We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent situation in the middle of the ancient Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #126 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I decided to get to Venice just a few days prior to the second Sunday in May. The hotels in Venice seemed to be very expensive and a very few of them had rooms for someone traveling alone. Al Gambero was the only one that had such a room and the price was below the average. The pictures of the rooms in Booking.com looked light and spacious. Obviously as I got there the room was tiny. However, it had free WiFi, TV, coffee cooker, a small bathroom with a sliding door to save the space and a wardrobe, and best of all it was in the middle of Venice. Plaza S. Marco and Palazzo Ducale are just 10 minutes away and Realto Bridge is even closer. There are a lot of restaurants and cafés near by, and I even went to a concert at Scuola Grande di San Teodoro that also was just a minutes away. Breakfast was good and it was served until 10 am that was ok. Even though the bedroom was on the first floor and even it was in the middle of the city it was quiet. Maybe that is nearly any location in Venice if not at S. Marco itself because there are no cars or motorbikes driving along the narrow lanes. One can only walk or then take a waterbus or gondola or a boat or a ferry. There was a button for A/C in the room but it did not operate. So, I opened the window and got in some fresh air to my tiny space. On Sunday morning I woke up with church bells that was very pleasant. Lovely city.

Room Tip: As there is no lift in the hotel and the staircase is narrow it might be a challenge to walk up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 616 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were only going to spending one night in Venice, so we were looking for a hotel in the center of the city was not outrageously expensive and we found this one. Located just steps from Rialto Bridge, it's location is definitely the main draw. As other reviewers note, the lobby is on the second floor and there is no lift. That being said, the staff helped us carry our bags up to the top floor where our room was located. The room was small, but it was clean and it fit our needs. The breakfast was not fancy, but it fit our needs. We definitely stay in this hotel if we were to visit Venice once again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's small and comfortable hotel. Location is very suitable, only 3 minutes by foot to Piazza San-Marco. Interior is very nice. But rooms were small. Friendly staff. Also taste breakfast. So, i can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As hotels in the heart of Venice go this may be hard to beat. But be aware the rooms are tiny even by European standards - ours was about 3 -4metres square including the lobby and bathroom so there is basically almost no room around the bed. The reception is on first floor up a very narrow and steep flight of stairs (really steep and narrow) so don't bring large heavy bag as there is no porter or help. The rooms are well fitted out and comfortable and try to get a canal view for the ambience. Breakfast is good but not great. We would stay there again which I suppose is the real test.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is short walking distance to San Marco and very convenient to reach via ferry. The hotel is very comfortable and hospitality given by the entire personnel at every level was excellent. We received very good support even before arriving in Venice when we asked for a place to park our car, and received from the hotel a 20% discount coupon to present to the parking.

Reception - outstanding support.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 208 is good for a family of four (two small kids), has a view to canal and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My room was very comfortable and had a nice patio. The people at the front desk were very helpful and the bell person a life saver with the bags. I arrived when he wasn't there and the young lady there helped me. Clean, nice breakfast, espresso made to order downstairs and a restaurant connected to the hotel that has authentic regional food. The menu was a bit pricey but offered a very romantic setting, great wine steward that will pair your food and inside and outside seating.
For those that have whined about the small rooms, stairs, and small bathrooms - I've seen smaller and more stairs. I was on the 4th floor. What do you want for Venezia? The city is old and cramped. Considering the circumstances, this was a very comfortable and affordable place. I will come back.

Room Tip: Naturally, I would imagine the top floor to be the most quiet, if you don't have a party next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winziggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in November. The hotel is conveniently located, BUT it has no elevator and we were on the 4th floor. We spent extra for the canal view and if you stood up in your room and looked out the window you could see the canal and the gandolas. We actually booked one of the gondolas right near the hotel, but what he promised and what he delivered were two different things, so confirm before you ride.
We did have the front desk reserve us a private taxi to take us to the airport-definitely worth every penny, since the taxi picked us up in the little canal right next to the hotel, so we were at the airport within 30 minutes. The hotel is convenienlty located near everything and the rooms are small, but very nice. Breakfast was limited, but fine. The guy who worked breakfast was the most pleasant person at the hotel. The front desk staff could have been a little bit nicer. The maids did a nice job cleaning the rooms-more like a housekeeper than hotel maids which was awesome, since the room was always spotless. Good luck lugging your luggage down the stairs. If you are not in good shape the lack of an elevator can definitely be an issue. It is a short walk (with luggage) from the Rialto boat stop, but make sure you know the route before you start walking, since it is on the corner of a busy street and a very tiny street. I would stay there again, since it was reasonably priced, charming, clean and a perfect location. The restaurants that were very close by were more touristy, so you are better off walking a bit to find a better authentic meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ihave2manychildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#87 of 385 in Venice
1,401 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#132 of 385 in Venice
822 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
887 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#305 of 385 in Venice
1,301 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#59 of 385 in Venice
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
#126 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $83 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing