We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Position Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #58 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfect Position Perfect Place”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were delighted from the moment we arrived and saw what a perfect spot we had found. We took the airport bus to Piazzale Roma then the Vaporetto to San Marco (We weren't sure which number to take but if they say San Marco its the right direction and they all stop there). We bought a 72 hour ticket allowing unlimited use of buses and vaporetto which is recommendable and can actually be bought on-line cheaper in advance of at least 4 days. The hotel is only 200m or so from the stop over a little bridge where the gondoliers ply their trade. The street area has a number of top brand shops and banks plus pricier restaurants but it is an easy walk to anywhere from here. San Marco square is a few hundred meters so minutes away. It was a pleasure to be able to go out for a few hours, pop back for a change, rest or just to drop shopping and then out again. The staff were all very friendly and as we were early there was a good store room to hold the cases plus we were offered cold drinks and pastries whilst we waited. The room was fine with a comfortable double bed under a beautiful Murano glass chandelier plus good sized bathroom with an excellent shower. We chose a standard room so no views but it was fine and quiet as were 301 at the rear. The breakfast was excellent with a very wide selection and various teas and coffees offered. Cant wait to go back to this beautiful city and this perfect place.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise and avoid the hotel frontage which suspect could be noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    447
    83
    17
    6
See reviews for
197
787
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was wonderful in every way. The hotel was charming. The location was excellent. The room was just right with attractive appointments. We could walk out to a delightful private balcony and could hear the singing of the gondoliers down below. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The staff was professional, helpful and friendly. We felt at home and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

As others have said, the location is perfect! It was also easy to find. We took the Alilaguna airport ferry to the San Marco stop. We walked left, crossed the little bridge to Valaresso, and followed the hotel's directions on the confirmation sheet. It's a short walk. Our room was # 202, overlooking Campiello Barozzi, a very busy little square. Venice was still very crowded at the end of September, and the windows in the room entirely blocked out the noise. The room was adequately sized and had a comfortable bed. Everything was immaculate, including the small bathroom. It had a tiny, but fully enclosed shower, very clean linens, and a weak hairdryer. Breakfast was perfect, with lots of selections. The hotel staff were all wonderful and very helpful. The only downside was the lack of comfortable seating, but we did find a small terrace near our room for relaxing in the afternoon. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a great room with a large private terrace. Overlooking the plaza in front of the hotel rm 301. Nice staff, good breakfast and clean room and bath. I look forward to our return. We were able to relax on the terrace after the long walking tours and enjoy a glass of wine in privacy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicknaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2hounddogs
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of September for a few nights. It was supposed to be 3 nights but due to airline issues, we arrived a day late. We got a room overlooking the canal and the gondola station is right there. It was really fun to look out the windows and see the gondolas loading up and the gondoliers singing. The views were beautiful and the hotel is literally just a couple of minutes walk to Piazza San Marco. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice and very comfortable (although we're not so used to the hard European beds). The breakfast each morning was also very good. This hotel was recommended to us by my parents who stayed here in May and I can see why. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal. It may cost a little more, but it's totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hounddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here in August, a very hot and crowded time for Venice. I didn't enjoy Venice as much as I have in the past, but this hotel was convenient and well priced (for Venice). Venice is expensive and limited when it comes to hotels, but the location of this hotel is idea. The hotel itself is basic. The rooms are small, but pleasant and clean. The breakfast was very good. The air conditioning was very welcome on the very warm days that we were there. I, for one, do not like the increasing number of luxury boutiques that have appeared in Venice and have constructed modern facades over the charming historically accurate period architecture. The huge advertisement hanging from a scaffolding in San Marcos Square announcing an outlet mall was especially offensive.
My first trip ever to Venice was in December 1981. The two of us were the only ones in the square and it was snowing. It was magical (and impossible to reproduce), so I guess my expectations need to be lowered a bit. I still love being in a city with no cars filled with history and art, but I digress...the hotel was practical and pleasant. We would stay there again (next time in December, perhaps)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DidiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great Location. Clean, neat and tidy. Free wifi
Breakfast very nice with many healthy options and nice pastries, The cappuccino was marvelous.
Front Office staff very nice and helpful.
Two things were missing. safe box and Tea/coffee making facility.

Room Tip: We had booked a standard double room which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 385 in Venice
725 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,844 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#61 of 385 in Venice
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Violino d'Oro
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing