We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second stay at a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ai due Fanali
Ranked #183 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our second stay at a great place.”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have stayed here twice in the last two years. The location is a short walk from the bus stop at Piazzale Roma, on a quiet campo. Clean quiet rooms in an old palace with a roof top breakfast room. The breakfast is fine and the view very nice. The staff was all very friendly, professional, and accommodating. A great value at 90 Euros/day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodie7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    119
    26
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
149
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

terribly disappointing hotel with a website that really does make it look lovely and quaint , but the reality is that the walls and ceilings are very thin, the hotel dirty, the fixtures and fittings are in a bad way and the breakfast and breakfast staff are a bit , no , are, substandard and thats me being polite!
AVOID!

Room Tip: rooms in another hotel are a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidgShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

4 stars for our experience. This was our 3rd time in Venice but the place we have stayed before and loved was booked. We found Ai Due Fanali through our credit card company where we used our points to stay here. It was a lot of points and it appears it is an expensive place to stay but upon comparing it to others ALL places were expensive in Venice in October.

Lobby area was small but lovely. Desk staff VERY helpful and spoke English well. Room was typical small European room but it was clean, had everything we needed and was just fine. The ceilings were so high with beautiful old beams that it really helped the room not feel cramped. Bed on the firm side but we slept well. I did peek in to some other rooms though and saw that they were smaller than ours. Sorry, I cannot remember our room number.

Breakfast room was small but if the weather is good you can go to the roof area which was lovely. The food served was excellent quality and certainly enough but not overly plentiful. Others had said get there early which we did not heed and found that the meat and cheese were almost empty. My husband finished off the meat and I asked for more cheese so we could both have some but I didn't need the meat. The cheese was replenished but there were others who came in after us so hopefully the meat was replenished at some point too. The croissants and baguettes were delicious. There is a person tending to the breakfast so it surprised us we had to ask for anything to be refilled but he certainly did it willingly.

Our favorite part of staying here was discovering a part of Venice we had not previously seen. We were craving some of the amazing cream puffs at Tonolos bakery but were sad when we found it was closed on Mondays. We were directed to a bakery that turned out to be WONDERFUL and in a Campo (Square) that is now our favorite in Venice. The bakery is Majers and their cream puff's rival those at Tonolos. The Campo is a real Venetian neighborhood with a great grocery store, outdoor cafes and benches to sit and enjoy the trees. Most of the tourist area squares do not have benches or trees so this was a treat. There was some fascinating architecture in the Campo as well as real Venetians, including senior citizens in wheel chairs, out enjoying the day. It was a great place to spend an hour or so soaking up Italian life. We hope to return to Venice again and when we do we plan to spend more time in this area as well as finally make our way over to the lush green park side of Venice we have only seen from the cruise ship!

This hotel is an easy walk from the train station or Piazzale Roma but like most things in Venice can be hard to find. Have good directions and a good local map and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms as we did see at least two size rooms and ours was the bigger of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel looked terrific, but our room was so small that we literally could not walk in the room once we brought in our suitcases. We had to climb over the suitcases in order to get into or out of bed.

It didn't add to the experience that the bathroom was also teeny tiny and grimy in the corners.

When we asked if perhaps there was a larger room for us available on the following nights of our stay, we were told that; "You American's are used to large rooms".

My husband and I have traveled the world, and have stayed in many, many hotels This by far was the smallest room ever!

We disliked it so much, we wanted to leave a day early. They would not refund our money.

Location is OK, away from the throngs and on a charming square. Breakfast room and outdoor terrace are pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Based on a number of reviews I had read this hotel seemed to offer exactly what we were looking for. In common with other reviews, I would say it is in a great (quiet) location and is easy to find by Venice standards. However, the hotel itself was a big disappointment. The rooms are tiny - there is about 2ft clearance around the bed, our floor was sloping and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. There was also mold on the rim of the shower. There were a number of mosquitoes in the room which we had to swat. We had to check out early in the morning and they couldn't offer us breakfast since the waiter didn't come in until 7:30. There is also no staff on at night - you must ring the hotel across the square. While the staff are very nice and friendly, I really couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in early August. It is located a short walk from the train station/car parks facing onto a small square. The staff were very helpful, the rooms large by venice standards and the breakfast very good. We particularly liked the roof terrace. There is a lift and the hotel is airconditioned. The location is excellent for exploring venice. All in all a very good experience in Hotel Ai Due Fanali. I would recommend this hotel for its location/price and helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Having very much enjoyed our first stay at the Hotel ai due Fanali last year, my wife and I returned for the start of a twenty-day trip this summer. All the superlatives in our previous review still apply, and we can now add "consistency". The ai due Fanali continues to be our hotel of choice in Venice.

Location - perfect for us. It's a short walk to the train station and the bus plaza, and is convenient to a vaporetto stop. It is in a Venetian neighborhood rather than a touristy area, and is a ten-minute walk from two terrific restaurants - Il Refolo (great salads and wonderful pizza) and La Zucca (excellent vegetarian dishes and good meat dishes as well) - both of which are located near our favorite campo in all of Venice, San Giacomo del Oro.

The hotel itself is charming and quite reasonably priced. On both stays our room had a view of the Grand Canal. The room was completely clean, the bathroom was small but not cramped (with a small tub with an excellent showerhead), and the breakfast was excellent with good coffee and set us up nicely for the whole day. The staff was terrific, and made advance reservations for us at both of the above-mentioned restaurants. This was important, as we arrived on the third weekend in July during a major citywide festival.

My wife and I do like to walk, so it was a treat to actually enter and leave the touristy part of Venice. For those not so inclined, St. Mark's is just a vaporetto ride away.

We very much look forward to our next stay in Venice - which will be at the Hotel ai due Fanali.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel_Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#181 of 386 in Venice
394 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 386 in Venice
626 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 386 in Venice
810 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 386 in Venice
1,257 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#89 of 386 in Venice
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ai due Fanali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai due Fanali

Property: Hotel ai due Fanali
Address: Santa Croce 946, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ai due Fanali 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ai due Fanali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Fanali Venice
Ai Due Fanali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing