We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhappy experience”

Trattoria Pizzeria da Gioia
Ranked #1,176 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $0 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Trattoria Pizzeria da Gioia, from September 2016 has completely renewed the internal management, the restaurant manager and the entire kitchen has changed. Now the pleasure of serving delicious dishes that make our customers happy is the basis of our work. For all the staff the customers satisfaction is a priority. Come and try our starters with fish or spaghetti with seafood, cuttlefish venetian style,mixed fried from the Adriatic see or finally all varieties of our pizza, you will be very satisfied.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“unhappy experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We noted there is a trip advisor sticker at the entrance door and thought that should be OK.
As said the service is quite pushy, there is a man standing at the entrance and tried to catch your attention. We went in and order some simple food including parma ham with melon, a green salad, a bolognese spaghetti and a glass of red wine, all are so so. there are 4 of us, my wife and I, my son and my little daughter of 10. my son ordered a pizza, the waiter recommended us to have a big one to share, we say it would be fine, and he said, we could have 4 different quarters to share. This is the big mistake. There comes 4 different pizzas. How come he think that we can finish 4 pizzas? of course, we can only finish around 2 pizzas. This is a very unhappy experience. We have to paid Euro 123 for the above. He asked if we would like to pack the pizzas, of course not, we are traveling. This could be the worst experience i have for the whole trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobomychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    62
    51
    57
    255
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Why didn't I read reviews first?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were walking past,tired and this was close to our hotel. Big mistake. Service was pushy especially to have the fish which we unfortunately fell for. Had pizza to share which was ok, pasta with "tiny" lobster & bottle of warm white wine & bill was 140eur. Bad experience for our last night in Venice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmakoSmako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel and such recommendations are usually OK. Not this time. Should have checked TripAdvisor first!! A small place (as most are in Venice) but also very expensive. We had arrived late to Venice and wanted to get a bite nearby. The pizza was easily 50% more expensive than elsewhere - which we discovered after eating dinner. The wine is way overpriced. Wine prices were between 24-40 Euro for a bottle when you can buy the same in a store for about 7 Euro. The carafe of house wine was OK, but the waiters really downplayed it as being uncertain. The pizza was ok, but not to standards we expect in Venice and Italy. Almost like an American pizza. Two pizza and a carafe of wine was 40 Euro. Venice can be expensive but it doesn't need to be this expensive. Pay the higher prices where you can get a via of a campo or a canal, not at a little restaurant stuck in a small street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pizza at lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a really great pizza here at lunch I'm really surprised by the other reviews.
The staff was super friendly and the prices weren't terrible.
The place was packed too which I couldn't say about the restaurant across the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliana k J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food would have to improve greatly to reach mediocre. Pricing is absurd, if you do make the mistake of dining here I would reccomend being very cpecific with your order including asking for the exact price for each item. Even better just avoid this place there are far too many good restaurants in the city that you can try. Avoid this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pizzeria da Gioia also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Pizzeria da Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing