We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem near St Marks Square” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Locanda al Gambero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #128 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little gem near St Marks Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here on a brief weekend trip. Room was small but very comfortable and well-appointed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Very convenient for St Marks and the Rialto Bridge.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    277
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
124
259
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

its a good pleasant hotel to stay. nice location close to centre.. Clean and the breakfast was ok...
if you don't expect a high quality stay you can easily choose this hotel cause for that price its very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berk_Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I arrived in Venice for New Year's eve, spending just one night in the hotel. But it was a magnificent experience from our point of view, the staff was very kind, the rooms and environments were clean, and the location was just perfect, just a couple of minutes away from Piazza San Marco. We were even gifted with a bottle of Prosecco in that night, which was very nice from the staff. The bathroom was good, fully equipped and adequately sized. The bed was not perfect, but offered a good quality of sleep. Breakfast room was a bit small, but the quality of the meal was good. I totally recommend this place, and will surely stay there again in future trips to Venice.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, beware - there is no elevator in this building, as is the case with mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduparise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was my 4th time visiting Venice and my wife's first. As this was a special trip for both of us I booked a romantic room with a canal view. We arrived in the early evening and found the hotel in the dark very easily thanks to the map sent to me by the hotel staff. Our room was all we could ask for and then some. Breakfast in the dinning room was delicious with a wide variety of foods and the best coffee in Italy. The location was in the center of Venice and only a short walk to all sights.
The staff were courteous friendly and greeted us with a smile no matter what time of day we returned. The only sad part was having to leave after a three night stay in Venice. I highly recommend the Antica Lacanda al Gambero Hotel for it's comfort location and thoughtful staff.

Room Tip: A canal view is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagoa, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We arrived late and it was a little bit difficult to find it (but not their fault - they even sent us a map from how to get there upon your reservation - Thank you for that!). However the location couldn't be better, just a few minutes walking from where the water ferry from the airport drops you, and close to San Marco square. It is an old building (refurbished though - perfectly clea), it doen't have a lift and it seems some rooms are small, but we were lucky and got a really nice room with a view to the canal.
The breakfast is really good, several choice, attentive staff and the housekeeping team alway left the room extra cleaned. I would stay here again and recommend this accommodation to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birsfelden, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Hotel is very centrally located between Rialto and San Marco along a small canal. Warm welcome, a pretty small room, nothing was missing, except a shower curtain in the bathroom.
We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed during an off-peak time so prices were probably cheaper. Here's a summary of the good and bad

Good

- The location is excellent within easy walking distance of the main sights.
- The reception staff are very friendly and helpful.
- The rooms and bed are comfortable and have Sky TV.
- The shower is extremely powerful and the bathroom is clean and well maintained.
- The best Gelato place I found in Venice (and I tried a lot) is on the same road - it's called Gelato Fantasy.
- Tea and coffee in the room is always a nice touch

Bad

- It's a little pricey but as expected for Venice. I paid around 60 euros a night.
- The room's air conditioning didn't seem to work but not a problem as I was there in winter.
- The breakfast was ok but did expect a little more variety from a 3 star hotel.

Overall a positive experience and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning as it doesn't seem to work in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#170 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#189 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#117 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#95 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Property: Antica Locanda al Gambero
Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Venice
#127 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing