We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Violino d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #52 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location, 2 minute walk to the ferry stop on Piazza San Marco.

Very friendly, welcoming staff. Offered us a map and pointed out locations.

Room was very clean, airconditioning had been switched on for our arrival. Very clean, large bathroom with a great shower.

Breakfast was really good. Hot selection and also a great cold buffet. Attentive service with good Italian espresso on offer.

No problems leaving our luggage behind reception after checkout.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regnirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    425
    77
    16
    6
See reviews for
189
742
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Venice was the last port on our cruise and we wanted to stay an extra night, so I booked 2 rooms in this hotel for one night. The location is PERFECT - a short 5 minute walk to St. Marks Square, and 5 steps away from a major Gondola stop. When I booked the hotel, one thing that was very important to me was the fact that the taxi was able to stop right in front of the hotel so we wouldn't have to drag all our bags through town. We booked a private taxi on our own, and he dropped us off at a different stop instead of in front of our hotel and the driver said he couldn't get any closer to the hotel. When I asked the woman at the front desk about the taxi stop, she informed me that if we booked the taxi through the hotel, then the driver would be able to bring us into the canal and drop us off directly in front of the hotel. So if this is important to you, call the hotel and have them book your taxi so you can get dropped off right in front of the hotel. We got to the hotel around 10am and check-in was not until around 2pm. I had my 2 teenagers with us, we had just finished a 2 week cruise and it was extremely HOT outside so we were exhausted. The person at the front desk was very friendly, and she was kind enough to expedite the process and get one of the rooms ready for us around 11am so we had a place to rest before we went on a boat tour we had already scheduled. The other room was ready and waiting when we returned from the boat tour. We had 2 rooms that overlooked the canal which was very cool. The rooms were perfect - very clean, comfortable, and had all the necessary amenities. The hotel had a charm to it which made us feel comfortable. We didn't have time to eat breakfast the next morning, but it did look like everyone was enjoying it. The woman at the front desk was kind enough to arrange for a porter to meet us the next morning to bring our luggage to the taxi stop (just for an FYI - price for a porter starts at $20 for the first 2 bags, and $5 for each additional) - but this was money well spent. I felt the price we paid for the room was very reasonable and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the canal. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

There's no better way to describe this hotel than the word EXCELLENT. Location was great with only less than 5 minutes away from Piazza San Marco. Just outside there was a gondola stop. Rooms quite spacious and very comfortable with all the necessary requirements. Also the breakfast was really good, providing a substantial variety, which when compared to other hotels we stayed in was great. All the staff was patient and always ready to help. Overall we must say that our experience at violino d'oro was so great, in fact once we were there we booked the hotel for another night!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotel Violino d'Oro is extremely well located (only 4 small blocks from the Piazza San Marco). There is even a Gondola stop in front of it. Rooms are very comfortable and with style. Breakfast is very good. Staff is friendly and is always able to give you good advice on restaurants in the area.

The price is very reasonable for a hotel so well located and so well looked after. I thoroughly recommend it to travelers who want to stay next to Piazza San Marco, in a well decorated hotel, but without hurting their budgets.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A_Budget_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend booked this hotel for me and my daughter at the last minute since we did not plan to see Venice while we were visiting Milan for the first time. This hotel location is great, only 5 minutes away from Piazza San Marco and has a gondola stop next to the hotel front door. The included breakfast had a fair variety and I could smell the fresh baked bread when I went downstairs in the early morning. It was clean and safe. Since it was very cold and rained non-stop during my stay, I was happy that we did not have to walk too far. The room I paid for was pricey, the bathroom was about one third of the whole room and the rest was so small only for a double bed and a tiny desk in the corner that I wished it was a little bigger. I guess location has a lot to do with it and booking at the last minute was not wise either since I did not have too much to choose from. The front desk staff was just OK and I was not comfortable when I checked in, a female receptionist was too busy talking to her co-worker and I was the only customer at the time, she made me waited for her for a while, I was a bit unhappy with her attitude as well. The Wi-Fi connection did not work well inside the room, I have to go downstairs to get a new password each time I lost my connection and the password only worked for 3 minutes before you lost connection again. If you need to find a place right away to stay for a night or two, this hotel can be a good choice but if you need to stay longer in Venice and have time to do research, I will spend the same amount of money somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Do not get the 5 or 6 rooms on the top floor since other floors had twice as many rooms. The top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is located perfectly near the Piazza San Marco. It is near a major gondola stop and close to many restaurants. The staff was very helpful and patient. The breakfast provided much more variety than other places we stayed in Italy. The room rate was favorable. Most of all -- it was hot and humid when we arrived in Venice. This hotel had the best airconditioning of any place we stayed in Italy. It is a great bargain for the price. It was clean, safe and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family is one of very experienced travellers. Hotel Violino met all of our expectations! We did an overnight here in July of 2013, just before our cruise of the Adriatic with our two young adult sons, staying in the family room. The location is in the heart of San Marco and really put us in the spirit of the city. The staff was helpful and courteous, directing us to VinoVino Restaurant for lunch, which was a great recommendation. They have an elevator, which helped alot. Breakfast was included, and was very good. I would recommend this hotel whole heartedly for a short Venice stay. Given a longer duration, the location would wear me down.

Room Tip: Hotel Violino has a "family room" which can sleep a family of four, which is rather rare i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Violino d'Oro
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing