with shower / loo. Rooms and hotel very basic but cleaned everyday, and a brilliant price for location. Staff friendly and smiled a lot - even when my italian was awful - i.e all of the time! Location is great - Rialto 5 mins and san marco 10 mins - that is when you don't get list - which is also frequent. Rialto waterbus / vaporetto near so perfect for siteseeing. Recommended if you want a good priced base for visiting sites of Venice. Don't book if you want to stay in a stylish chic place! Overall recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubalibre10
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was a little concerned about my stay here due to the broad mix of reviews already available, but our four night stay at the Hotel Caneva put that straight!

This is a fantastic hotel in a very central location - easy walking distance to the Rialto Bridge and St Marks square. In fact on the way back we even walked to the station which despite the heat was very easygoing.

The hotel staff's directions from the Rialto bridge vaporetto stop were excellent - good landmarks (disney shop/bank) that show that someone has taken the time to actually walk the route. It took us just a few minutes before we turned the corner and found the hotel in a lovely heart of the city location. With the canal surrounding one side and local apartments the other it really is quite secluded, whilst extremely central!

The rooms were of a great size, the high ceilings making them feel even bigger and the sink within was perfectly adequate for essential washing. My partner thought we might end up queuing for the bathrooms but this didn't happen once in the 5 days we were here.

The rooms were immaculate and cleaned well everyday, the staff friendly (even more so if you try out your Italian!) and the breakfast was an excellent foundation for the day - coffee, juice, croissants, cereal etc and very plentiful. It starts early as well, so perfect for getting out and about before the cruise-ships arrive!

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Caneva, it was easy-going, comfortable and great value for money. If you want to stay in your hotel room then this probably isn't the place for you but if you want somewhere to set you up for the next day of exploring, relax after a hard days walking and stroll from to eat, drink and see - this is it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubalibre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#266 of 385 in Venice
239 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#319 of 385 in Venice
349 reviews
San Marco
Hotel ai do Mori
Hotel ai do Mori
#130 of 385 in Venice
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#222 of 385 in Venice
374 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#104 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#332 of 385 in Venice
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caneva

Property: Hotel Caneva
Address: Castello 5515 | Ramo dietro la Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Caneva 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Caneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing