We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #116 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very good location,close to San Marco square and easy to get to the water bus . Breakfast was average but did the job, croissants,toast or cereal,coffee and tea,the lady at breakfast was helpful and bought tea and coffee. The person at reception was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 726 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was beautiful and spacious, although there was a lack of powerpoints (not good for 3 travelling girls) and the stairs to get to reception with luggage were a killer! Even when we were checking out we had no help to get our suitcases down the ridiculous amount of stairs. That said, great location just a few minutes walk from St Mark's Square and the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Like the title says, it's a decent place. Tomaso at reception was friendly and helpful. The lady doing breakfast wasn't friendly. Our room (7) was decent sized but had one window looking at the building about a meter across from us. It offered very little light. AC wasn't turned on (I reported this and was told the AC is turned on in June). Our room was warm when we arrived. After opening the window it was comfortable enough. Like another reviewer, we also smelled the dopers around. The room was okay and Tomaso did offer to switch us to another room in the annex for our last night. We looked and decided it wasn't worth moving since the room size was nearly the same but DID have ample windows/lighting. There's a small fridge in the room that was cool but not cold. The safe in the closet was broken. The closet had hangers but no shelves. The bathrom was very clean and decently sized. Breakfast was some of the worst we've had anywhere in Europe with a few not good breads, Swiss cheese, some yogurts, cereals, and no OJ. Coffee was okay but asking for repeated capuccinos didn't go over well with the breakfast lady. Yes, there's one long set of stairs to access the hotel; no problem. And yes, the Chinese tour groups were continuously up and down those same stairs entering/leaving a glass store next to the hotel.

No way we'd return here when visiting Venice in the future. San Marco area is far too touristy and crowded. The other stuff I described we can deal with but not for the cost. Venice is an expensive city for sure. But the cost/value ratio didn't measure up at Hotel San Gallo.

Room Tip: Don't take room 7 unless you like no natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to be negative about this cute, well located hotel but I was not that impressed. Rooms were very small and the breakfast was very dull. We had a room next to the balcony and had to have the window open because the air con was not working. The cool setting was blowing out hot air. As a result we were covered in insect bites and had to deal with the smell of pot being smoked on the balcony. Not sure if this was other guests or staff. Service was good and friendly but not easy - staff always on the phone for some reason. However great central location and fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at San Gallo at the beginning of March for a long weekend. I loved it.
The hotel does have a big flight of stairs that you have to walk up/down but personally it did not bother us. Once inside the hotel reception area we were created by a friendly face, he showed us to our room taking both of our cases with him :)
The room was small, we knew this before we decided to stay. For myself I found it comfortable and compact. The wardrobe had a fridge inside and a small safe which didn't leave a lot of hanging room in the wardrobe. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the towels were fresh. There is a heating unit in the room which worked and heated the room very quickly.
The only thing that I can say I did not like about the room was the lighting, there was no natural light getting in through the windows and the wall lights were not very bright. The view from the windows was just a grey wall about 2ft opposite. Overall I did love the room, the decor and the style.

Breakfast was nothing fancy, was offered fruit, yoghurts, pastries, bread rolls, cheeses, cereals, fresh juice and hot drinks. You eat in the reception area which was not a problem unless someone walked through to get to the reception desk and it let in a very cold draft.

A note to myself was 'don't bring a white towel again' as the cleaner whom cleaned our room on the second day we stayed took my personal white towel, I was not too fused as we got clean towels every day and it was an old towel.

Overall if I returned to Venice I would love to stay at the hotel. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly, great value for money and it is so close to St.Marks Square you can just about see it from the hotel entrance. Also there is a Gondola station just around the corner so you really do not have to go far. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We Stayed at this small Hotel when we were in Venice for 3 nights,
The best thing about it was its location..... just behind San Marco.
The Rooms were a nice size and were clean and comfortable although the bathrooms were slightly on the smaller side.
although the facilities were basic-ish, the staff were amazing !!!!!! friendly and very welcoming and helpful

I would book this hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELFUN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent a couple nights here with my family on a vacation through Italy. Like most hotels in Venice, be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs as it does not have a lift. However, the hotel is very easy to get to, just about a 3 minute walk from the San Marco square and convenient to many good restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and offered a very nice breakfast. The room was beautiful and clean, with padded brocade walls, giving it a very quiet and comfy feel. We stayed in a larger family room (there were three of us), which could have accommodated 5 people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898MDG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 385 in Venice
830 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#173 of 385 in Venice
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#105 of 385 in Venice
863 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#196 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $61 - $945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing