We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #53 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel based off of reviews and suggestions from trip advisor. We made an awesome decision, as soon as we walked in we were greeted by an awesome man named Raz. He made the check in process simple. He gave us out key and we were off to our room. We were assigned room 210. Awesome room with it's own little private balcony. The room was a bit larger than the rooms we had in London or Paris (hotel rooms in Europe our all tiny no matter where you stay). The hotel was extremely central to St Marks square about a 5 min walk and also about 5 minutes from the boat bus stop. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Rainman0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel was very nice, very clean, and room was very spacious for Venice. The included breakfast was great -- best breakfast we had during our 10 days in Italy. The hotel is located on a canal, just a block from the Grand Canal and was very easy to find (use the hotel's map). The location is within walking distance of everything, and far enough away from the crowds at St. Marks. I booked directly with the hotel which was cheaper than through travel booking sites and it included a welcome bottle of champagne and a water taxi (not Valporetto) trip to Murano and free glass factory tour (return trip is on your own, but Valporetto is just 7 euros). Murano was really nice and worth the trip! And the free water taxi trip was great! I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room is good. We didn't have a view of the canal but didn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PamFromHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here two nights. Beautifully decorated rooms. Super location close to San Marco square. Super comfortable bed. The view from our room was awful (view of wall), but we weren't in our room much so it didn't matter. The view from the breakfast area was fantastic so that more than made up for the poor room view and the food at breakfast was top notch! High quality and very tasty!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank FoodNWine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved this hotel... It was reasonably priced, great location, good breakfast included, safe was available, and multilingual very friendly and helpful staff! Taxi will bring you straight from the airport to the hotel.
Susan Nasim

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Violino d'Oro for four nights. The location is fantastic! We were able to walk almost everywhere. We especially enjoyed being so close to Piazza San Marco, since we spent two evenings sitting and listening to the music in the cafes. I loved having the gondola stand right outside the front door. It was very special to sit and eat breakfast and watch the gondolas go by the window. I hope to return to Venice someday and will stay plan on staying at The Hotel Violino d'Oro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdventuresbyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed there just one night but I loved it. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is close to San Marco, Academia and if you want to make a gondola tour, it is next to pier. The room was small but nice and the breakfast was the most delicious breakfast I've ever had in European hotels. Also you can hear the songs from the gondolas :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank undomielhdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family stayed at Hotel Violino d'Oro for three nights June 10-13. We highly recommend it. As other reviewers have noted, the location is superb, just 3 minutes from Piazza San Marco, 10 minutes from the Accademia, 15 from Rialto. Believe me, this makes a BIG difference in Venice! Staff was helpful and friendly. Bottle of Prosecco waiting for us in the room. Breakfast was the best we had in Italy with a wide selection including delicious soft scrambled eggs. We had three rooms, all were very nice and (for Venice) large. Bathrooms were tight but manageable with good showers. My wife and I stayed in the Junior Suite, Rm. 301, which has a beautiful private terrace that we would have used more were it not for the oppressive and unseasonable heat (which cooled off just as we were leaving!). The one drawback was that the air conditioning, while functional, was not quite up to dealing with the heat on the top floor. However, the hotel provided us with a fan which, together with the AC, kept us comfortable and we slept well. Beds were comfortable. While not the cheapest accommodation in Venice, it is very reasonable considering the quality and location, and you certainly get value for money. Location, location, location.

To get to the hotel from the airport we took a water taxi, paying extra for going the full way up the Grand Canal. (If you don't request the Grand Canal extension and pay extra the taxi just cuts through Venice on a side canal and you don't see much of the Grand Canal.) While expensive, around $200, this was a grand and memorable entrance to the city for my family, who had never seen Venice (I had been twice before), and we thought it was worth the money. If you can afford it, spring for it. The (cheaper) alternative is a bus ride from the airport to Piazzale Roma and a packed vaporetto ride up the Grand Canal with limited views unless you are right at the front. (Take precautions against pickpockets if you ride the vaporetto.)

Bravo Hotel Violino d'Oro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#58 of 385 in Venice
764 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $86 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing