We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locando San Barnaba, Terrific Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locanda San Barnaba
Ranked #38 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed here for 1 night in late May. Our room was a junior suite. It basically was a large room, with an open sitting area up a flight of stairs. What made the room spectacular was the fresco that covered the entire ceiling. We did not see anything like this in any other of the places we stayed while in Italy. Fixtures were nice, always had hot water, but did not have a shower. The staff was nice and helpful, taking care of reservations and answering some general questions about Venice. They were also able to store our bags for the day in that we left at midnight the following night. Nice buffet for breakfast which was served in a courtyard. We thought the location was very good. Located in Dursodoro, it was about 50 yards from the vapporetto stop and a 10 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. We liked Dursodoro, especially since it was not as crowded as San Marco and wished we were able to have spent more time in this area. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2006

Our family of four stayed in a Junior Suite at Locanda San Barnaba in June. Our room was a very large, very clean, bi-level suite with plenty of room for all of us. As you know Venice in summer can be very hot and humid, unfortunately the AC in our room did not provide much relief, our room was always stuffy. The hotel was quiet and eating breakfast outdoors on the charming patio was very nice, the woman serving was very friendly. The front desk staff was efficient but not overly friendly. We liked the location of the hotel, it was easy to find and so convenient to the vaporetti stop, ATM as well as numerous restaurants/bars all located within a short walk from the hotel - this was important to us as we were traveling with young children. The very large bathroom had only a tub with a hand held sprayer, this was fine with us but it might bother someone who prefers a shower. The hotel gives a nightly discount if you pay in euros.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tkmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

My husband and I pretty much went by the seat of our pants while in Italy and didn't book hotel accomodations for our entire vacation - while it gave us flexibility to roam about the country, it hampered us when trying to find a good hotel rate.

We found this hotel in our AAA book. It was quite expensive (at least more than we wanted to spend) at 160 Euro a night but every other hotel we called was completely booked - you live and you learn!

Although I found the price for us pretty steep, I'll blame that to our own poor planning. The hotel was nice, our room was very dark, awesome shower pressure, AC, and a very nice breakfast.

Even though we were only in Venice for a day, we walked most of the city (it's fun to just walk and "get lost"). We were able to find the hotel easily using the public (boat) transportation (that was definitely a different experience after Rome!) from the main rail station.

If we were to go back to Venice I would stay there again but would definitely be more prepared and book earlier for a better price!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katied626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights during our two-week tour of Italy. I was not overwhelmed by staff friendliness but they were certainly efficient and always attended to our questions.

The hotel is beautiful, retains its old-world-charm, and is very close to the vaporetto stop - Ca Rezzonica. There is a small piazza - San Barnaba (with an old church) - very close (take a right from the hotel entrance) and you have a couple of choices for restaurants. Little alleyways lead from this piazza and the restaurants just get better. You can walk - very easily - to the Guidecca canal and there are restaurants overlooking the canal - beautiful. There is a larger piazza - Santa Margarita - located across the small canal at the San Barnaba piazza where there are many restaurants and bars.

The hotel room was great - we overlooked the public terrace (2nd floor). The bathroom was large and very clean - everything you could need was provided. Breakfast was lovely and served in the courtyard overlooking the side canal. The waitress was lovely and could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Munic / germany
12
Reviewed May 11, 2006

very nice hotel, polite people, good breakfast, near to vaproretto, in a part of the city, where are not so much tourists, our room was a litte bit dark , and the wheater was not good and warm enough to sit outside fpr breakfast - that would be great !
We would come again

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Just returned from a 3-night stay at the San Barnaba. This was our second visit, having also stayed here last year, so you can guess what we think of this enchanting hotel. The rooms are well appointed and reasonably spacious, as are the public areas. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is ideal; - convenient to a vaporetto stop (50 metres), close to ( but not on) the main tourist trail and only ten minutes from Campo San Margherita, the Zattere and the Academy. There are some great restauraunts and cafes within easy reach too. There's no elevator in the hotel, so if that's important to you look elsewhere. Otherwise it's difficult to fault in this price bracket.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lateralus_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at Locanda San Barnaba for three nights in October 2005. We had researched the San Barnaba on TripAdvisor and other resources and decided it was the place we wanted to stay in Venice. The location is excellent, only about 50 meters from a vaporetto stop, maybe 100 meters from a nice little square with some restaurants, and away from the maddening crowds of Venice. However, when we called, only one room (on the main floor right next to the front door and the main desk) was available. We were warned that it might be a bit noisier than the other rooms, and even so decided to stay there. Despite some problems due to the location of our room (the noise problem was from the street outside rather than the lobby, and our room was a bit warm so we had to keep our windows open, resulting in some mosquito problems - a bit unusual for October I guess) our overall impression of the San Barnaba was very favorable. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and provided good dining recommendations and directions (and gave us mosquito repellent for the room). The Locanda is a beautiful old property which you should explore a bit to enjoy. Breakfast was pretty typical, though when the weather cooperated it was a treat to eat out on the patio by the canal. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary, so I had worked with the hotel beforehand to surprise my wife with flowers and champagne (very well done by the hotel staff but reasonably priced). Overall I recommend Locanda San Barnaba - just be sure to get one of the rooms on an upper floor.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CUGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#164 of 385 in Venice
253 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 385 in Venice
1,736 reviews
Venice Certosa Hotel
#220 of 385 in Venice
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#175 of 385 in Venice
463 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione La Calcina
Pensione La Calcina
#43 of 476 in Venice
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Barnaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Barnaba

Address: Campiello del Tragheto 1, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $140 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome in a 16th century Palace, where the enchantment and magic of Venice are complemented by the modern conveniences required by even the most exacting clientele. An architecturally sensitive restoration has brought back to life serene splendor of the era of which this building is an admirable example. Each of the fourteen rooms has a story to tell: the lover's nest, the philosopher's refuge, the artist' s studio, the playwright' s chamber, where echoes of his muse still linger. The "Locanda San Barnaba" is located in the center of the city, between Accademia Gallery, Piazza San Marco and Rialto Bridge, easy to reach from Piazzale Roma or "Santa Lucia" Railway Station by Vaporetto n° 1 (Ca' Rezzonico Stop). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Locanda San Barnaba Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing