We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing - not what you expect from a 'Citalia' booking”
Review of Hotel do Pozzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel do Pozzi
Ranked #138 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - not what you expect from a 'Citalia' booking”
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here in June 2008 for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon.
We were guided by Citalia's recommendation that this is a 'favourite' with Citalia guests, who enjoy 'taking breakfast in the pretty courtyard'. I cannot understand why it's a favourite as it is the worst European Hotel I have stayed in. The only thing this place has going for it is the location, (2 minutes' walk from St Mark's Square but nevertheless quiet). Otherise, it was awful. The room was very small, the furniture shabby, the carpet stained and smelly, the shower room (no bath) smelt of damp, and the view from our room was of a roof! The dining room (if you can call it that) comprised two interlinked, windowless rooms more akin to a run-down cafe. The breakfast was appalling - the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel - comprising just yoghurts, a limited range of cereals, tomatoes, pre-packed cream cheese and stale rolls. Our room key never worked properly, and we had to keep going back to reception to ask them to let us in, despite changing the key twice. After all the hustle, bustle and heat of Venice on a hot summer's day, you want to return to a pleasant hotel & room, and the Do Pozzi does not provide that. What made it worse, was the 'pretty courtyard' described in the Citalia brochure was in the process of major refurbishment and was unavailable, therefore you couldn't even escape the room to enjoy a coffee outside. One tip though for Venice in general - if, like us, you want to escape the throngs of people, head for the island of Murano. It is a miniature Venice - untouched, tranquil and beautiful. The only disappointing thing about Murano was the cafes and restaurants close mid-afternoon, so don't plan on having anrelaxing, evening meal on the island.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    253
    81
    21
    14
See reviews for
110
284
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed 3 nights late October. Room (26) was clean and well presented. A/C turned off due to winter? but rooms were very warm and mosquitoes swarmed if you opened a window. Breakfast is basic continental but nice if you get there early enough. Location is the great thing about this accomodation. We were lucky enough to stumble on it by accident while trying to decipher the directions. I'd go there again

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — warm rooms with mosquitoes
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ozbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

You must stay here!!! This hotel is located in a great spot right in the heart of the best shopping in Venice. All the designer stores are at your doorstep, all the restaurants you could ever need are only a few steps away, gondola stations, water taxi stations etc are all so close. The hotel is down a little laneway off the main strip so it is dead quiet & the lane opens up into a great little courtyard used only by the guests for breakfast & for drinks in the afternoon!! Hotel was perfect, staff were great & very helpful, no matter what the question or request. San Marcos square is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel & rialto bridge about 10 minutes walk the other way. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone & everyone.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, price & staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_World_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Annual holiday for myself, hubby and father-in-law [an agile 86 year old]. Booked a private taxi for transfer to and from hotel which was a little dearer than other options available but well worth the expense - drop off point not far from hotel. Staff on arrival and during the whole of the stay were very helpful. Our room needed a little modernisation but single room for 'Dad' was ideal. Breakfast choice was good although have had more choice in other 3* hotels but still plenty of choice on a daily basis. Main sites to visit were easily accessible on foot or by using the water buses. We took a good trip round the Doges places called the secretive tour which we really enjoyed but felt the tour to Murano, Begamo and Lemoncello a bit of a let-down and made glass purchases within venice itself. We ate at Vino Vino, Tavernetta San Maurizio and the cafe at the Doge's Palace watching the gondolas and water transport go by [fantastic] and Osteria Da Carla 'Con Cucina'- all good.and would re-visit. We splashed out on the last night at Trattoria Da Fiore and whilst more expensive food lived up to expectations. We also went up the campanile to hear the bells strike and found the view as well as the bells exhilirating. This trip was 'Dad's' suggestion and he had a fantastic time, as well as the 2 of us. We didn't do a gondolo ride this time as this had been done on a previous holiday when we took a day trip to Venice, but the water taxi transfer from the airport was a very new experiance and whilst I amused the 2 men in our party when we hit the first crest wash and I bumped around and got splashed it was still a good way to start and end a throughly enjoyable holiday. If ever returning, would use the same hotel again, but would check if the room had been modernised first.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and check out at 12 0'Clock, although bags will be stored
  • Disliked — Romm needed a little upgrading, new carpet and better bathroom fittings
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STB4JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Have just returned from this sweet little hotel in venice
The staff were really helpful with lots of suggestions of good places to eat but to be honnest you can find somewhere at every turn.
The rooms were fairly basic but very clean and breakfast was all you could want, a great selection of fruit -yoguart -bread- pastries- cheeses-cereals- with a little courtyard outside to start your day.
The water taxis were great but walking is the answer- we would take a water taxi to the furthest point and walk back through the sqares and over the little bridges at the small canals and stop for coffeee and photo shoots - so rewarding so beautiful. The hotel is very close to st marco square and the grand canal, so location - money cant buy- for that reason alone this hotel is worth its weight in gold.
Take a water taxi to the lido and walk a few mins to the lovley beach where you can hire two beds and parasol for about 35 euro a day- the lido is such a nice place lots of good eating palces and hotels and bars - worth a visit
i would most deffinatly book this hotel without hesitation again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

What a great hotel. Located just off St Marks. Room was furnished ina 60's style which fitted the hotel well. Excellent and modern bathroom though. The continental breakfast was very very good. Served in the little courtyard. The hotel staff were very friendly. Brill for a short stay.

  • Liked — breakfast was excellent
  • Disliked — no bar
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladytees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This hotel is perfect for Venice. Realistically most people wont spend much time in their room so what you need is a clean place to stay with a good location and breakfast and this place fulfills all those criteria.

Its quite expensive, but so is Venice so thats hardly surprising. We found it nice and quiet, the staff helpful, the room clean and the breakfast fine. Its nothing sensational but the location is fantastic in terms of proximity to the main tourist spots.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Kov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 385 in Venice
684 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#205 of 385 in Venice
606 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#141 of 385 in Venice
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#184 of 385 in Venice
640 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#123 of 385 in Venice
1,137 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#144 of 385 in Venice
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Pozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Pozzi

Property: Hotel do Pozzi
Address: Via XXII Marzo, 2373 | near San Marco Square, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Venice
#124 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Pozzi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel do Pozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Pozzi Hotel
Do Pozzi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing