We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for a wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda al Leon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Locanda al Leon
Ranked #46 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The location was perfect -so easy to find and only 5 minutes from the vaperetto stop. We had ordered a bottle of prosecco for the room so was very happy to arrive and 'Salute' Venice. Guilano and Red were so helpful - the restaurant recommendations fabulous - in particular we loved La Rivetta just minutes from the hotel. Our room was lovely - on the 1st floor with corner views over a pretty square. I look forward to visiting again and would recommend the hotel to friends. A magical weekend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking square are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALLK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    190
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
91
368
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great location behind the Doges Palace and just a short walk from the Grand Canal. Our room (I think the entire hotel) had been renovated and everything was new and modern. We were on the top floor and had a limited view of the rear of the Doges and nearby rooftops. The bathroom was small but newly remodeled, with sink, toilet, bidet, shower stall and towel warmer. The bedroom was average sized. It had a small mini bar that we used for our own food and drink. The room also had a safe and flat screen TV. The included breakfast offered rolls, yogurt, milk, an assortment of cereals, juice, coffee (espresso drinks if desired) and tea, melba toast, and cheese. Pre-booking information indicated there was a charge for Wifi, but they did not charge us for it when we were there. The front door is always locked for security and you have to ring to be buzzed in, but there is always someone there to buzz you in, no matter how late in the evening. There is no elevator and the stairs to the rooms are long, narrow and steep. It is a good workout and might be tough if you have mobility issues. However, there is somebody available to carry your bags up when you check in. The breakfast room is small and you may have to wait for a table. However, the breakfast waitress will deliver your breakfast to your room if desired.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel was in an excellent location very close to Piazza San Marco. We stayed for a weekend and the hotel contacted me before my arrival to inform me that I would be staying in two different rooms (which I agreed to). The staff moved all the luggage, so there was no hassle to us.
The first room was a twin and rather small, but neat and clean with a view of a Piazza. The 2nd night was in a room that could only be described as a suite in the annex! The bathroom was huge with a great big shower!
Breakfast was continental and although choices were limited, it was more than addequate to fill the stomach before exploring Venice. Staff was very friendly and helpful and there was an employee at the front desk throughout the night.
I recommend the hotel for the excellent location!

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex appear larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Locanda al Leon and could not have been happier with our choice. The room was charming, spacious, and immaculately clean. The staff is wonderful. Red is especially helpful and friendly - he gave us specific directions (including vaporetto lines) to get to the main train station in time for our train to Florence and even brought us a small snack for the road since we were leaving before breakfast was being served. Breakfast is delicous, consisting of croissants, breads, yogurts, cereals, juice, and coffee. The location can't be beat, either. It is close to St. Mark's Square, the vaporetto stop, and within walking distance of many other Venice sights, such as the Rialto Bridge. Although it is in the heart of Venice, the rooms are extremely quiet and you would never know that there are throngs of tourists outside in the afternoon. After dusk, the area is wonderful for an after-dinner stroll, especially to St. Marks Square to listen to the dueling orchestras and for a gelato. We loved our stay and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Venice was the 1st stop on our honeymoon and we arrived disoriented and exhausted after a long flight. We were greeted warmly by Giuliano who helped us bring our luggage up 2 flights of stairs to our room. Inside a bottle of prosecco and two champagne flutes greeted us, instantly lifting our spirits (literally and figuratively!)

We stayed for 4 nights and every night we were super grateful for the great location just 2 minutes off San Marco Square (which looks MUCH better at night IMO) and in front of the San Zaccaria stop. We requested for extra pillows and slept very well every night. The toilet was of a good size with proper amenities and good water pressure and temperature. I would comment however that the hairdryer is not very powerful so you may take a longer time to dry your hair.

Breakfast was decent, it is in a bright and cheery room with space for about 15 persons. However there was never a wait for seats surprisingly.

When we left Venice (unwillingly!), we were given a small pack of apricot biscuits from Giuliano and Marcella thanking us for our patronage. We loved Venice and our stay at Locanda Al Leon and were very sad to leave, however we know that if we are fortunate enough to come back again, we would definitely choose to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights at the Locanda al Leon in Venice and enjoyed every moment there. The location is excellent - close to St Mark's Square and about a city block and 1/2 from the boat/bus stop at San Zaccaria/San Marco stop on the Grand Canal - makes it easy to get to the hotel and easy to get around Venice. About a 1/4 of a block at the other end of the street is a square from which there are at least 3 fine restaurants and a couple of good wine bars. The rooms are spacious, modern very clean, with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are spacious, modern and clean. The best part is the owners, Marcella & Giuliano and helpers Mario and Red - all of whom speak excellent English and are very helpful with advise, recommendations and arrangements. The breakfast was also very good. We would highly recommend this hotel as a number one choice for Venice unless you want a 5 star on the Grand Canal.
Bob & Pam Armanino

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were very happy. Great location near San Marco, easy to find, and still quiet at night. Giuliano the owner was great! The airline lost our luggage and he kept calling them for us. Room was spacious, airy, bright, clean and beautiful. Breakfast room was small but we never had trouble getting a table. Nice selection and they provide both espresso and drip coffee. We will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#80 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#127 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#77 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Leon

Property: Locanda al Leon
Address: Castello, Campo St Filippo e Giacomo, 4270, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda al Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guest, Marcella & Giuliano are happy to host you in this original Venetian House of the 15th century, that is divided in to floors.The estate was built is therefore about 500 yeras old.The property is considered a historic house and is subjet to constraint from the fine arts, so you can't transform or change the type and magnitutde of interior spaces and stairs but must keep the original layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda al Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Leon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing