We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel close to San Marco Square”
Review of Hotel San Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.
We had our breakfast on the roof of the Hotel, which was nice and cool in the morning.
Prices of beverages (Mini bar) are not expensive compared to what we paid in the restaurants
or bars in the city. The last day we forgot a jacket in the room, but the hotel found it and they are sending it back to us by mail.
I strongly suggest this hotel if you want to stay in Venice.
Good price and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay here as our friends were getting married in Venice.
The photos online show this hotel to be a very quaint Italian boutique style hotel but first impressions from the outside made us think we were staying in a hostel.
Quite a few stairs leading to reception, not a problem to me but perhaps those that are less mobile. Very friendly greeting and very informative.
We were allocated a room that seemed to be in a different building, having to leave the main entrance to enter elsewhere.. very unusual. The communal areas were not exactly appealing and could do with some updating/restoration. The room was very basic albeit quiet, clean and had free WIFI.
Continental breakfast was included in the room rate, again very basic with cereal, croissants and toast available.
Great location for san marco square. It was also convenient for us to get to the town hall and rialto bridge.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bks07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were a little worried about staying the night in Venice. We'd heard clean hotels were hard to come by, but this one was fantastic! The room was tiny, but who's hanging out in their hotel room in Venice anyway? It was clean, the staff was friendly and spoke English, it was in a fantastic location, and the continental breakfast was great! Not to mention, for Venice, the price really wasn't bad. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

If you want to live in the center of Venice & you don't care about view & you don't mind to hick the stairs, there's no bell boy to carry your bags & want to pay much less, here's the deal.

This hotel has a clean rooms, AC working perfectly, nice free breakfast, (4~5) minutes walking to San Marco Sq. Nice staff they will guide you for free (off course) in the lobby.

If you're young ppl or families with kids & don't want to pay much for other hotels, STAY HERE.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Thamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

For my bithday I booked our vacation to Venice at the Hotel San Gallo. Beautiful Artisanal Hotel just off the San Marks Square. It was easy to find, close to the Water bus stop .Tough you had to walk up a flight of stairs the hotel room which is not big was clean and always done up .The staff was excellent and welcoming and the breakfast and morning coffee always very good, enough to keep you going till lunch time . I can't say enough good things about this little Gem of a hotel they made our stay in Venice wonderful I WANT TO GO BACK!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are not mobile and find it difficult to go up stairs this is not a hotel for you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The attention and professionalism of the staff were excellent. They helped us with check-in on-line. Thank you very much. The location is very good but is a bit tricky to find. The room was very comfortable.
The worst was the breakfast which is very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloma_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Only spent 1night in ihis small friendly hotel situated just off St Marks square.
Although just off main busy tourist area, hotel was quiet witg many shops and restauarants nearby.
Check in was great, we were even assisted with our cases from the street, which was greatly appreciated.
They went out of their way to look up bus timetables etc for us.
Twin room was nice, not huge but adequate and traditional breakfast served on the terrace was lovely. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#173 of 385 in Venice
483 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#113 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#200 of 385 in Venice
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
1,137 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $75 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing