We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE HOTEL *** GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #116 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL *** GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were very happy there.They have a nice rooms, good breakfast and good prices.The location is great: they are just on the corner of San Marco square but in the quiet street.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
We had enyoed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    288
    116
    29
    14
See reviews for
191
291
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you are ok with a clean room and not particular about navigating corridors to reach your room and/or going next door to the reception and breakfast room this is a good place. Rome is functional and clean overlooking nothing of interest. But it is right near the San Marco square and yet away from the noise and bustle. Access to Rialto is 5 minute walk. Hold no expectations and you will be ok.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This small hotel is almost as close to St Mark's Square as you can get. It is very Venice. The bathrooms are small but serviceable, although ours did have an odd smell. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate was quite good. Unfortunately our bed was a "back breaker" these days you can't put 2 singles together and call it a double, we kept slipping in between.

We booked a triple room, but for 2, expecting more space, but there was a fold out bed in the room, which was not removed despite numerous requests, so we didn't really get the extra space. The wifi kept dropping out, but it was free, so can't really complain.

Overall we were happy with the hotel, although a little more effort and it could be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnandrews62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Beware this is not a 3-star hotel. More like a backpackers. To get to the hotel you have to go up 30 steps. Not suitable for tourists with suitcases. No lifts. No where in their website do they make mention of the fact that there is no lift. Breakfast is shocking. States that it is a non-smoking hotel but allow guests to smoke. Avoid this hotel if you can. Shocking!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLSANGALLO, Hotel Staff at Hotel San Gallo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Janine,
Let us take the chance to apologize with you if we have failed to your expectation and overall satisfaction. Our Hotel does not provide any elevator and this absense is mentioned in the section of the available services of the on line travel agency you chose to reserve your stay with us. We do not offer any english breakfast but a continental buffet. We do not allow to smoke in the rooms but we cannot forbid our guests to smoke outside (in particulary in our terrace suitated on the last floor). Probably sometimes your windows were open and the smoke smell entered owing to the wind . However we do respect your opinion and kindly invite you to contact us directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

excellent location, 50 metres from San Marco. reseption 24 hours, nice design, calm and clean place) ideal for those who has early flight, first alilaguna boat goes from san marco to the airport Marco Polo at 3.40 (march 2014)

Room Tip: i stayed in №9, it's tiny for 2 person, but perfect for 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julienny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

For our first time in Venice, we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The biggest factors for us were budget and location, and San Gallo didn't disappoint. The rate was really good and we were less than a minute's walk away from St. Mark's square.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and made markings on a map so that we knew where to go and how to get there. They also suggested walking to certain places instead of taking the waterbus, to save time.

Breakfast was included - some really good coffee and delicious chocolate croissants. There were other options and juices but I made a beeline for the chocolate croissants.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefanhZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is just behind St. Marks square (ask gondolieri for San Gallo theatre to cross the right bridge), the staff is very friendly, the room is spacious enough, clean and I have never slept so well at a hotel. We also enjoyed our breakfast - fresh croissants and good coffee. To be frank, there is really nothing to complain about with this place. I would recommend it in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#101 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#202 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Serenissima
Hotel Serenissima
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#100 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Property: Hotel San Gallo
Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing