We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly friendly and central”
Review of Hotel San Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #117 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Highly recommend! Seconds from St. Mark's Square and the rooms are comfortable (and quintessentially Venetian). However, the best feature of the hotel is the staff: incredibly friendly and helpful! We got some recommendations on restaurants and off-piste attractions and they were all fantastic! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewMBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 701 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was 5th trip to Venice - we have stayed in a number of places - this was a very good value Groupon deal for 3 nights and we were very pleased with it - and probably cheapest we've ever stayed there! Welcome was warm and really well informed. We knew from Tripadvisor we might have room access from round the corner so weren't put off when that was the case. Breakfast was a good selection including fresh croissants which was a pleasant surprise (this is a 3 star so we'd set sights accordingly and were impressed) and coffee was good and came in a great big jug - so we were in heaven! Location is amazing - short 5 minute walk and you're in St Marks, 10 minutes and you're at Rialto. We were really pleased with hotel and the staff made it special.

Room Tip: It's Venice none of the rooms are going to be large!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been to Venice 150+ times as a Tour Manager and chose this hotel for location and price. Our family stayed in a quad and had plenty of space. The style is old Venetian which adds to the charm. Breakfast was fine if a little cramped- but all bars, restaurants are challenged for space in Venice. Loved staying at San Gallo!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incrediblegiblinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here as a family (4 adults) in room 21. From the start all staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable in regards to what we would like to see, do, eat. GreT gelato around the corner, ignore the restaurant when you turn right ristorante 'al gallo d'oro - plain dry food. Room was great and spacious enough for 4. Terrace very welcoming next to room 21. Breakfast sufficient, tasted great. Would recommend this hotel to all. Very close to st. Marks.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November! Very close to Piazza San Marco and great value for money! We stayed in room N2, that was next to reception! Service very friendly and rooms very clean! Will definately stay here again when back in Venice!

Room Tip: In my opinion while in Venice doesnt matter what you see from window of your room, just get out ther...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasparsvecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel great location nice staff very enjoyable stay in room 5 thanks to you all jimmy & Paula ramsay southend on sea GB when we return to venice you will be our first port of call one small thing could do with an extra pillow as one each caused a battle of wills between us I lost

Room Tip: All rooms good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Gallo for 3 nights on November 2013. First, the location of the hotel was excellent! The room was very big (we stayed in room number 3, very close to reception). The room was very clean.
The wi-fi was free and it worked perfectly.
The breakfast was correct.
I really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 3 is very big.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#167 of 384 in Venice
484 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 384 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#204 of 384 in Venice
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 384 in Venice
850 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#129 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $76 - $934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing