We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money”
Review of Bel Sito e Berlino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Sito e Berlino
Ranked #70 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were so excited to arrive in Venice after a business trip. Upon checking into the Bel Sito hotel we were immediately disappointed in the room accommodations. The room wasn't anything like what was described in the pictures on their website. The bed was very old and uncomfortable with a mattress that had impressions from age. The hotel boasted views of the canal, but the hotel is about 300 yards away from the grand canal with no view of the canal at all. The air conditioning was inoperable, the staff was rude with the exception on two individuals and the price was over the top for what we received. As we explored Venice, we made friends with some of the shop owners. They also stated that the hotel was substandard and they wouldn't recommend it to anyone they knew.

Save yourself the time and money and book a hotel elsewhere. The Hotel Bel Sito isn't somewhere I would ever recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    290
    59
    15
    10
See reviews for
81
412
44
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sangli, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the very beginning of our trip to Italy. Our travel agent had advised us not to expect huge rooms in Venice but I'd still call our room small. Nonetheless, it was very comfortable. It is very close to St. Marks square and the S.Maria Del Giglio waterbus stop. The staff I have to say was extremely friendly and suggested nice restaurants for us based on our needs. Also worth mentioning, their breakfast was really nice specially their cannoli's. Throughout our stay in Italy, we did not have cannoli's like that anywhere!! Overall a wonderful stay in a wonderful place in an amazing city!!

Room Tip: No balconies and no views but do ask for a room with a view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HrishiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel and had a fantastic time. Easy to find (by Vaporeto, leave at Giglio station and it's a 2 minutes walk to the first square...can't miss), very near to St Mark square and other atractions but yet very quiet. Also to mention that the breakfast was great (diversified and quality) and the staff very helpfull. The only "not so good" is the bed, a little bit hard, but still we had a good sleep. Next time in Venice will for sure repeat this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjleite1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a quiet and lovely square just in front of a beautiful church, a couple of minutes from the St. Marks sq. The staff was helpful and the rooms were cosy. The selection of foods at the breakfast was quite poor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Book online before you go, its cheaper, the return Alilaguna Water Taxi Arancio (orange) route from Marco Polo airport, you enter the Grand Canal and continue to the last stop S.Maria Del Giglio stunning views all the way, its then a 3 minute walk to this lovely hotel. Staff always very helpful and friendly, even printed our boarding passes for our return, no charge. Stayed 3 nights as part of a BA deal, our room 232 on the second floor was very charming, the bathroom with shower all spotless, clean sheets and towels every day, we even had a fridge perfect for keeping the wine and water cool! We overlooked the small courtyard, scaffolding on the adjacent building did not effect us. From the hotel its a 5-10 minute walk over bridges past the designer shops and you are in St Marks Square. As already mentioned by other guests the breakfasts excellent. We will definitely stay here again the location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinandjunep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place was lovely, very quaint with a sort of Victorian theme. Definitely not modern, but lovely old-world Venetian charm- in my opinion much better for the "full experience" in Venice. Very close to St Marks Square and close to the center of activity. Also right on the canal. The room was TINY as well as the bathroom, which literally had a collapsible shower so that it would fit! The tininess in a way added to the charm for us, but if you like space to spread out this is not the place! The free breakfast was wonderful. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view ahead of time- we thought we got one but didn't. It did however look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Conveniently located near St. Mark's Square and a couple of minutes away from the Giglio vaporetto waterbus stop, this charming hotel is perfect. We stayed 2 nights here and our room overlooked the beautiful church. The room was clean, with very vintage decor (patterned wallpaper, Venetian glass lamp, etc). The breakfast is absolutely excellent - endless pastry options, toast, eggs and sausage, selection of cold cuts and ham, and a coffee bar that makes delicious cappucinos. The breakfast was definitely the highlight for me, and it was free with our stay! The bed is a bit too soft for our liking, but that may just be a personal preference. The front desk agents were always very helpful, and they taught us how to take the Alilaguna to the airport for 15 Euros, saving us hours of time. All the staff were great!

One word of caution though, do NOT eat at the restaurant in directly in front of the hotel. The menu is SO overpriced. There are countless other choices just a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinniey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,159 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#106 of 385 in Venice
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Sito e Berlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Sito e Berlino

Property: Bel Sito e Berlino
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2517 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#106 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Sito e Berlino 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL BEL SITO The hotel Bel Sito is located in the heart of Venice, very close to St.Mark's Square in a typical Venetian "campo" just in front of the beautiful Baroc Church of Santa Maria del Giglio close to the public boat loading of Linea 1 and of the shuttle service from and to the airport Alilaguna. The hotel has 34 fashionable rooms equipped in the '700th and late '800 th Venetian styles all different one from another whether for space and furniture having each a peculiarity to give a personal and unique character. Being close to St.Mark's Square the hotel is ideally located to visit the most important monuments of the city that are all at walking distance. Distances: 200m from San Marco Square. Only 30m. From the public boat loading of Linea 1 from and to Train Station and Piazzale Roma and of the public boat Alilaguna from and to Airport. Close to the main street of shop with the most important Italian and International Firma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bel Sito e Berlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Sito & Berlino Hotel Venice
Bel Sito And Berlino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing