We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed luxury in Locanda al Leon suite”
Review of Locanda al Leon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda al Leon
Ranked #46 of 475 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had originally booked a standard room at the Locanda al Leon. When we arrived, we discovered that they did not have a room for us as they had an ill guest who needed to spend an extra day there.

They put us up in a close by hotel and asked us to come back the next morning to check in. As a way of apologizing, they put us up in a beautiful, modern totally renovated suite in a building just across the street from the main building (at the price of the standard room). It was lovely - we didn't want to leave. It was the top floor suite with front and back balconies, a bedroom, living room, modern bathroom with excellent lighting, Murano chandeliers and fully equipped kitchen. The suite had 2 air conditioners, 2 safes, 2 tvs (only Italian stations), good wifi, and the many windows all had electronicly controlled shutters.

There was a small breakfast room in this location with the typical cold buffet breakfast.

We loved the location. It is very easy to find and just a couple of short blocks away from the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop from which is a stop for numerous water bus routes. It is also a stop for the Alilaguna Airport Boat and we found it very easy to get here from the airport (just make sure to print out the map and directions from hotel website).

The location is just a couple of blocks away from the very busy St. Mark's Square but is located on a very quiet side street. The only negative aspect of the location is we were told that restaurant prices were highest here and that it was best to walk closer to the Rialto Bridge to find more reasonably priced restaurants.

The front office staff of this hotel were very helpful and professional and we felt very well treated despite the initial mix up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBFTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 658 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a charming small hotel, with beautifully furnished rooms and an ideal location. Staff are friendly and helpful - an ideal place for sightseeing in Venice. It is very close to the water bus stop to the airport and to the rest of Venice. The stairs are quite steep, but good for fitness! Spotlessly clean and charmingly furnished rooms.

Room Tip: Have stayed there several times and they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been to Venice seven times in the last ten years, and the Locanda Al Leon was the most disappointing of all my stays. The location is very good. The rooms are small and drab. We were not expecting too much more, but a small thing like the breakfast experience just made the hotel most unenjoyable. The breakfast room was small, and could not always accommodate the guests trying to eat. The woman serving was rahter intimidating, and not at all gracious. I quickly learned this, and always waited patiently to try and get another cup of coffee. She would never offer one, and I would wait for her to do everything else before I dared ask, and I would still be scolded. This went on the same way every morning, and other guests appeared to feel equally uncomfortable. In the future I will just have to pay more for another hotel that will not detract from this wonderful city. Ciao!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwinitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked directly through their website and found that they had a separate apartment for a group up to 4 persons. Turned out to be a private apartment right off Piazza Formosa, the place was newly renovated, with stocked kitchen and common room, strong WiFi, two bedrooms one with ensuite bathroom and the other with bathroom just outside the door. The location was perfect, quiet but in the middle of Venice, close to vaporetto stop. As for payment by cash vs credit card, their website stated that the quoted price is only good if you pay by cash when you arrive. There’s nothing shady about that considering most businesses in Italy don't report actual income. I booked the apartment online with my credit card and was not charged, but brought enough cash with me at check in to pay in full, no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As much as I hate to write negative reviews, I believe when a business uses non-transparent business practices, they need to be exposed. I have travelled significantly and modestly contributed to the TA community with fair reviews, so this review is an abnormality for me.

When making a reservation directly from Al Leon on their website, you receive the following information "Leon 2 Double standard room: A room 'Al Leon - Leon 2 Double standard room' is available for the night of the day XX/XX/2012 at the price of Euro 160.00 per room. The total amount for a room is Euro 160.00." You are then requested to enter your credit card details to hold the reservation after which you receive an email with your room confirmation. Near the bottom of the email it states, "FOR PAYMENT FOR SPECIAL OFFER we ACCEPT ONLY CASH (EURO or you can change a credit card in automatic machine in a bank near us).If you like to pay with credit card you will pay the regular rate that is Euro 180,00."

However, due to the fact that you are not being told you are receiving a special offer, no big deal. When you check-in they ensure you are aware of the extra Venice tax of €2.50/person per night and they also confirm your nightly rate of €160 with no mention of cash only. However, when you checkout on the morning of your departure and try to pay with a CC, they inform you that they are going to pay a 12.5% price increase over the quoted rate (ridiculous if you consider the visa processing fee is 2.5%). They also conveniently have a copy of the email they sent to you printed out with the highlighted section of "special offer" requiring cash only. Obviously, they have run this scam consistently (why else have the email printed out) and apparently they classify all pricing as a "special offer."

Needless to say, when you are trying to catch your train in the morning you don't have time to argue with shady business practices. In my mind, trust is at the center of all customer/business relationships and without it you have nothing. Therefore, I could care less about the great location of the hotel or the quality of the room when shady pricing is employed in order to slightly increase their profit margins. Needless to say, I will not be staying here again over being ousted €20/night nor will I be recommending them to any of my fellow traveling companions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JubilantBeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's hard to know what to add to the existing good and excellent reviews. The hotel is in a great location and is quick and easy to find when you disembark from your water-taxi or the water-bus at the San Zaccaria stop. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and there is someone on the front-desk 24/7, which is very reassuring. We had room 24 on the first floor which is a relatively spacious triple room created from a double and a single. It therefore had two shower rooms, which was very handy and 3 air-conditioners! There were two steep flights of stairs to the breakfast room but you shouldn't let this put you off, as they will bring breakfast to your room at no extra cost. The breakfast room is tiny but we managed to get a seat every day (stayed for 4 nights). I imagine that the 'breakfast brought to your room' service is for those who don't get a seat and don't want to wait, as well as for guests who can't manage lots of stairs. The free wi-fi is handy and they leave biscuits on your bed on your last day which is quite nice. I would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel al Leon in Venice. It is in the most amazing location, just a short walk to San Marco’s square, and we walked both to the Rialto and Academia Bridge and even to Dorsodoro and the Canareggio from here. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. Although set above a busy square we heard no street noise! We had a room with a terrace (complete with beautiful flower boxes) which was fantastic as it was bathed in sunshine as we got up in the morning. Breakfast was adequate and the free wifi appreciated.

There are a few points to mention though. Firstly, if you wish to split the bill for the hotel at the end of your stay you need to let them know well in advance of your arrival for them to organise this. Secondly, the map to the hotel on their website suggests getting off at San Marco Gardens vaporetta stop when actually you need to get off at San Zaccaria (Piazza San Marco) otherwise the map doesn’t make any sense!

Venice itself has become one of my favourite cities in the world. It was simply enchanting. I really recommend getting off the beaten track and heading to the Zattere in Dorsoduro. For an amazing walk – head from San Marco to the accademia bridge, across the grand canal, and then wander down to the Zattere through some of the prettiest streets I have ever seen before stopping for what can only be described as the best gelato I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#87 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#99 of 385 in Venice
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
441 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
846 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Leon

Address: Castello, Campo St Filippo e Giacomo, 4270, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $91 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda al Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guest, Marcella & Giuliano are happy to host you in this original Venetian House of the 15th century, that is divided in to floors.The estate was built is therefore about 500 yeras old.The property is considered a historic house and is subjet to constraint from the fine arts, so you can't transform or change the type and magnitutde of interior spaces and stairs but must keep the original layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda al Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Leon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing