We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel Sito e Berlino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Sito e Berlino
Ranked #67 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

You cannot fault this hotel! Lovely breakfast in the morning, well situated, traditional Italian style rooms and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful Especially Daniel (night shift manager). Should myself and my girlfriend ever return to venice or know a couple that is planning on going we will strongly recommend staying here and will try to do so ourselves. Great hotel for a great holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    277
    57
    14
    9
See reviews for
78
393
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Positives - Location, location, location. This hotel is a very short walk to San Mark's Square and to vaporetto and water taxi stops on the water. The breakfast was very good each morning. I especially loved the sausages and quite possibly the best chocolate dipped cream puffs I've ever eaten. The front desk staff was absolutely amazing. Each person seemed to be more helpful than the previous. Very clean.

Negatives - Very small room, even by European standards this room was small. The room had air-conditioning, but you were not allowed to set the temperature yourself. It was controlled by the front desk and set at 75 degrees. This made things a bit warmer and stuffier than we are used to, and made sleeping somewhat uncomfortable.

Overall, the positives greatly outweigh the negatives, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torry211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is well placed near giglio vaporetto stop. Reception staff speaks very good english. Room was furnished in veneto style, and had to had aircon working constantly due to air humidity inside the room.The room had quite strong fragrance that can be an issue for allergic people. Bathroom was newly renovated and it was best thing about the room. It even had a bathtub which was quite nice. Breakfast had good variety of english and local food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonyymi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in the Bel Sito in July for 2 nights prior to a cruise. The hotel has a great location and was only a 5 min walk from San Marco and easy to get to on water taxi from the airport.
Rooms very tiny, the smallest I have ever stayed in, but clean and functional.
Staff were quite matter of fact and not overly friendly like most locals we met.
Breakfast had a good selection and was good quality.
We had a coffee one night which cost us 9 euros - much cheaper in nearly cafés.
All in all what we wanted for a 2 night stay and I would return if I went back to Venice due to the excellent location.

Room Tip: We were fortunate and had a window, we did however hear some guests complaining that they had tiny i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very kind staff, clean room, useful place for sight seeing. I traveled by myself and didn't know Venice a lot but staff gave me good advise. So I enjoyed a lot. I will go back to this hotel when I go on a trip to Venice again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0ky0jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed there for several days, the room was clean and romantic, a bit small (typical in Venice). Nonetheless we loved it, free wifi, nice breakfast, and the staff was so kind to keep our luggage after we checked out, until the train time so we can still enjoy the city

The location is great, less than 10 minutes to San Marco square. The small garden in the back is a piece from heavens!

They are great with giving pointers. They even gave us utensils to use for the food we bought at the local supermarket.
Loved it! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primnpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived for our first Italy experience on 8/10/14 to a back door entrance to The Bel Sito Hotel via a waterway in Venice, Italy. How exciting and overwhelming. We were in a a strange and beautiful country! The hotel was clean and quaint, The continental breakfast was great and the location was convenient to most areas. The upsetting portion of our experience was the two front desk attendants that we were exposed to on the evening of our arrival (between 6:30 pm - 8/11 1:00 am). The evening attendant was rude and degrading. When I asked questions and directions, his abrupt responses and arrogant attitude were very offensive. The younger man during the night shift was very unhelpful and rude. It was unfortunate that such a nice hotel had poor staff greeting their patrons. It's mandatory that the staff be friendly, helpful, and willing to assist their customers especially when the tourists are visitors from another country.

Room Tip: The rooms were tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossella S, Direttore at Bel Sito e Berlino, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am glad about the nice words concerning our Hotel, but sorry for the unfair judgment on my front desk attendants.
I agree with you that the staff must be friendly, but in this case they acted according to the rules and the good sense and their behaviour, sorry, but couldn't be different.
The first, allowed to your friends (not Guests of our Hotel) to leave their luggage in deposit and, on my opinion, more kind than ever, even to leave them in your room, underlining that doing this, they couldn't stay more than 5 minutes upstairs, as they were not guests of the Hotel.
The second one has been guilty to repeat on your return, to you and to your friends, that your friends were allowed to enter in your room for the time required to retrieve baggage, coming then downstairs in a short time.
Not having signal of them, he called you to repeat the rules, but also in alternative offering them the possibility to overnight in another room, still available.
The “Short time” became longer and longer and only after 40 minutes and several “calls” of the concierge your friends have left our hotel with baggage.
In this case it seems to me that the meaning of your bad review could be explained this way : the best defense is a good offense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#48 of 386 in Venice
1,113 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#64 of 386 in Venice
537 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
891 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#72 of 386 in Venice
846 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Sito e Berlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Sito e Berlino

Property: Bel Sito e Berlino
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2517 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#106 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Sito e Berlino 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL BEL SITO The hotel Bel Sito is located in the heart of Venice, very close to St.Mark's Square in a typical Venetian "campo" just in front of the beautiful Baroc Church of Santa Maria del Giglio close to the public boat loading of Linea 1 and of the shuttle service from and to the airport Alilaguna. The hotel has 34 fashionable rooms equipped in the '700th and late '800 th Venetian styles all different one from another whether for space and furniture having each a peculiarity to give a personal and unique character. Being close to St.Mark's Square the hotel is ideally located to visit the most important monuments of the city that are all at walking distance. Distances: 200m from San Marco Square. Only 30m. From the public boat loading of Linea 1 from and to Train Station and Piazzale Roma and of the public boat Alilaguna from and to Airport. Close to the main street of shop with the most important Italian and International Firma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Sito e Berlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Sito And Berlino
Bel Sito & Berlino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing